We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool chic, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
HK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“cool chic, good location”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

located near the night market and by the river, this is a resort style hotel with the convenience of a city centre location. We stayed in the club rooms which not only came with the use of a club lounge, but also included a complimentary mini bar. Vodka, Gin and Whisky replenished daily, though don't expect any premium spirits. Lots of mosquitoes though, given the river location. Rooms are large with separate sitting area and large balcony. Friendly and efficient service. Nice pool facing the river.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyline_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,914
    362
    81
    28
    19
See reviews for
477
1,275
117
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2011

My partner and I stayed at The Chedi Chiang Mai for three nights in late January, and we really loved this hotel!!

Although it's situated in the center of Chiang Mai with busy streets running right in front, no sooner had we entered the hotel than we totally forgot the hustle and bustle of outside. The contrast was just amazing.

Our room was a Deluxe, which was the lower of the two room categories(the other being Club Suite), but it came with all the room amenities we'd expect for a resort hotel.

The staff, who were attentive, friendly yet professional, and always smiled at guests, provided delightful services.

And since the hotel's got everything from superb restaurants and bars to a serene, inviting swimming pool to a well-equipped fitness room, we hardly wanted to leave. But when we felt like doing something else other than hotel activities, such as sightseeing and dining out in downtown, it was quite easy to do so because of its location.

For that reason, The Chedi will make a perfect place especially to those who'd like to enjoy both resort hotel experiences and a bit(or a lot) of sightseeing.

My partner, who is more observant than I am, thought the hotel was short-staffed; housekeeping was slow, and there were times when no one was around the pool to take drink orders. And we both found the bed mattress too soft and the duvet too heavy...

Having said that, this is still a greeeeat hotel, and we highly recommend to just anyone!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomu-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

The Chedi at Chiangmai was truly a luxurious experience.

We arrived in the relentless, humid heat of late May, and what a divine welcome it was to step into the cool, calm, silence of the Chedi. Greeted by refreshing fruit tea and cold face towels, we were seated in the sunken lounges in the reception to complete our check-in forms. The staff were very friendly, especially our young attendant who was very nervous and shy (and who, it turned out, had just started his new job that day :).

He took us to our room, which was much larger than we expected! On the second floor, it had its own gated private entrance and a huge, wooden, swinging door. Inside, the air-conditioning had been already turned on awaiting our arrival, and as our luggage was being delivered, we were shown around the accommodation. It was presently immaculately, with zen-like, clean, timber lines and secreted-away rooms (much like the layout of the resort itself), a large balcony spanning the width of our room with daybed overlooking the rest of the resort, the pool, and the river. We had a kingsize bed, bath, shower with beautiful accessories, walk-in robe, tea and coffee machine and the rest of the regular kitchenette. We also had a daybed inside the room, with a large swivelling TV in the middle of the room that could be turned to face either the bed or the daybed.

There was hardly anyone staying at the resort (we saw two other couples the whole time we were there), which I'm sure was due to timing (post-2010-riots), but it was lovely and peaceful nonetheless.

The breakfasts were absolutely divine. I rate this very highly - best breakfast in Thailand (best out of five resorts, including the international chain Sheraton and more traditional Thai-style boutiques). The pool was right on the river, but near enough to the restaurant/bar to order a drink... the perfect blue oasis after a day out in the sun. Unfortunately we didn't get to experience the day-spa so we cannot comment on it.

As far as location goes, the hotel is within walking distance of several little eateries, a chemist, and the Night Markets.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarpopblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We had a great two days at this hotel. We had no booking but just walked in and asked whether they had a room. We were offered a great suite with a lovely balcony and the manager included in the price even the contents of the minibar which was a nice touch. Would defenitley stay again if we ever come to Chiang Mai.

The food in the restaurant was fab and so was the location. It is such a nice hotel on the main street, but once you are in the hotel you enter tranquility and calm...lovely decor.

The one main problem could be with the fact that the hotel is just off main street and it can get quite noisy - however as we were so tired it never really bothered us - but could someone else..

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonPutnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We have just returned from a golfing trip in Thailand. Five days was spent at the Chedi in Chiang Mai which is one of the small luxury hotels of the world and it was precisely that!
Once one entered the Chedi it was an atmosphere of total peace and tranquility. The service was peerless and all the staff so friendly and responsive. At night the entire hotel was lit by candlelight and the only music played was by a solo musician playing gentle,soothing, thai music. The Chedi is very much a Zen style hotel and the only colours used were earthy shades.........for us it was wonderful. The usual price is pretty expensive but we had an exceptionally good deal, therefore suggest that you really shop around and negotiate. The prices at the hotel are pretty steep and we ate out every evening as it was so cheap and lots of choices.We would thoroughly recommend the Chedi and would most certainly chose it again. In fact, as a matter of interest we called to see the Shangri La to compare (as we intend to go to Chiang Mai again next January)
Whilst the hotel was opulent and very large, in our opinion we far preferred the Chedi which is more intimate and calm and location wise far better as it overllooks the river.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

I can't say enough about the service in this hotel. Whatever they could do to make our stay more enjoyable, they did. They made us feel as if we were their only guests, and I'm sure they did this with all their guests.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geomarqCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Although some don’t like it, I think this is a great hotel and perfect for CM. Just on the edge of things on the river, so a peaceful retreat. And great service. Just depends whether you are a person who prefers five star type places or something more relaxed. If the former the Chedi a good choice and not over-priced.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DemandingAlbion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 386 in Chiang Mai
3,025 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 386 in Chiang Mai
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing