We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenience location to night bazaar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #107 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Convenience location to night bazaar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Strategic location outside of the Chiang Mai old city, stone throw distance to the local daily night bazaar. Room was clean but a bit old but overall was clean, but room cleaning service not really as the free daily bottle water not being replaced happen during 1 of our night stay. Bath Tower not replace after the cleaning service. we have to call the reception to get the new bath tower. Hotel service need to improve.

Room Tip: overall room was clean and walking distance to local daily night bazaar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess_YPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    739
    508
    231
    129
See reviews for
341
638
171
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My main gripe was the dirty room. I don't think it had been vacuumed properly in a very long time. The sheets on our bed were very stained and in poor condition. I have stayed in very cheap guest houses in Thailand that have clean rooms and clean sheets.

The breakfast was very nice although the staff struggled when it was busy. The plates seemed to run out regularly and we had to wait around for clean ones to appear. Good selection for adults and children.

The pool area is okay. Typical hotel pool. Quite nice to cool off in or sit beside after a busy day seeing the Chiang Mai sights.

We stayed during New Year. There is a compulsory gala dinner. It was very good. In fact it exceeded our expectations. The staff put in an outstanding effort. The food was buffet style with lots of seafood and heaps of variety.

During our stay I accidently broke a glass in the bathroom. This was never replaced. However, upon checkout, we were charged for it! This left us feeling annoyed as we had left a tip everyday for our room maid. We also got charged for extra housekeeping with no explanation. It wasn't much and we paid but it kind off bugged us!

Overall, it was okay but I wouldn't stay there again. I'm sure we could find somewhere better.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mauzie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive feed back which allows us the opportunity to listen to our guests and improve any areas highlighted as not reaching your expectations or matching the brand standards we ourselves audit regularly.

We have asked our HK Manager to re train all of the housekeeping staff with regards to checking that all linen placed into guest rooms is of a high quality - in the same vein our Food and Beverage Manager will relate your comments to all of our service team tasked with serving guests so as we may improve the service within restaurants throughout the hotel immediately.

With regards to the fact you were charged for a broken glass I sincerely apologize – we do have a policy in place that provides leverage for staff to make decisions on any damage charges to guest rooms however in your case it appears that our staff were over zealous in their translation of the policy and I will ensure that the appropriate measures are taken to re train this policy to take into account the difference between accidental and malicious loss or damage of hotel property

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the unhappy experiences that occurred during your recent stay with us

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

A large aging hotel that's getting rather tired. It was clean-ish but smelt stale and mouldy. Most of the staff were helpful enough, the laundry service was great. I lost a credit card and asked for help at reception making the relevant phone calls - this took nearly an hour. Way too long when you're stressed about losing a credit card, it all seemed just too hard. Breakfast was like a contact sport, crowded, and understaffed - 1 person on egg station, usually the line was 10+ people waiting. They also kept running out of food and not refilling - and don't even DARE try helping yourself to coffee, the coffee staff don't take kindly to self help at all. Regardless of how long you've been waiting for them to serve you. And they'll tell you 'I'm very busy I'll be with you in a minute" LOL! WiFi is expensive, give it a miss as many pubs/restuarants a minute or so walk away offer free WiFi. The location was good for the night markets which were fun, and a few western style pubs/restuarants are just down the road - The Red Lion was our favorite for a cold beverage after a hard day seeing the sites :) Free WiFi too!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We were deeply sorry to learn that our room condition did not meet your expectation or match the high standards we expect our staff to present accommodation to all guests – we have begun immediate remedial training for all staff and a full inspection of all hotel rooms to ensure your own experience is not repeated for any other guests. Similarly our Food and Beverage Team are receiving additional training and help to improve the service and standards for all guests dining with us. I have spoken with our staff regarding the importance of assisting guests with urgent issues such as the loss of your credit card and we will ensure in future that in all similar cases in the future a senior staff member will be tasked with assisting guests in a very rapid manner.

We apologize to you sincerely for inconvenience caused

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff UK
Level Contributor
636 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Date 0f Stay 02-17 February 2013

Well reviews on this hotel are not wrong, friends of our had stayed here several times over the years but not for the past couple and recommended it. There were other recommendations as well. SHOCK HORROR on arrival, it was mid-morning, went to reception told room would not be ready until after 2pm so went upstairs and laid down in the pool area too tired to argue. Spent a couple of hours on a lounger no sun. The pool is built in the hotels shadow; it is on the 4th floor of 24 floors, Sun until about 10 in the morning on the Eastside and then nothing until 2pm on the Westside so it was not very warm even if this was Thailand. Gave up and then had a couple of beers to pass the time away, now eventually time to try and check in again.

It was our Civil Partnership Anniversary so it was supposed to be special, we had a free upgrade if we hadn’t just what would the room been like. Our next escapade was to get upstairs, in the slow overcrowded lifts nothing to wait 15 minutes or more to get one. Arriving on 21st floor our room was not far, first impression looked good, WRONG to be taken in, room that had just been serviced, not a very good job peanuts left on the floor not cleaned up (still there at checkout), no towels told would have to wait for the towel delivery as they had run out.

This then turned into a full room inspection, firstly the décor was dirty and disgusting, holes in the net curtains, dirty bed valance, main curtains very dusty and dated. Mould on grouting between the tiles in the bathroom, usual drain smell, shower dated poor flow water fluctuation burnt one minute cold the next, tiles on the shower floor needed a good clean. Next the furniture, it didn’t match it was old and worn. The carpet stained, stretched and discoloured with age. Wall broken around one light socket. What a joke it had just been serviced.

Just to diversify in China it is a custom for the people to clear the flem from their throats and draw it into their mouths and then spit it out, very often onto the carpet. We had a china man in the next room the walls were so thin you could hear him collecting the flem and then expelling it, the stains on the carpets we believe was from spit. We were warned when we went to china some years ago never walk on a hotel room carpet without shoes. Now it’s the same in Thailand be warned in this hotel wear slipper on the carpets.

I contacted a virus and was very ill with it spent a whole week in bed in the hotel room; you could hear every sound from the adjacent rooms. It is possible from the filthy room I could have contacted it in there. I also was infected with impetigo around my nose this could have been picked up from a not properly washed pillowcase

The room had a view, some view; there is a mountain in the north covered in rainforest. The sun is on the mountain all day and 24 hours a day the mountain is producing a mist and draws out dust, if you did not know the mountain was there you would never see it. By the time it gets over Chiang Mai it has then added the vehicle fumes (not good for breathing problems); it also gives the city a distinct smell. Took days to get rid of it after we got home.

The 23/24 floors were the suites, on 24 is a Chinese buffet restaurant, did not use this. Breakfast as so called was served in the second floor western buffet restaurant. The food was of cheap poor quality, badly cooked and nothing was warm except the fresh eggs. There were a number of choice Chinese/Thai, so called western and curry type food. The choice on western food was from Baked Beans, Hot Reformed Plastic Ham, Turkey Sausages, boiled vegetables (Carrots, Cauliflower, and Broccoli) Sauté Potatoes. There was a selection of bread this was not of the usual Thai standard. Butter was heavily salted, margarine was available. Replenishment of the buffets was poor, plenty of chefs but no organisation and no food. They all knew 1030 the sad remains if any were cleared down and the staff were gone except those doing the buffet lunch starting at 1130 daily.

Down to “M” floor where there was Reception, Cashiers and Internet (at a cost). On this floor there was the lounge bar, a female attendant. More interested in doing her nails and makeup, not a clue on Customer Care, if you wanted a drink you had to go to the bar and get it.

Finally we get to the ground floor, let’s start with the terrace bar, that if you can stand the smell outside. The terrace bar is located on the Canal Bank, the canal smells to high heaven of sewage and the water looks like dirty used engine oil. We did complain to the staff but they did nothing and treated it as a joke. Warning avoid this bar.

Back inside there is another bar opens at 5pm happy hour on draught beer, buy one get one free and free nibbles (flies loved them), again the service was abysmal, most time you had to go to the bar to order and then it would be brought over to your table, NO GO IN THE STAFF,
There was the Marco Polo Restaurant Monday to Thursday this was a buffet, they seemed to have forgotten what hot food is. Had the most disgusting spare ribs I have ever tasted. You could have a minute steak cooked to order, very small. There was also thin chicken and pork so small when cooked. Thursday to Sunday it’s more or less TDH these days the food is hotter if they get it to the table quickly, this is fresh cooked,

There are plenty of eating places close by, Sleaze Ally which is out of the hotel and straight across the road, it has a reputation for pick pockets, rent boys and other low life. Do not use the two Gay Bars in this road they are trouble.

Wi-Fi is reasonably priced 10 hour voucher 650 Baht’s long as you log off seems to go on for ever.

The Bell Boys seem to prefer to laugh and joke rather than doing the job they are there for.

The hotel prefers to cater for large coach groups and conferences while we were there they were some very large conferences. This is a very large hotel with over 500 rooms, you could have a large conference going on and on top of that 4 tour coaches come in absolutely full of guests.

The major problems with this hotel starts with the management, there is no organisation, no discipline and no customer care or service. The management need to install strict discipline, cut out the unprofessional lazing about and idle chatter and lack of interest by the staff, the staff need to have clean fresh looking uniforms and be happy in their role. Personal Appearance is a must and installs discipline in individuals.
We have travelled the world with 6 visits to Thailand, this was our worst holiday there and the worst holiday we have ever had and the worst hotel ever.

IN CONCLUSION, AVOID THIS DIRTY SHABBY HOTEL.

Room Tip: Just do not stay here. Bring a good quality cleaning kit in your luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Quite clearly our overall standard of service and product presentation was extremely negative when you stayed with us recently

Check in time is 2 pm however if guests request an early arrival we will always try to allow this – on the day you arrived the hotel was experiencing high occupancy and thus we were unable to have your room ready on arrival – certainly it is then disappointing that when you eventually arrived at your room it was not properly prepared – my sincere apologies for this situation and I have spoken with the House Keeping Team to inform them. We have also recently started the refurbishing of rooms so as the issues you experienced with the room quality can be erased as the refurbishment becomes complete

Our Food and Beverage Manager will take your comments to the next group meeting to ensure that all staff make your comments top of mind. All Restaurant Managers have been already tasked with setting remedial training to improve significantly the errors pointed out.

Our senior management team are embarrassed to learn that your holiday in Thailand was perceived as the worst stay you have experienced in your travels and I can assure you that we will place immediate emphasis on the points you have raised so as we might prove to you in the future that your comments have led to significant improvements in our overall presentation of products and services

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is its location which is fab in the middle of the night market. We ended up moving rooms 3 times. They are very outdated with a hairdryer blowing the power. We were missing towels 2 nights out of 3. Reception staff don't want to help and are very rude. Breakfast is dreadful. We will not go back. A shame as we love thai people

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LizUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

It was with deep regret that we learned of the negative experiences you encountered when you stayed with us recently. All rooms will be checked this week to offer our House Keeping staff with a closer realization of the standards we have set and that it is their responsibility to check all rooms both before guests check in and during the guests stay with us so as all equipment remains in full working order and that amenities provided are in place and/or replaced while guests are staying with us. We all apologize most sincerely for the inconvenience you were caused and will work with our Human Resource Department on additional training for guest contact skills and the importance of high standards of manners at all times

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Was booked in here from the 11th feb to the 14th, rep from tour east went to check us in(rep was hopeless) hotel said problem with room no electric or water??? We had got to move to their sister hotel orchid? Miles away from the centre, NOT happy as we had booked this holiday over a year ago, funny how room not available as coincided with Chinese New Year and hotel was full of them! Well, to cut a very long story short the orchid hotel was the biggest dump going, 4 star my god would not have givin it a 2, very very upset with this hotel and watch out all European travellers as they put the Chinese customers first, never book this time in feb as they tell lies and OVERBOOK the hotel in their favour, manager did not want to know and could not have cared less, only managed to stay one night out of the 3 we had booked, not a happy customer even though they tried to through in a free dinner!!!! Bookers beware!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Suffice to say, we are sincerely sorry that upon arrival at our hotel you were moved to another hotel.

Your case has highlighted to us the importance of thorough checking all bookings on a daily basis and upon realizing any issue where an overbooking has occurred we handle this in a polite and humanistic manner with the guest concerned to negate negative perceptions as much as we can. It is not our policy to select guest nationalities in any shape or form – there are certain times when visitors from one or other regions both domestically and internationally will be higher than usual however all guest bookings are taken on a first served basis taking into consideration the room inventory available on any given day. I have this morning spoken with our Front Office and Reservation Teams, to showcase your constructive and succinct comments in order to ensure that staff were made aware of the implications that over bookings cause both to the guests satisfaction and the overall perception of the hotel and our hotel group. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to apologize in this forum most sincerely and adjust our policies accordingly in order to ensure future guests are not subjected to the same inconvenience.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenlintown, PA, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I recently stayed for 3 nights. My room was well worn, dirty and had a bad odor. The elevators were extremely slow. It would often take several tries to even get on the elevator because they were so full. The buffet breakfast was a mad house. The dining room appeared to be mismanaged and understaffed. I even had a difficult time finding a clean table. The food was of poor quality. The only positive thing that I can say is that the hotel is in a fantastic location next to the night market.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RichFUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comment and we deeply sorry to
Know that our room condition do not meet your expectation,
We have recently started the refurbishing of room last year and
Will continue to finish all soonest

As well as the quality of food service, the performance of all staffs
Have been reviewed.

Best regards

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#46 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#49 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#40 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai

Property: Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Address: 132 Loykroh Road | Chang-Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Centara Duangtawan Hotel, Chiang Mai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoys an enviable location right in the heart of this charming city and just steps from the famous Chiang Mai Night Bazaar, a landmark for any visitor.This impressive high rise hotel offers comfortable accommodation and a host of facilities and services for the Chiang Mai bound visitor,24 Floors with 512 comfortable appointed rooms featuring Superior, Deluxe, Business Plus , Dynasty and Suites accommodations. The hotel’s extensive all day dining venue plays host to sumptuous buffets, themed evening and a extensive a la carte option bringing together the best of Italian , Japanese, International, Thai and Asian Cuisine.Perched atop of the hotel is the Sunflower Chinese Restaurant affording spectacular views of Chiang Mai and some of the best Chinese Cuisine this city has to offer.Italian, Poolside Bar and light meals, Lobby Lounge and bar with evening entertainment and 24 hour in –room dining also feature.Impressive leisure facilities feature a state-of the art gym and Fitness Centre , spacious pool and sun terrace, sauna, massage and Spa Cenvaree.Meet and Unite : This facilities offers a Grand Ballroom for up to 800 guests , 14 break out rooms, Service Centre and out door pavilion for activities, team building, theme parties and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Duangtawan Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Centara Duangtawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing