We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Had a short but lovely return stay at the hotel. We were upgraded and a beautiful bath with frangipani's awaited which was beautiful after a long flight. Great location, close to the night markets and beautiful buildings and surroundings close to the river. Excellent choice for breakfast, highly recommend the scrambled tofu - which was a surprise. Would have been nice to stay longer - maybe next time

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaandMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear StellaandMick

Thank you for your constructive feedback of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

There is no doubt that the resort is well recognised internationally due to it's stunning architecture as well as it's personalised service. I am delighted to hear that you experienced the best that our resort/hotel has to offer. I also would agree that our location beside the Ping River creates a very relaxed and elegant resort atmosphere while being only steps away from the markets and buzz of the town of Chiang Mai. And while I also agree that we are the perfect location for a relaxing escape.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,821
    346
    79
    26
    17
See reviews for
442
1,222
113
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westerlo, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

The Anantara is a very good hotel , near the center of Chiang Mai , on the river bank (which means a lot of mosquitos). Very nice rooms , clean and spacious. Although not far from the street , not noisy at all. The spa is rather average. Breakfast , lunch and dinner very good.
Center of Chiang Mai at 20 min walking distance , but for a couple of Euros you can take a tuktuk to the center.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Edith S

Thank you for your positive review of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

It sounds like you had wonderful stay while here in Chiang Mai. I would agree that our location beside the Ping River is a perfect base from which to explore the best that Chiang Mai has to offer.
Whilst we hope that all of our guests enjoy the resort’s scenic riverside location, tropical environment and exotic nature, your comfort is of the utmost importance and we do everything possible to minimise disturbance from mosquitoes.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed in the hotel last week of May 2014 for 5 days with my husband as part of our three-week vacations in Thailand and this was our first stop...We were upgraded to the top floor a
with a beautiful view of the river and the pool...Our room was beautiful with a nice terrace and a beautiful bathroom and we had a complimentary basket of fresh fruits upon our arrival. I love their lobby which was so zen and so beautiful. Breakfast choices is good - lots of fresh fruits and fresh fruit juices and you can choose your main from their breakfast menu card...We took our breakfast by the river which has a nice view...Had dinner twice in the hotel which was good - also we had room service - good food and fast service...The hotel is in an excellent location so it is convenient to go anywhere -lots of excellent small local restaurants nearby...Had massage outside of the hotel - 2 minutes walk which was really good though my husband tried their spa which according to him - the best massage he ever had but which he paid more than a hundred euros which i think is a bit pricey...All in all, i highly recommend this hotel to other travelers...
I wish we had stayed longer here...

Room Tip: Get a room at the top floor with a pool/river view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amengParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear amengParis

Thank you for your beautiful review of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. Inspiration is a key hallmark of the Anantara brand, and we love to hear the things we are doing exceptionally well, so that we can build on the experiences we offer and make them even more amazing. It’s also crucial to know what matters to our guests the most, and we truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Beautiful room. The hotel itself lacks a bit of facilities and restaurants choice...which is an issue given its location. The view is not amazing...however what is great are the activities and I guess you go there for this. Try the elephant ride, it's amazing and worth going just for that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titiparis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear titiparis01

Thank you for sharing constructive feedback and review of your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai.

As you correctly pointed out, we are close to all the action that the town has to offer with the Night Markets a simple stroll down the street. And I will certainly discuss your recommendations with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed one night in this great hotel by the River but we were wishing we could stay longer. If not mistaken is the only 5 star hotel by the river so is very peaceful and always with a nice breeze.
They have an amazing restaurant and their rooms are perfect! super clean, staff super friendly and so close to the city center. We highly recommend this hotel if you visit Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Dario M

Thank you for your beautiful review of your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai.

It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. Inspiration is a key hallmark of the Anantara brand, and we love to hear the things we are doing exceptionally well, so that we can build on the experiences we offer and make them even more amazing. It’s also crucial to know what matters to our guests the most, and we truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Really lovely resort, good size for those who don't like large hotels. Walking distance to everything, if you don't mind a 20-30 minute walk to the larger Sunday night market in the old town. Very nice staff, good breakfast. Definitely recommend upgrading to the river view suites, you will appreciate the larger space to relax in and the lovely large balcony. Request 4th floor for best view & more privacy. Not so convinced the Kasara Lounge upgrade is worthwhile, unless you intend to stay in and enjoy the free cocktails from 6-8 pm every evening. We never used the lounge for breakfast as the riverside restaurant is nice for breakfast, and never crowded when we stayed, even though the resort was apparently full.
Resort never felt full, seemed almost empty, as it is beautifully spacious & quiet. We did enjoy the complimentary CD/DVD's from the Kasara Lounge, but apart from that rarely made use of it.
The Spa is really lovely, but overpriced when so many alternatives are nearby. Only real complaint is the often slow Wi-Fi. The rooms would also really benefit from ceiling fans so you could enjoy opening the huge doors onto the big balcony's and appreciate the fresh air without using the air-conditioning, especially at night. Otherwise, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go for a suite, 4th floor best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Peter C

Thank you for your positive feedback of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

I can tell you enjoyed the Kasara Suite with its range of additional benefits. I must admit that this option is becoming more and more popular with double the internal space and expansive gorgeous balcony from which to just relax and recharge after a hard day out exploring Chiang Mai!

I will certainly discuss your comments and feedback with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels.

Once again thank you, I shall pass on your comment to our team and hope to welcome you back to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed at Anantara, chiang along with our two kids for three nights. The trip started with a mix-up as the hotel did not have details of my confirmed reservation and what should have been an express check in took 45 min. The staff was extremely apologetic about this and gave us hotel car for half day at no cost. Also, the shift manager came to apologies for this mixup when we were leaving after our stay.

There are many things about the hotel that make it special place. To list a few

1) The service is very personalized to each guest. The manager at Kasara lounge took special care of our vegetarian food requirements and made sure everyday something was prepared for us.

2) Location is superb, its on the river side with a 2 minute walk to night market and some very good restaurants.

3) Very good breakfast with many options to order from the kitchen. We also had meals at the hotel restaurant and they were very good. We ordered some Indian food and it was among the best we have had. Chef prepared a special dish for our children.

4) Architecture and lighting of the hotel is very unique and it makes it a special experience in itself. Its a combination of a hundred year old central building with modern reception and rooms. One can see guests taking pictures of the place as soon as they enter.

5) Place has a feel of a boutique hotel while it gives all the benefits of a large chain.

6) Suite room we stayed in was large and well appointed lot of use of wood all around giving it a very warm feeling.

Area of improvement

1) Coordination between the staff can be improved as sometimes the service request made to guest service was not passed on to relevant department

2) Considering the competition around, the spa at the hotel is super expensive and a more moderate pricing can help them grow business. There are many more moderately prices Spa around just walk to one and enjoy.

Over all a wonderful stay and we were highly impressed by the effort of the hotel management to make our experience unforgettable after the initial mix up.

Room Tip: Stay in the suite its worth the extra money. Hotel has a busy street one one side and river on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saurabh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Saurabh A

Thank you for your positive review of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

Needless to say we always love to make such a positive impression. I also delighted to hear that the team managed to impress on so many levels. However please accept my sincere apologize to any inconvenience you had caused and I will certainly discuss your recommendations with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,881 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Chiang Mai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing