We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay for a few days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay for a few days”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

It's a very relaxing atmosphere. The lobby has plenty of places to lounge, read, even take a nap. The bar has the feel of an old colonial building, which is pretty cool. The service there is very attentive, as it is in the restaurant downstairs. The food for all meals is decent. The rooms themselves are very nice, but I was in a large room with a balcony. Someone who has stayed at many five-star hotels will probably find it an agreeable room, and someone who's used to staying at Holiday Inns will find it amazing. The gift shop is full of nice items. It's easy to arrange transportation wherever you want to go. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyitskelster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear heyitskelster

Thank you for your nice review of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. Inspiration is a key hallmark of the Anantara brand, and we love to hear the things we are doing exceptionally well, so that we can build on the experiences we offer and make them even more amazing. It’s also crucial to know what matters to our guests the most, and we truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!


Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,896
    360
    81
    28
    19
See reviews for
464
1,268
117
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at the Anantara as part of our honeymoon. I will start with the positive...The hotel and grounds are beautiful and a little oasis amongst the busy city. We loved our kasara suite with large balcony overlooking the river. The hotel is in a great location for the night markets and we particularly liked Anusara Market with its handmade goods by local artists. The breakfast is good and food at the restaurant and room service is nice. However do not come to this hotel expecting 5 or even 4* service. We paid not far off £200 a night for our room and the service we received just did not justify it and we felt it let down the stay. On arrival at the hotel we had to wait around 40 minutes for our room to be ready even though we arrived after the check in time. We had requested a room on the top floor with a river view. We were eventually taken to the room and it was neither of these. Upon querying this we were told a mistake had been made and we could have a river view room but we would need to wait another 2 hours. We had a long day of travelling and just wanted to unpack and relax.

The Anantara used to be the Chedi Chiang Mai until late last year when there was a management take over. The staff remain the same but there seems to be great confusion amongst them about who is entitled to what. If a booking was made when the hotel was still the Chedi it would mean you were entitled to different things than if you made a more recent booking at the now Anantara.

We did not feel that the staff explained well enough what we were entitled to as part of our booking and when we queried anything this also led to great confusion partly I think due to the lack of of English spoken by any of the staff. We had booked an upgraded package which included a free mini bar to be replenished everyday. On arrival to the room the mini bar was stocked with soft drinks as well as several beers and bottles of spirits. We wanted to check that everything was complimentary so called reception. We were told that the beers and spirits were included. However the next day after housekeeping had been we discovered that these had been taken away. After another confusing call to reception and we were told these were not included. This was fine but we just wanted to know where we were. Room service said that due to the confusion they would bring us some complimentary spirits which was great. They promptly arrived and we hoped to enjoy them the following evening. However on our return to the room the following day after a busy day out we found the complimentary drinks had been taken away again!!! And so it continues...

The upgraded package in the suites entitles you to breakfast in the Kasara Lounge. On our first morning we did not know where this was as it had not been explained so we wandered around the restaurant. We asked and were told that we could go upstairs and have breakfast in the lounge if we wanted to but the choice wasn't as good as the main restaurant. Surely this should not be the case? From then on we just ate in the normal restaurant. The upgraded package also entitled us to free cocktails and canapés in the lounge every evening between 6-8pm. We had since discovered that the normal Kasara lounge had a month long private function and therefore could not been used by guests. Instead we were directed to a seated area above the restaurant which was nothing special. Cocktail and wine choice were fairly good but the lounge was completely dead with no music, people or atmosphere. It did not encourage you to want to stay after more than one or two drinks. Maybe that was the point! We found this a common theme throughout our stay. There was no music or entertainment whatsoever at the hotel in the evenings unless somebody had paid extra for a private dining meal and you could catch a glimpse of the Thai dancing provided for them for maybe 30 minutes. The hotel and restaurant were completely dead in the evenings. If you ate in the restaurant chances are you would be the only ones there. We felt the hotel completely lacked any ambiance in the evening. Maybe by providing some music or entertainment for guests it would have given them a reason to stick around. The seating in the lobby area is beautiful and we would love to have enjoyed some drinks whilst relaxing there but even though there were menus on the table this did not seem to be an option and we left after 30 minutes as there was nobody about to take our order.

The Anantara was lovely but I wouldn't stay there again. The level of service just doesn't justify the prices. We stayed in the Shangri-La in Bangkok and the service was out of this world so would maybe give that a go in Chiang Mai. Definitely do not take the upgraded package for drinks. You will not get your money's worth out of it. It would be cheaper to just pay for the cocktails as and when you want them at the bar. With the atmosphere in the evenings though you will probably want to go elsewhere anyway.

Overall staff were pleasant but did not go out of their way for anything. It was an extremely average service and not what you would expect at all from a hotel of this calibre. Mistakes were made with currency exchange and at the end of our stay there was no offer of help to bring our bags from our room on the long walk back to reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Bethlm

Thank you for your constructive feedback during your recent stay with us

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, and we value all feedback so that we can continuously improve our services to meet and exceed the needs of our valued guests.

With regards to your recent experience with us, I have personally investigated the matters thoroughly with the team. Please rest assured that the misunderstanding and lack of communication will be immediately noted the discrepancy, and make any changes necessary to improve our service and product offering.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your constructive feedback and looking forward to welcome you back to Anantara Chiang Mai in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We spent 3 relaxing days in a suite at the anantara. We were amazed by the friendliness and attention to detail displayed by all of the staff. They were very unobtrusive but extremely helpful. The hotel rooms and facilities are amazing - very minimalistic & peaceful. The suite was extremely spacious & well designed. The good design of the hotel is very evident. It is also well located for relaxation and to the old town. The staff helped us plan our visit to chiang mai and it was cost effective to hire the hotel car & driver for a day to explore.
We had dinner in the restaurant on two evenings, there is only one restaurant with a limited menu but the location, food and service were all great.
We stayed at the hotel over a busy long weekend but we still felt very special and will definately find a reason to return. A stunning hotel!

Room Tip: I am positive that all rooms would be spacious & comfortable but if there is a reasonable offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MardiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear MardiAustralia

Thank you for your excellent review of your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai

It sounds like you had wonderful stay while here in Chiang Mai. I would agree that our location beside the Ping River is a perfect base from which to explore the best that Chiang Mai has to offer.
I am delighted to know that the team managed to impress on so many levels. And yes, there is no doubt our dining experiences at the resort are certainly an experience not to miss while in Chiang Mai.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!


Yours sincerly,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at the Anantara in June while on our honeymoon. It was surprisingly small (fewer total rooms) compared to some of the bigger hotels out there, but that was just fine with us. We got to recognize the staff and it was nice to see familiar faces all the time. The entire staff was super friendly. The proximity of the hotel was close to everything. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Phillip O

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review about your recent experience with us.

Always good to share the various views and I am so happy that you had a great experience overall.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just spent 3 nights in Chiang Mai at this hotel which has a great location. It is on the river and walking distance to the Night Market.

The rooms are very nice but the wildlife is noisy! In the middle of the night you hear all sorts of animals making noise and when one starts (frogs) they all go. The rooms have all the comforts one desires. Breakfast is served in the restaurant by the river. Food is ok and service needs help. I am not happy if I have to keep asking for more coffee in the mornings. The staff never once asked if I would like another cup seeing that mine was empty! That said, I would stay here again because it is a nice hotel and very well situated.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms give you a nice view of the grounds - highest floor in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Reumann

Thank you for your constructive feedback of your recent stay at Ananatara Chiang Mai.

I would agree that our location beside the Ping River is a perfect base from which to explore the best that Chiang Mai has to offer. However please accept my sincere apologize for any inconvenience you had caused.

Most notably our resort’s prime city location and scenic riverside setting mean the presence of city traffic and wildlife, such as our resident frogs. To minimise noise disturbance, all of our guestrooms are designed with teak wood doors to help soundproof the bedroom interior, and we also provide ear plugs so that guests can enjoy a good night’s sleep. We appreciate our guests understanding that our enviable location is also subject to tropical wildlife and the heart of urban life, and will be reassessing ways to improve comfort levels even further in the future and please rest assured that we will investigate your comments and make any changes necessary to improve our service and product offering, so that guests can look forward to journeys of luxurious discovery, in every aspect of their stay.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Fantastic couldn't say anything negative about it. The staff were extremely friendly and the food was amazing. The elephant was one of the best experiences I have ever had (a little bit scary for the first time). All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliversReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear OliversReviews

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent experience with us.

It sounds like you had wonderful stay while here in Chiang Mai. Needless to say, we are incredibly proud of the team here and their capacity to continually impress and I am delighted to hear that you experienced the best that our hotel has to offer.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can.

Yours sincerly,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I am 3 nights now into a 5 night stay and I love this place. I have lived in south east Asia for nearly 8 years so I am very fussy. Was impressed with the reviews and I liked the style of the hotel so thought I would give it a go. Rooms are spacious, bed is comfortable and the service and food has been great. There is really nothing to dislike, particularly if you want a quiet hotel when you can rest and let the world go by. Best touches- water and cold towels by the pool, ice bucket full in bedroom, service not over the top but sincere.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor so u can get a better view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear M R

Thank you for your nice review of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai

It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. Inspiration is a key hallmark of the Anantara brand, and we love to hear the things we are doing exceptionally well, so that we can build on the experiences we offer and make them even more amazing. It’s also crucial to know what matters to our guests the most, and we truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,001 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 383 in Chiang Mai
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,980 reviews
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing