We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I've ever enjoyed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels I've ever enjoyed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is truly a five-star hotel for a reason. Our experience was superb. The only issues we had were mosquitos in our room. Perfectly normal when dining outside or laying by the pool, but indoors is really frustrating. The gym is wonderful, by the way, which is often not the case when traveling internationally. Service is excellent and very accommodating. They never kept us waiting and always treated us like VIP guests.

Room Tip: Upgrade and get the suite. We enjoyed the added space and membership to the private club, Kasara.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Christian G

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.
It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay.

Also please accept my apologize to any inconvenience you have had caused regarding the mosquitoes, we appreciate you taking the time to highlight your concern. Whilst we hope that all of our guests enjoy the resort’s scenic riverside location, tropical environment and exotic nature, your comfort is of the utmost importance and we do everything possible to minimise disturbance from mosquitoes. We work closely with a pest control company, and the resort grounds are fumigated on a weekly basis as per their professional advice. And we truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!


Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,821
    346
    80
    26
    17
See reviews for
442
1,223
113
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We booked the hotel as it was still a Chedi hotel. Arriving in the hotel, the look is perfect. But when you look carefully you realise that the hotel has to be refurbished. Although the rooms are nice and big. The hotel is rather noisy and there a lot of mosquitos. Forget sun on your terrace. Most of the best rooms are facing the river and don’t get a lot of sun. Privacy is also not available on your terrace. The hammam and sauna are not included (only when you book a massage). The service is good but fruit in the room is every day the same, taking half a glass of champagne to the room was not allowed, ... The restaurant is nice and breakfast excellent. It is a good hotel but we expected a little bit more of a Chedi, now Anantara.

Room Tip: If you want sun on your terrace ask the building facing south-east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELJMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear ELJMG

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback about your experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

There is no doubt that the resort is well recognised internationally due to it's stunning architecture as well as it's personalised service. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. However please accept my apologize regarding to the noise disturbance and mosquitoes as our resort’s prime city location and scenic riverside setting perhaps I would suggest to never hesitate to raise such issues in future with the team while you are staying with us. I have no doubt we would have done everything possible to potentially rectify the situation either by allocating another room to at least provide some option. We are always here to do our best to assist. I will certainly discuss your feedback with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels.
Once again thank you for the time you've taken to share your review about Anantara Chiang Mai. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel is so zen. Relaxing, beautiful and tranquil. Pool is very nice, food was excellent and the staff is wonderful. Ideal location for exploring parts of Chiang Mai by foot, especially the night market. The included breakfast was delicious and they even packed us a to go box for breakfast on our check out morning. Turn down service was a nice touch and the rooms were very nice. Go to the Patara Elephant Farm if your down for exploring!! A must

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RiniSimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear RiniSimi

Thank you for such a positive review about your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai

I am delighted to know that overall you had a wonderful experience with us. And with a compliment to the team who managed to impress on so many levels. As you correctly pointed out, we are close to all the action that the town has to offer with the Night Markets a simple stroll down the street. Our central location mentioned by so many guests here is a key feature which does lead to many deciding to base their Chiang Mai experience here.

I would definitely share your comment with the team and hope to welcome you back to Anantara Chiang Mai in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We are a family of 5 (kids 6,4 and 3) and travel frequently through Asia and I was worried about staying here with my kids… I needn't have worried. Whilst it is not set up with all the normal attractions you see in Asian resorts for young children, the serenity and luxury is something that we all enjoyed. It was so great to stay in a resort that we all loved, that was peaceful, tolerant and helpful with the kids. The restaurant and grounds were just amazing, location second to none, right on the river next to the night market with cheap and cheery thai food across the street. The staff and service was faultless. We all stayed together in a suite and the staff were helpful in helping us sort out tours, all details taken care of, nothing left to chance….

There are not many children here and lots of couples and honeymooners however if you kids are not too crazy you can manage it.

Chiang mai itself is amazing but the hotel and the staff without a doubt took to the next level. From collection at the airport to drop off the experience was heavenly…

Whilst staying here sans kids would be ideal it did not detract from our experience staying here… we will be back again and again again… My daughter and I were in tears..

Room Tip: You will need suite if you are a family all in one room but great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enochandlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Enochandlilly

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

Needless to say we always love to make such a positive impression and with a compliment to the team who managed to impress on so many levels. Also I am happy that your family enjoyed your stay with us. I often explain that the resort itself is possibly designed more with couples in mind due to the layout of the rooms, the grounds and the overall atmosphere of the resort. However we do find that many families enjoy using us as a great base from which to explore the central Chiang Mai town and surroundings due to our excellent riverside location minutes from all the action that Chiang Mai has to offer.

Thank you again for sharing such a positive feedback and we truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Hi,

Stayed here for one night on our way back to Sydney Australia.

The Hotel was previously called the "Chedi" and it looks like it changed hands to a new owner in the last six months since we were last in Chiang Mai.

The staff were excellent with the exception of a security guard in the basement who thought the only way to access the Hotel was via the driveway back up to the Portico. The pool area staff were second to none at any Hotel we've stayed at previously.

The room itself was well appointed and the only thing lacking was the cleanliness of the toilet and shower areas. It had a balcony with a day bed overlooking the internal courtyard.

The breakfast area near the river and the breakfast itself was excellent. The spa facilities we considered overpriced and did not use it during our stay.

The only real downside (and it wasn't that bad) was the hotel in parts is looking well worn and in need of a refurbishment. It remains to be seen whether the new owners will undertake the work, however it appears they are attempting to sell the apartments for investors and time share which from previous experience does not work for guests who stay in the future at a Hotel that undertakes this type of change.

The only other issue was the failure of staff to maintain the peaceful ambiance of the hotel on the morning we left. One family had three children staying on the ground floor and they used the courtyard as basically a school playground for a couple of hours. The apartments wrap around the courtyard increasing the noise.

The location was excellent, being about 20 minutes from the Airport, five minutes (walk) to Pantip Plaza (computers/cameras) and the night markets, and five minutes by Tuk Tuk to Thapee Gate tourist area.

Room Tip: If you have kids take a ground floor room as they can access the courtyard from the room. We were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scamfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Scamfinder

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai and I am delighted to hear that you rank us so highly. There is no doubt that the resort is well recognised internationally due to it's stunning architecture as well as it's personalised service. I would agree that our location beside the Ping River creates a very relaxed and elegant resort atmosphere while being only steps away from the markets and buzz of the town of Chiang Mai. I will certainly discuss your suggestions with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels. As such, I feel it was indeed a tad unfortunate that you were disturbed on this occasion as we generally do not have too many families at one time. I certainly apologise for any issue this caused at the time. That being said, I do thank you again for sharing your feedback and we will always look at ways for how to provide an even better experience for all our guests in the future. We certainly do hope to welcome you back to Anantara Chiang Mai in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in early March and chose the hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. It lived up to all our expectations.

The entrance to the hotel is somewhat underwhelming, but once inside you soon realise that this is somewhere very special. There is an almost Zen-like calm to the place and this has an immediate effect. We had a Club Suite, and even though we have stayed in many 5* hotels around the world, this tops them all. The huge balcony, with day bed and separate table and chairs overlooked a shallow, candle-lit (at night) pool and the old English Consulate building, and in the evenings we were able to sit out and enjoy the sophisticated live/local entertainment and dancing from our balcony. Our mini-bar was totally free and included decanters of (extremely good quality) gin, scotch and vodka. In addition, we had use of the Club Lounge with free drinks and quality canapes, before venturing out to the nearby street markets and restaurants.

Our suite was huge, sumptuous, and contained every possible facility we could ever hope to use. You name it, it was there. King size bed changed daily, indoors and outdoors day beds, large flat screen TV, iPod connector, free wifi, ample storage space and wardrobes, tables and chairs inside and on the balcony, high-end coffee machine, free mini-bar including spirits, large, open-plan bathroom area with free-standing bath and so it goes on...... The public areas of the hotel are large, airy, spotlessly clean and understated in their design. All extremely classy. The pool is large and there are plenty of sunbeds around the place, and we never had to fight for them as most guests seem to be staying on organised tours and don't seem to spend much time at the hotel - their loss! Iced water and cold flannels were dispensed at welcome and regular intervals.

We only ate at the hotel for breakfast and if I have any criticism of the place, it would have to be about the breakfast. The bias is definitely towards the East which is not surprising, but for those of us foodies who enjoy international cuisine but prefer a Western breakfast, it was a little disappointing. Not for the first time, the fruit juice (particularly the orange juice) appeared to be processed instead of fresh, and the selection of food was not as extensive as we have experienced in other 5* hotels.

Service in all areas was second to none and truly excellent. Good staff go a long way to making a hotel's reputation and the Anantara has no worries on this front. Everyone we encountered made us feel welcome and special guests and we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone and will, if we are in the area, definitely stay there again. Not cheap, but worth every single penny. Thank you to all who made our stay in Chiang Mai so memorable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whizzkid50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear whizzkid50

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback about your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai.
I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the Kasara Suite with its range of additional benefits. I must admit that this option is becoming more and more popular with double the internal space and expansive gorgeous balcony from which to just relax and recharge. I would certainly discuss your feedback regarding the breakfast items to our management team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels. We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Anantara Chiang Mai. The staff, amenities, food, service, and location were all very good. We chose this property for the location and that was a real bonus as we were able to walk to pretty much everything in/around the city. If you like something a little more upscale in a great location then Anantara would be a wise decision.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dutchhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Dutchhouse

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai.
Such a positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. I would agree that our location beside the Ping River creates a very relaxed and elegant resort atmosphere while being only steps away from the markets and buzz of the town of Chiang Mai. And while I also agree that we are the perfect location for a relaxing escape. Once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang Mai soon.

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 376 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Chiang Mai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing