We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel - great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

We had a great two days at this hotel. We had no booking but just walked in and asked whether they had a room. We were offered a great suite with a lovely balcony and the manager included in the price even the contents of the minibar which was a nice touch. Would defenitley stay again if we ever come to Chiang Mai.

The food in the restaurant was fab and so was the location. It is such a nice hotel on the main street, but once you are in the hotel you enter tranquility and calm...lovely decor.

The one main problem could be with the fact that the hotel is just off main street and it can get quite noisy - however as we were so tired it never really bothered us - but could someone else..

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonPutnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,790
    338
    76
    26
    15
See reviews for
424
1,206
110
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
south wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

We have just returned from a golfing trip in Thailand. Five days was spent at the Chedi in Chiang Mai which is one of the small luxury hotels of the world and it was precisely that!
Once one entered the Chedi it was an atmosphere of total peace and tranquility. The service was peerless and all the staff so friendly and responsive. At night the entire hotel was lit by candlelight and the only music played was by a solo musician playing gentle,soothing, thai music. The Chedi is very much a Zen style hotel and the only colours used were earthy shades.........for us it was wonderful. The usual price is pretty expensive but we had an exceptionally good deal, therefore suggest that you really shop around and negotiate. The prices at the hotel are pretty steep and we ate out every evening as it was so cheap and lots of choices.We would thoroughly recommend the Chedi and would most certainly chose it again. In fact, as a matter of interest we called to see the Shangri La to compare (as we intend to go to Chiang Mai again next January)
Whilst the hotel was opulent and very large, in our opinion we far preferred the Chedi which is more intimate and calm and location wise far better as it overllooks the river.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

I can't say enough about the service in this hotel. Whatever they could do to make our stay more enjoyable, they did. They made us feel as if we were their only guests, and I'm sure they did this with all their guests.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geomarqCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

Although some don’t like it, I think this is a great hotel and perfect for CM. Just on the edge of things on the river, so a peaceful retreat. And great service. Just depends whether you are a person who prefers five star type places or something more relaxed. If the former the Chedi a good choice and not over-priced.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DemandingAlbion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

stayed at the chedi for 2 nights as part of a 4 week trip around Thailand.
Loved it. Staff were so friendly. Hotel is really pretty, set by the river with a lovely swimming pool. Rooms were great. Breakfast buffet was fantastic.
Ate in the restaurant on one night, lovely experience but very expensive.
Chedi is in a great position, walking distance to everything. Perfect stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

If ever I have stayed in a hotel near perfection, the Chedi is it. I have been coming to Chiang Mai for 25 years very often each year and somehow over the recent years stayed in the larger hotels coming occasionally to the Chedi for a meal and promising myself that we would try it one trip. Well, what a surprise that it is even better than I could have imagined!

The hotel leaves no stone unturned and you can tell that every single thing from arrival to check out has been carefully planned and executed from the physical plant to the service to the food. It is obvious that this Leading Small Hotel of the World was conceived as a quiet very very romantic in town getaway where you can forget your woes and bask in the pleasures of a most considerate and thoughtful host.

The GM himself comes and greets you as you sit on comfortable sofas in this Thai modern hotel lobby, waiting to check in right there.You are escorted by a receptionist to a beautiful Thai modern style large room with a beautiful balcony complete with comfortable day bed. The room has everything and all amenities are in exquisite taste. Most rooms are the same. Beds are very comfortable and pillow choices excellent.

Breakfast is good with an a la carte menu as well as a small but quality buffet, the dreaded egg and frying station being replaced by the menu. The hotel has a justifiably good reputation for food and the dinner we had was from a well selected menu with international, Thai and Indian specialties . We sat outside near the very peaceful river Ping and our only criticism was that the food was not served warm enough, and for some unforgiveable reason their large ice cream menu was not available! Sob sob!

Service is excellent all over and most staff remember your name. There is no shortage of staff for your every whim and the Spa is apparently excellent although expensive. We didn't try it .We did use the wifi throughout the hotel it was free and very fast at all times of day. The pool is well planned and poolside service couldn't be better with cold water and facial spray as well as oversized towels given to you as you sit down.

My undeniable criticism of the Chedi is that it's dark. The rooms are much too dark to the point of ridiculousness, which might be in keeping with the hotel but ,in my opinion, there should be bright lights available( proper ones not small table lamps) for those that want or need them in the privacy of their own room,, the rest of he hotel being lit at night by low tasteful lighting and thousands of candles which is fine and in keeping! How these candles are lit every night is a feat of ingenuity but must be the manager's nightmare on windy days!

It's a lovers paradise, it's a haven of total quiet relaxation , its a gourmet's temptation , it's simply a superb beautifully run in town hotel!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

I spent five solo nights at the Chedi over the New Year's holiday and can't say enough good things. Make no mistake - this is an expensive hotel, especially for Thailand, but if you are looking to splurge and want to make sure you are getting your money's worth, don't waste any more time and book your stay at the Chedi. This hotel evokes a 19th century colonial feel, and the British consulate design is well-preserved. Everywhere you turn you will be amazed by the design and architecture. You can tell from the moment you arrive that they do not overlook any detail here - from the smell, the ambience, the lighting and sounds - every last detail is painstakingly maintained. The staff - friendly, accommodating, eager to please without being overbearing - they greet you by your last name and never forget, and assist in ways you don't even notice. The staff gladly changed my flight for me with no extra charge, which saved me quite a hassle. The lobby - amazing, tranquil, well-designed and quiet and the traditional, live Thai music played each night was a nice touch. The rooms - I stayed in a standard room and it was perfect for one (or two). Plenty of room, comfortable bed, nice TV (though please do not waste time watching TV in Chiang Mai), beautiful bathroom with aromatic and high quality products which are refilled each day. Complimentary bottled water and nightly turn down service is a plus, and little treats like the homemade macarons on New Year's Eve were a nice touch. Minor complaints - mosquitos in the room 1 or 2 nights and street noise, but I had no problems sleeping and the hotel tried to control the mosquitos. It's Thailand, after all. The complimentary breakfast was amazing - incredible eggs benedict, fresh fruit, made to order French press coffee, healthy smoothies which changed each day and yogurt, also Thai food, omelets bacon, etc. that you can order from menu. The cocktails at the bar were so-so, but that's typical of Thailand. Stick to wine or beer. The pool service and spa were also top notch. The spa smells delicious, fragrant and it is typical of highest end spas. Little things like the chilled towels soaked in lemongrass-scented water at the gym, an attendant who delivered a chilled bottle of ginger/lemongrass spray to cool your face at the pool, the candlelit walkways and tranquil ponds each night - were amazing! The location - this hotel is just a tad outside the main gate area of the city, but it is a 15 minute walk or 5 minute tuk tuk, and also close to the river and night bazaar. It is a nice, relaxing retreat from the day's events if that is what you are looking for, but is not the center for clubbing, nightlife, backpackers, etc. if that is what you want. I don't think I'll ever forget the Chedi and will try to come back if I can!

Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank urbansombrero76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 373 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Chiang Mai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing