We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horror” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #109 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
BKK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horror”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Horror experience. Poor service, Room is dirty, I found grey hair left on sealed glass. sure it is not mine. Curtain smell bad, Mirror is not clear, Worse than that, on my last day, my floor is black-out. I recommend you to spend your money at other guesshouses around TaPrea or on Nimmarn Rd., I quite sure it better than here.

Room Tip: Rooms next to fire exit will be smaller than any other. But quite good for emergency case. Please co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akiba_pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear akiba_pam

Thank you very much for your feedback

Your comment s on the cleanliness is in our most
Attention, we know well that our product need
The upgrading so we started the refurbish to some
Of our room this year and will continue next year

We are doing our best to improve our product

Best regards

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    731
    504
    229
    127
See reviews for
335
629
170
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mudjimba, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Right in the heart of Chiang Mai, we really enjoyed this hotel. Had great views and the breakfast is excellent. Our room was clean and all facilities worked well. Quiet as well. Just a short walk to the night markets, which are very good.
Enjoyed the Lobby Bar each night for 2 for 1 cocktails, and the outside beer bar was great as well.
Recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BriJan4748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have been to Chaing Mai before, it is a lovely area and the people are very 'laid back' and friendly. Just a short distance from the hotel a man has his sewing machine set up on the pavement by the roadside. So as I had some clothing that needed alterations I asked him to do them for me. The man offered to have them ready that same day, I assured him that the next day would be just fine, he did a great job at a very reasonable cost. The same went for washing that we had done just before leaving well worth it at 20 bht a kilo and nicely folded too!.
We were looking forward to staying at Centara Duangtawan Hotel as we enjoyed staying there twice before. Things do change and the hotel is not quite what it was, less welcoming and not so sparkly clean. On some days we did not have all the towels or face washers. Thinking that these would be delivered later wa managed with what was ther and our wipes. The Gym is very well equipped. Best to shower in your room as the ones at the Gym are very basic. Toilets are shared gender there, but if you have to go - you have to go! Breakfast has a vast choice of dishes enough variety to please any nationality, unfortunately the food was cold each day. During our stay we sat in various places for breakfast and each time we had very pleasant service from the waiting staff. Sometimes very busy they still took care to look after us with tea, coffee and clearing plates etc. One morning did see a lively discussion between staff and a guest who was refused a poached egg he requested. Some guests witnessing this decided not to ask for eggs after all. Not a good look for guests to recommend or return in the future. We did make a short local phone call to confirm our flight to Bangkok this was charged 750 bht - we should have called from outside the hotel. Also the charges for internet were high too. The hotel we had stayed at in Bangkok did not charge at all. So I will remember the good times that we stayed at this hotel and move on!

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room ask for one at the end of the corridor and a few floors up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

After staying at this hotel on two other dates we found the service had deteriorated badly and the food at breakfast was always cold,. I had an accident and broke a tea cup which I reported straight away but they still charged one hundred Thai baht and a local phone call was charged at seventy thai baht. We used to look forward to our stays at this hotel but will now look for a hotel in Chiang Mai that looks after repeat business

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Victor T,

Thank you for your valued comments and feedback,
We acknowledged your points of view on the performance
Of our service, we are doing our best to improve our products

Best regards

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayd at this hotel when we arrived in chiang mai. The hotel is a little bit old and the bathrooms weren’t so clean and welcoming. but the location is I think as good as it gets rite by the night market. Plus the price was cheap, so I think it’s a very good place to stay in chiang mai.

Room Tip: they upgraded us to a top floor, the view was fantantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yonatan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear yonatan r,

Thank you for your support and for your valued comment to let us
Know how to improve our products

We look forward to the opportunity of being service to you

Best regards

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

First time traveller on my own and female. I WOULD ENCOURAGE ANY WOMAN TO TRAVEL TO CHIANG MAI. I felt quite safe. Research on Trip Advisor extremely helpful and honest. The Centara was lovely. 100 meters from "Night Markets", shop, barter n shop. So much fun. Book tours from local tour operaters. Research on yr first day. BARTER with them when booking more than one tour. Im going again asap. SO MUCH FUN TO HAVE.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robyn31963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I love Chinag Mai because of its people, culture & tradition, food and the variety of this charming city's lifestyle. Visiting Chiang Mai this time during weekends, just for a couple nights, on a business discussion trip, the organizer booked me in Centara Duangtawan hotel.

This is one of the tallest hotel buildings in downtown Chiang Mai located on Changkran road, only a minute walk to the middle of the night market walking street. The location is also convenient to get a "red-cab" taxi to travel around town. Though I found that it is a bit crowded and noisy around the hotel, choosing the high floor to stay can keep you away from those noises.

After check-in, you will get a coupon for a complimentary drink at the hotel bar. You can use it anytime during your stay. I found that the hotel offers me a room upgrade to their superior suite, with living room, working desk, walk-in closet and big bathroom. Special thanks to the organizer to request room upgrade for me. Breakfast is included, full with western and asian food options.

Room: the suite is just fine; however, I found that the bed, duvet and pillow need to be changed. The bed is hard and the curtain couldn't protect you well from the light outside.

Standard hotel facilities: swimming pool, fitness center and spa. There is no free wifi internet offered; however, the hotel business center provides computers with pre-paid internet card for guests to use.

There are many hotels in this area, Centara needs to improve the hotel facilities and its service in order to compete with other hotels. Pricing strategy or cheaper hotel room rate is not enough - the managment team should consider other factors like room refurbishment, Food & Beverage options and "trendy service" for new market segment are what the hotel need to think about. Le Meridien Chiang Mai looks beautiful located on the opposite side. With competitve room rate Le Meridien offering - I am happy to pay extra.

In overall, it is a good hotel and will be one of the hotel choices to choose when considering the room rate and location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AorPhatthawut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear AorPhatthawut,

Thank you very much for your valued comment, the refurbishing
Of room and facilities has already started this year and will
Keep continue next year as well as the reconsideration on WI-FI
Service

Looking forward to the opportunity of being service to you

Best regards

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#44 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#54 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#51 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai

Property: Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Address: 132 Loykroh Road | Chang-Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Centara Duangtawan Hotel, Chiang Mai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoys an enviable location right in the heart of this charming city and just steps from the famous Chiang Mai Night Bazaar, a landmark for any visitor.This impressive high rise hotel offers comfortable accommodation and a host of facilities and services for the Chiang Mai bound visitor,24 Floors with 512 comfortable appointed rooms featuring Superior, Deluxe, Business Plus , Dynasty and Suites accommodations. The hotel’s extensive all day dining venue plays host to sumptuous buffets, themed evening and a extensive a la carte option bringing together the best of Italian , Japanese, International, Thai and Asian Cuisine.Perched atop of the hotel is the Sunflower Chinese Restaurant affording spectacular views of Chiang Mai and some of the best Chinese Cuisine this city has to offer.Italian, Poolside Bar and light meals, Lobby Lounge and bar with evening entertainment and 24 hour in –room dining also feature.Impressive leisure facilities feature a state-of the art gym and Fitness Centre , spacious pool and sun terrace, sauna, massage and Spa Cenvaree.Meet and Unite : This facilities offers a Grand Ballroom for up to 800 guests , 14 break out rooms, Service Centre and out door pavilion for activities, team building, theme parties and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Duangtawan Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Centara Duangtawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing