We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sleazy Hotel at the end of Sleaze Ally. Avoid at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #102 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Date 0f Stay 02-17 February 2013

Well reviews on this hotel are not wrong, friends of our had stayed here several times over the years but not for the past couple and recommended it. There were other recommendations as well. SHOCK HORROR on arrival, it was mid-morning, went to reception told room would not be ready until after 2pm so went upstairs and laid down in the pool area too tired to argue. Spent a couple of hours on a lounger no sun. The pool is built in the hotels shadow; it is on the 4th floor of 24 floors, Sun until about 10 in the morning on the Eastside and then nothing until 2pm on the Westside so it was not very warm even if this was Thailand. Gave up and then had a couple of beers to pass the time away, now eventually time to try and check in again.

It was our Civil Partnership Anniversary so it was supposed to be special, we had a free upgrade if we hadn’t just what would the room been like. Our next escapade was to get upstairs, in the slow overcrowded lifts nothing to wait 15 minutes or more to get one. Arriving on 21st floor our room was not far, first impression looked good, WRONG to be taken in, room that had just been serviced, not a very good job peanuts left on the floor not cleaned up (still there at checkout), no towels told would have to wait for the towel delivery as they had run out.

This then turned into a full room inspection, firstly the décor was dirty and disgusting, holes in the net curtains, dirty bed valance, main curtains very dusty and dated. Mould on grouting between the tiles in the bathroom, usual drain smell, shower dated poor flow water fluctuation burnt one minute cold the next, tiles on the shower floor needed a good clean. Next the furniture, it didn’t match it was old and worn. The carpet stained, stretched and discoloured with age. Wall broken around one light socket. What a joke it had just been serviced.

Just to diversify in China it is a custom for the people to clear the flem from their throats and draw it into their mouths and then spit it out, very often onto the carpet. We had a china man in the next room the walls were so thin you could hear him collecting the flem and then expelling it, the stains on the carpets we believe was from spit. We were warned when we went to china some years ago never walk on a hotel room carpet without shoes. Now it’s the same in Thailand be warned in this hotel wear slipper on the carpets.

I contacted a virus and was very ill with it spent a whole week in bed in the hotel room; you could hear every sound from the adjacent rooms. It is possible from the filthy room I could have contacted it in there. I also was infected with impetigo around my nose this could have been picked up from a not properly washed pillowcase

The room had a view, some view; there is a mountain in the north covered in rainforest. The sun is on the mountain all day and 24 hours a day the mountain is producing a mist and draws out dust, if you did not know the mountain was there you would never see it. By the time it gets over Chiang Mai it has then added the vehicle fumes (not good for breathing problems); it also gives the city a distinct smell. Took days to get rid of it after we got home.

The 23/24 floors were the suites, on 24 is a Chinese buffet restaurant, did not use this. Breakfast as so called was served in the second floor western buffet restaurant. The food was of cheap poor quality, badly cooked and nothing was warm except the fresh eggs. There were a number of choice Chinese/Thai, so called western and curry type food. The choice on western food was from Baked Beans, Hot Reformed Plastic Ham, Turkey Sausages, boiled vegetables (Carrots, Cauliflower, and Broccoli) Sauté Potatoes. There was a selection of bread this was not of the usual Thai standard. Butter was heavily salted, margarine was available. Replenishment of the buffets was poor, plenty of chefs but no organisation and no food. They all knew 1030 the sad remains if any were cleared down and the staff were gone except those doing the buffet lunch starting at 1130 daily.

Down to “M” floor where there was Reception, Cashiers and Internet (at a cost). On this floor there was the lounge bar, a female attendant. More interested in doing her nails and makeup, not a clue on Customer Care, if you wanted a drink you had to go to the bar and get it.

Finally we get to the ground floor, let’s start with the terrace bar, that if you can stand the smell outside. The terrace bar is located on the Canal Bank, the canal smells to high heaven of sewage and the water looks like dirty used engine oil. We did complain to the staff but they did nothing and treated it as a joke. Warning avoid this bar.

Back inside there is another bar opens at 5pm happy hour on draught beer, buy one get one free and free nibbles (flies loved them), again the service was abysmal, most time you had to go to the bar to order and then it would be brought over to your table, NO GO IN THE STAFF,
There was the Marco Polo Restaurant Monday to Thursday this was a buffet, they seemed to have forgotten what hot food is. Had the most disgusting spare ribs I have ever tasted. You could have a minute steak cooked to order, very small. There was also thin chicken and pork so small when cooked. Thursday to Sunday it’s more or less TDH these days the food is hotter if they get it to the table quickly, this is fresh cooked,

There are plenty of eating places close by, Sleaze Ally which is out of the hotel and straight across the road, it has a reputation for pick pockets, rent boys and other low life. Do not use the two Gay Bars in this road they are trouble.

Wi-Fi is reasonably priced 10 hour voucher 650 Baht’s long as you log off seems to go on for ever.

The Bell Boys seem to prefer to laugh and joke rather than doing the job they are there for.

The hotel prefers to cater for large coach groups and conferences while we were there they were some very large conferences. This is a very large hotel with over 500 rooms, you could have a large conference going on and on top of that 4 tour coaches come in absolutely full of guests.

The major problems with this hotel starts with the management, there is no organisation, no discipline and no customer care or service. The management need to install strict discipline, cut out the unprofessional lazing about and idle chatter and lack of interest by the staff, the staff need to have clean fresh looking uniforms and be happy in their role. Personal Appearance is a must and installs discipline in individuals.
We have travelled the world with 6 visits to Thailand, this was our worst holiday there and the worst holiday we have ever had and the worst hotel ever.

IN CONCLUSION, AVOID THIS DIRTY SHABBY HOTEL.

Room Tip: Just do not stay here. Bring a good quality cleaning kit in your luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Quite clearly our overall standard of service and product presentation was extremely negative when you stayed with us recently

Check in time is 2 pm however if guests request an early arrival we will always try to allow this – on the day you arrived the hotel was experiencing high occupancy and thus we were unable to have your room ready on arrival – certainly it is then disappointing that when you eventually arrived at your room it was not properly prepared – my sincere apologies for this situation and I have spoken with the House Keeping Team to inform them. We have also recently started the refurbishing of rooms so as the issues you experienced with the room quality can be erased as the refurbishment becomes complete

Our Food and Beverage Manager will take your comments to the next group meeting to ensure that all staff make your comments top of mind. All Restaurant Managers have been already tasked with setting remedial training to improve significantly the errors pointed out.

Our senior management team are embarrassed to learn that your holiday in Thailand was perceived as the worst stay you have experienced in your travels and I can assure you that we will place immediate emphasis on the points you have raised so as we might prove to you in the future that your comments have led to significant improvements in our overall presentation of products and services

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

946 - 952 of 2,001 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is its location which is fab in the middle of the night market. We ended up moving rooms 3 times. They are very outdated with a hairdryer blowing the power. We were missing towels 2 nights out of 3. Reception staff don't want to help and are very rude. Breakfast is dreadful. We will not go back. A shame as we love thai people

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LizUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

It was with deep regret that we learned of the negative experiences you encountered when you stayed with us recently. All rooms will be checked this week to offer our House Keeping staff with a closer realization of the standards we have set and that it is their responsibility to check all rooms both before guests check in and during the guests stay with us so as all equipment remains in full working order and that amenities provided are in place and/or replaced while guests are staying with us. We all apologize most sincerely for the inconvenience you were caused and will work with our Human Resource Department on additional training for guest contact skills and the importance of high standards of manners at all times

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Was booked in here from the 11th feb to the 14th, rep from tour east went to check us in(rep was hopeless) hotel said problem with room no electric or water??? We had got to move to their sister hotel orchid? Miles away from the centre, NOT happy as we had booked this holiday over a year ago, funny how room not available as coincided with Chinese New Year and hotel was full of them! Well, to cut a very long story short the orchid hotel was the biggest dump going, 4 star my god would not have givin it a 2, very very upset with this hotel and watch out all European travellers as they put the Chinese customers first, never book this time in feb as they tell lies and OVERBOOK the hotel in their favour, manager did not want to know and could not have cared less, only managed to stay one night out of the 3 we had booked, not a happy customer even though they tried to through in a free dinner!!!! Bookers beware!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Suffice to say, we are sincerely sorry that upon arrival at our hotel you were moved to another hotel.

Your case has highlighted to us the importance of thorough checking all bookings on a daily basis and upon realizing any issue where an overbooking has occurred we handle this in a polite and humanistic manner with the guest concerned to negate negative perceptions as much as we can. It is not our policy to select guest nationalities in any shape or form – there are certain times when visitors from one or other regions both domestically and internationally will be higher than usual however all guest bookings are taken on a first served basis taking into consideration the room inventory available on any given day. I have this morning spoken with our Front Office and Reservation Teams, to showcase your constructive and succinct comments in order to ensure that staff were made aware of the implications that over bookings cause both to the guests satisfaction and the overall perception of the hotel and our hotel group. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to apologize in this forum most sincerely and adjust our policies accordingly in order to ensure future guests are not subjected to the same inconvenience.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I recently stayed for 3 nights. My room was well worn, dirty and had a bad odor. The elevators were extremely slow. It would often take several tries to even get on the elevator because they were so full. The buffet breakfast was a mad house. The dining room appeared to be mismanaged and understaffed. I even had a difficult time finding a clean table. The food was of poor quality. The only positive thing that I can say is that the hotel is in a fantastic location next to the night market.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RichFUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comment and we deeply sorry to
Know that our room condition do not meet your expectation,
We have recently started the refurbishing of room last year and
Will continue to finish all soonest

As well as the quality of food service, the performance of all staffs
Have been reviewed.

Best regards

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We are worldwide travellers and we always treat yourselves to Club Rooms. We have stayed several times in Shangri La in KL, Dusit Thani in Bangkok, Pan Pacific in Singapore, Prince Edward and Myanmar in Hong Kong, Sheratan in Bangkok and are now regular customers in the Presidents Palace in Bangkok.
Three days prior to our stay with you we stayed in Park Royal KL.
This hotel would win the first price for being the worst Club Rooms. First time ever we have had to check in downstairs, we waited almost 30 minutes for our luggage, never experienced this anywhere, Club Rooms or not,
Point one you do get lovely views from the lounge but, we are not alcoholic but 2 weak g and t's is ridiculus. There was only 1 girl on duty and we had to go and ask for our drinks.
Snacks consisted of a bowl of peanuts, crisps and breadstick. Where were the canapes???
Breakfast was adequate but one morning went at 10.30 and they were clearing things away. Our info clearly states breakfast from 7am to 11am.
We must state that this is a beautiful lounge going to waste. During our 3 day visit we only ever saw 3 other people using this lounge.
We were given a voucher for a free drink when we arrived but to have this we had to go downstairs. Why not offer the drink when you check in on the Club Floor.
Wi Fi was only 30 minutes a day!!!!
Our business colleagues think this a joke.
We asked for a wake up call for 6am on our last morning and it was 6.10. To make matters worse at 1.30am someone decided to repair the elevator. So for about 15 minutes there was loud banging. We spoke to another couple on the 18th floor and it had also woken them up.

If you have an hotel with a Club Room you charge more money and provide Club Room facilities.
At the moment you are not providing value and services for money.

Room Tip: You only get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wisertravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your valued patronages

However, we sincerely sorry to know that our services at the club
Lounge did not meet your expectation.

Your kind advice on the limited privileges of club lounge brought into
our attention. At the same time, the performance of club staffs have
been reviewed.

We took seriously action to our staff on the delay of luggage delivery
and the wakeup call service in order that it will not happen again.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the unhappy experiences
during your stay.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

reached the hotel around afternoon, 12 pm.... was disappointed that everyone in our group tour manage to get a room but not for us.. their communication with us is terrible.... dey dun seems to understand english well and even need our tour guide to speak in our behalf.... was told 30 mins n we will get our room, but waited until 2 hrs den managed to really get the room.
booked a room for 2 adults and 1 infant but they give us 2 twin beds?! seriously,,.... told em the problem but dey cant solved it . was told that another family took our double bed room?
where your first priority? wifi need to pruchase, its not free... we are in the room 22nd floor. brought the wifi for 120 mins, but there no reception at all! receptionist dun understand our english, (we from singapore) and give us a blank look like wad r we trying to sae?
went up to 22nd floor to brg down our laptop to demonstrate to em wad we trying to sae n their answer are as plain as a paper, " said cos we stay too high the reception cant reached us"

????!!!!!! wad the point of buying the wifi? and pls dun sell to us since there no reception on higher floors? trying to cheat us money? or wad?

the lift is slow cos i tink there some conference going on, and we had to missed 1 to 2 of the lift before we can rch our room.

breakfast still ok.... there some changes everyday so i still fine with it,
the bathroom is clean and so is the scenery is nice... onli that i can hear the outside noise of ppl opening n closing doors n conversation... nt wall friendly use though....


overall. still fine wit it. jus the service is really not up to the standard. i believe they shld hav manage the itinerary before us the travellers arrive at their hotel.
manage n plan nicely for those family who in need of double bed room.
my baby fall from the small bed cos she so used to a wider space bed. lucky my baby did not happen in any misunfortunate situation. pls seek to a better management.

Room Tip: dun choose high floor if u intend to buy wifi from em... if not they told u a excuse n sae is too hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yannfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your valued feedback to let us know that
Our service did not meet your expectation and we have
to improve.

Your kind advice on our facilities brought into our attention,
The WIFI signal in the entire area has been checked and
they are working well currently. Moreover, the speed of lifts
is under control during the rush hours.

Moreover, our staff will be given more training programs on
English communication skills.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the unhappy
experiences which happened to you during your stay.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here for 11 days in January2013 with business. We were delivering training courses in the meeting rooms. Unfortunately we were moved 3 times to make way for other functions. There are a LOT of corporate events on here, so dinner, lifts etc can become a very long line. Lifts on average take 5 mins until you get one that is not already full. Easier to use the express lifts or the stairs sometime. Food is average. Staff are friendly and helpful, but seem to struggle to understand English most of the time. On several occasions failed to get a card to order breakfast due to lack of comprehension. On one occasion, a waiter appeared with 3 plates at the door!

Wifi barely works most of the time and the water in the pool is icy, so almost no one swims there.

On the positive side, the location is right next to the night market.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Carotheexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear EvaaaaaScotland ,

Thank you for your support and for your valued feedback, your
Comments on the elevator system and the lack of English
Communication skills of our staff are on our most attention

We look forward to the opportunity of being service to you

Best regards
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#69 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#40 of 392 in Chiang Mai
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai

Address: 132 Loykroh Road, Chang-Klan, Muang | Night Bazaar Shopping Centre, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Centara Duangtawan Hotel, Chiang Mai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#55 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $51 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoys an enviable location right in the heart of this charming city and just steps from the famous Chiang Mai Night Bazaar, a landmark for any visitor.This impressive high rise hotel offers comfortable accommodation and a host of facilities and services for the Chiang Mai bound visitor,24 Floors with 512 comfortable appointed rooms featuring Superior, Deluxe, Business Plus , Dynasty and Suites accommodations. The hotel’s extensive all day dining venue plays host to sumptuous buffets, themed evening and a extensive a la carte option bringing together the best of Italian , Japanese, International, Thai and Asian Cuisine.Perched atop of the hotel is the Sunflower Chinese Restaurant affording spectacular views of Chiang Mai and some of the best Chinese Cuisine this city has to offer.Italian, Poolside Bar and light meals, Lobby Lounge and bar with evening entertainment and 24 hour in –room dining also feature.Impressive leisure facilities feature a state-of the art gym and Fitness Centre , spacious pool and sun terrace, sauna, massage and Spa Cenvaree.Meet and Unite : This facilities offers a Grand Ballroom for up to 800 guests , 14 break out rooms, Service Centre and out door pavilion for activities, team building, theme parties and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Duangtawan Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Centara Duangtawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing