We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #100 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed December 3, 2013

our room was dirty on arrival, sheets dirty, carpet not vacumed, mirrors dirty, towels not provided, took 3 phone calls to rectify. Towels, tea, coffee, sugar not replaced when serviced for 4 of the 5 days we stayed. Door staff on their phones in full view of the guests they were ignoring, Reception staff were far from courteous or helpful, and on last night found rubbish including medication from previous guest under my bed. DISGUSTING!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kahzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Quite clearly our overall standard of service and product presentation was of a poor standard
At the time you stayed with us and I would like to apologize most sincerely for the wrath of challenges you were faced with and which marred your vacation

I have instructed of our staff to place high importance on the fact that disadvantaged guests are to be looked after much more carefully than you experienced, given the fact that you had already made clear to our staff that you were not satisfied with your negative points. I have read your comments to all of our team at our special meeting and instructed them to check all of the points you raised and conduct immediate remedial training for all concerned

It remains only for me to thank you sincerely for your honest and to the Point review which will assist us in ensuring that future guests are not faced with the same issues

Yours sincerely,

The General Manager – K Boonchai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 2,012 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have just spent 6 nights here. On arrival its a very clean and grand looking hotel. Our Thai rep checked us in with no problems at all. Then once she had gone and we were in our rooms we got a call and were summoned to the reception saying that we were missing our hotel voucher. We showed all our documents which clearly stated that no voucher was needed for our stay but this did not seem to be good enough. Luckily we phoned our lovely Thai guide and she was back within seconds and the moment staff seen her everything seemed to be a misunderstanding! Great start!!

The rooms were clean and service staff all very lovely (chambermaids and pool terrace staff) its a big busy hotel and from reading other trip advisor reviews I was worried about the lifts not being very fast but the hotel seem to have addressed this by always having a member of staff close to help you with the right lift!

The view from the hotel is lovely but as its so big the windows are really dirty and spoil it some what!
Breakfast looked like it was going to be good but wasn't great nothing stood out as very enjoyable. And as it finished at 10.30 the lunch buffet was being set out right after which didn't really entice us to try it!!

I was actually ok with this hotel it fitted our needs and was in a good part of town but then as we went to check out and pay for the mini bar tab we were stitched!! I had expected this from reading previous reviews. We had kept a list of exactly what we had which wasn't much and the mini bar was actually reasonably priced so it was good to use but they insisted that we had spent and extra 300baht over our list. My partner paid it as we were in a hurry to check out but it really stuck with us and would not recommend this hotel because of it! We tipped the pool staff well and the cleaners well also so to be fleeced at the end was a bit uncalled for!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alimac83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback which allows us the Opportunity to listen
To our guests and improve any areas highlighted as not reached or exceeded expectations

With regards to the fact you were trying to be collected for a voucher after you arrived to the
Room, to avoid the mistake in the charging to guest folio – we have the policy the check and correct all documentation However, it appears that our staffs were overzealous in their
Translation of our Hotel policy and I will ensure that the appropriate measures are taken to
Re - trains this

Your comment regarding to the dirty window is well noted, a plan of re-painting and cleaning
The entire hotel building is already scheduled to start very shortly

I sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience occurred to you on the check out time; we regularly instruct our staff on how to make the most correctly of charging mini bar item to our guest, the fact that you were over charged is very embarrassing to us and I have asked the
Front Office Manager to address this concern immediately to ensure our staff remains alert
And do their jobs more professionally


We trust in the future you will decide to stay with us again so as we can show you the improvements made within the hotel


Yours sincerely,

K Boonchai – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in November.

As many have already pointed out the hotel is in a very good location for restaurants and bars, including the night market. It is a short stroll to the river.

The hotel itself is ok for a short stop of a few nights. It is a fairly soulless place, we never used any of the bars as they were always empty. The breakfast was adequate but nothing special.
The lifts are painful at times, so give yourself plenty of time to get out if you have a pick up.

The room itself was fairly basic, we were given a room with adjoining doors so when your neighbours come back at 4am you can hear everything that is said. The reception eventually sorted it out.

If you have more than one option (we didn't) I suggest you find a better hotel for your stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Onajolly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive feed back with suggestions as to how we can improve our products and services

Your comment regarding the slow service of our elevators is an ongoing challenge for us however we are endeavoring to find a solution into the near future that will negate the comments we receive regarding this issue. The factor of noise from adjoining rooms is also noted and we will do our best in the future to inhibit reservations of these rooms to families and friends who are traveling together and who will not be disturbed as much by noise from their neighbors

We trust that in the future you will again stay with us and allow us to show you the improvements we will make in line with your feedback. Thank you sincerely for allowing us the opportunity to reset these standards


Yours sincerely

K Boonchai – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great location to the night market, restaurants, and easy to hail a tuk tuk, cab or city shuttle.
We got upgraded when we got to the hotel which was great.
One thing is that the internet everywhere in the hotel .. sucks.. so if you are planning to stay here but need important things done via internet.. I wouldn't stay here then...
We even tried to log into the computers in the lobby.. and they were so so slow..
Massages in the hotel were amazing... pool was great... get there early for a great chair.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your most kind review of our hotel other than your comment regarding the slow internet signal. This issue is one we have faced a lot more than we would like and I have asked our technical team in charge of the internet to find a solution for the benefit of all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thank you sincerely for taking the time to post your review thus assisting us to improve our products and services for all guests


Yours sincerely,

K Boonchai – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed in a Dynasty Club Room for three nights. My opinion of the hotel is very mixed.
I liked the atmosphere and service on the club floor. I liked the light breakfast buffet just outside my room. The room was large but dated. They could make some small changes and these rooms would be so much nicer. The a/c blower was noisy since it's an older machine. The mattress was very hard. The wifi signal in the room was terrible (and they have placed the desk at the farthest point away in the room). The service on the club floor was excellent. I think they're mostly oriented to Thais, who like a hard mattress and don't care about amenities.
The fitness center was outstanding and the pool was large with a nice area around it to lie out. The location is excellent for the night market area. I might stay here again, but only on the club floor. I paid $100/night and I'm not sure if it was worth it. They really need to improve the wifi, buy some higher quality mattresses and brighten up the club rooms a bit. I for sure would not stay here in a regular room.
If you find this review helpful, please click 'yes' below

Room Tip: Stay on the club floor or stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank supakorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Centara for 5 nights and can't really complain about anything! Breakfast was lovely, the room and bed were spacious and comfortable and it's in an excellent location, within easy walking distance of Chiang Mai old town and just a few hundred yards away from the night market.

The shower was a little bit temperamental and we weren't overly pleased when workmen started renovating the room next to ours (and the rest of the rooms on our corridor) before we had woken up, but other than that it was an easy, pleasant stay. Staff were friendly and polite at all times and the Loi Krathong Festival was just fantastic to see. A lovely hotel all in all.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caribun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback regarding the water supply in the shower room, your comment is well noted and we are presently discussing amongst our Engineering Team to ensure that your own experience is not repeated for any other guests

We are presently carrying out a room renovation plan - Please accept our sincere apologies
regarding the issue of noise that you were subjected to while you stayed with us and I have following your comments spoken with the Engineering and Housekeeping Teams to ensure that the Front Office does not allocate guests in the future near to any ongoing renovation spaces.

Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding our hotel’s ambience and staff attitudes and we look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang Mai in the near future


Yours sincerely,

K Boonchai – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

we stayed only one night and were happy when we checked out of this place. The rooms are terribly rotten, cracking toilet door, no bathroom door, dirty bed sheets, no tooth brushes, no tooth paste. You could hear every movements from your neighbours, because the connecting door (why there is any?) (!) was not preventing anything of noise! Everything dirty. The chairs were looking as if somebody was peeing on it. Full of stains. The shower cell is reminding on a jail cell, 1x1 meter. If you bend to clean your feet you are banging your head because there is no space. Normally you find in Thailand always facility (hose) for hygiene cleaning, but this 4 star hotel is not providing this what even a B&B would offer! So you have to have a full shower after using the toilet just for cleaning!
The breakfast was just ok. NO CHEESE at all.
The pool was dirty too: Cigarettes were swimming with us!
When we left the car park we were told to pay for it!!!

On the opposite side of the road is the MERIDIEN hotel. This is the better option

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Quite clearly our overall standard of service and product presentation was perceived as extremely negative when you stayed with us recently.

Please be informed that a renovation of many rooms and facilities was started last year and is scheduled to continue this year. I have asked our House Keeping Manager to check more closely the daily room cleaning which marred your stay. In the same vein our Fitness and Pool Manager will relate your comments to all of his Service Team so as we may improve the cleanliness of the pool area.

Our Executive Chef has recently reviewed and changed many of the menu items including the breakfast pastries and the inclusion of cheese onto the Continental breakfast presentation

The car park is a free service for the hotel guests however the parking ticket must be validated at the Front Desk in order to waive any fee payment. We will accordingly after your experience ensure that this information is more succinctly communicated to our guests arriving and utilizing the car park

My sincere apologies to you for the fact that your recent stay involved a number of challenges and issues that quite clearly were not of the type of standards that we are endeavoring to deliver to our guests and I assure you that your comments have been taken very seriously by the entire hotel team as an indicator that we must more closely monitor the hotels products and services more closely

Yours sincerely,

K Boonchai – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#71 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,695 reviews
0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,340 reviews
0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#41 of 393 in Chiang Mai
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai

Address: 132 Loykroh Road, Chang-Klan, Muang | Night Bazaar Shopping Centre, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Centara Duangtawan Hotel, Chiang Mai)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#58 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $49 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoys an enviable location right in the heart of this charming city and just steps from the famous Chiang Mai Night Bazaar, a landmark for any visitor.This impressive high rise hotel offers comfortable accommodation and a host of facilities and services for the Chiang Mai bound visitor,24 Floors with 512 comfortable appointed rooms featuring Superior, Deluxe, Business Plus , Dynasty and Suites accommodations. The hotel’s extensive all day dining venue plays host to sumptuous buffets, themed evening and a extensive a la carte option bringing together the best of Italian , Japanese, International, Thai and Asian Cuisine.Perched atop of the hotel is the Sunflower Chinese Restaurant affording spectacular views of Chiang Mai and some of the best Chinese Cuisine this city has to offer.Italian, Poolside Bar and light meals, Lobby Lounge and bar with evening entertainment and 24 hour in –room dining also feature.Impressive leisure facilities feature a state-of the art gym and Fitness Centre , spacious pool and sun terrace, sauna, massage and Spa Cenvaree.Meet and Unite : This facilities offers a Grand Ballroom for up to 800 guests , 14 break out rooms, Service Centre and out door pavilion for activities, team building, theme parties and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Duangtawan Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Centara Duangtawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing