We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without a doubt, the best hotel we have ever stayed in, anywhere in the world (so far!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Without a doubt, the best hotel we have ever stayed in, anywhere in the world (so far!)”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in early March and chose the hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. It lived up to all our expectations.

The entrance to the hotel is somewhat underwhelming, but once inside you soon realise that this is somewhere very special. There is an almost Zen-like calm to the place and this has an immediate effect. We had a Club Suite, and even though we have stayed in many 5* hotels around the world, this tops them all. The huge balcony, with day bed and separate table and chairs overlooked a shallow, candle-lit (at night) pool and the old English Consulate building, and in the evenings we were able to sit out and enjoy the sophisticated live/local entertainment and dancing from our balcony. Our mini-bar was totally free and included decanters of (extremely good quality) gin, scotch and vodka. In addition, we had use of the Club Lounge with free drinks and quality canapes, before venturing out to the nearby street markets and restaurants.

Our suite was huge, sumptuous, and contained every possible facility we could ever hope to use. You name it, it was there. King size bed changed daily, indoors and outdoors day beds, large flat screen TV, iPod connector, free wifi, ample storage space and wardrobes, tables and chairs inside and on the balcony, high-end coffee machine, free mini-bar including spirits, large, open-plan bathroom area with free-standing bath and so it goes on...... The public areas of the hotel are large, airy, spotlessly clean and understated in their design. All extremely classy. The pool is large and there are plenty of sunbeds around the place, and we never had to fight for them as most guests seem to be staying on organised tours and don't seem to spend much time at the hotel - their loss! Iced water and cold flannels were dispensed at welcome and regular intervals.

We only ate at the hotel for breakfast and if I have any criticism of the place, it would have to be about the breakfast. The bias is definitely towards the East which is not surprising, but for those of us foodies who enjoy international cuisine but prefer a Western breakfast, it was a little disappointing. Not for the first time, the fruit juice (particularly the orange juice) appeared to be processed instead of fresh, and the selection of food was not as extensive as we have experienced in other 5* hotels.

Service in all areas was second to none and truly excellent. Good staff go a long way to making a hotel's reputation and the Anantara has no worries on this front. Everyone we encountered made us feel welcome and special guests and we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone and will, if we are in the area, definitely stay there again. Not cheap, but worth every single penny. Thank you to all who made our stay in Chiang Mai so memorable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whizzkid50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear whizzkid50

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback about your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai.
I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the Kasara Suite with its range of additional benefits. I must admit that this option is becoming more and more popular with double the internal space and expansive gorgeous balcony from which to just relax and recharge. I would certainly discuss your feedback regarding the breakfast items to our management team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels. We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,898
    360
    81
    28
    19
See reviews for
465
1,269
117
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Anantara Chiang Mai. The staff, amenities, food, service, and location were all very good. We chose this property for the location and that was a real bonus as we were able to walk to pretty much everything in/around the city. If you like something a little more upscale in a great location then Anantara would be a wise decision.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dutchhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Dutchhouse

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai.
Such a positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. I would agree that our location beside the Ping River creates a very relaxed and elegant resort atmosphere while being only steps away from the markets and buzz of the town of Chiang Mai. And while I also agree that we are the perfect location for a relaxing escape. Once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang Mai soon.

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights,1 more than we planed because of disruption in Bangkok, we wished we could of stayed longer. Everything was perfect for us from the day we arrived - we were greeted by friendly staff and the manager, shown to the room and how everything functioned and times when places opened and shut. The rooms were bigger than they looked on the website and they were clean and comfortable and everything worked perfectly. We stayed in the river view room. The staff always patient with answering questions and never looked as they had something or somewhere else to be. Everyone from cleaners to gardeners always greeted us and smiled like thailand of old. All facilities like the pool, change rooms, gym and restaurant were clean and very well looked after. Breakfast had a good choice of eats to keep most people satisfied. The restaurant at night had a great menu and the meals were very good along with the service. One thing they could improve is tohave a larger lunch menu not just having the same things that are offered on the dinner menu.
If you want great service, comfortable accomadation in perfect location this is the place to stay.
well done to Reza and the staff.

Room Tip: You can do all your shopping in chiang mai at the night market 2 min walk from hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larryduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear larryduc

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai.
It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us and we always love to make such a positive impression. I will certainly discuss your recommendations regarding lunch menu with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels. We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have travelled Asia and the Middle east quite extensively and this has to rate as the best Hotel we have stayed in. It ticks all the boxes. Great staff, nothing too much trouble and a constant smile. We had a Club suite and it was stunning, the use of the Club lounge, with drinks and canapés early evening was a perfect. The pool was really nice and right by the river, ample loungers, and instant iced water and towels. The position of the hotel is perfect, very near to the night market, and Sunday market. we saw the main sites and used a tuk tuk for the old city temples and a Taxi out to Wat Prah, which is a must. We had a great time in Chiang Mai and would highly recommend it as a place to visit. Now for a couple of quick issues, my only small niggle at the Anantara was the breakfast, the setting was stunning and all of the food was very good, but considering this is an International 5 star, the Western element of the breakfast was quite poor, the crispy bacon was nearly always overdone and had been hanging a round for too long, no sauté potatoes , no beans, just a small niggle and it certainly did not mar our stay. Now for the TopTip.. Lots of Mossies, we had a spray in our room, and really dosed the room as soon as we got there with the air con off, then left it for an hour or so, that seemed to get most of them , but we also had 2 electric Mossie killers on every evening whilst we went out , again with the air con off. Do use a good dose of deet when you are out in the evening, and again early morning or if you are going to the airport.

Room Tip: Do try and go for a Club suite , its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Mike F

Thank you for taking the time to share thoughts about your recent experience with us. It sounds like you had wonderful stay while here in Chiang Mai. Needless to say we always love to make such a positive impression and I would agree that our location beside the Ping River is a perfect base from which to explore the best that Chiang Mai has to offer. I will certainly discuss your feedback regarding our breakfast items with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels.
Please accept my apologize regarding the mosquitoes and we appreciate you taking the time to highlight your concern. Currently we work closely with a pest control company, and the resort grounds are fumigated on a weekly basis as per their professional advice. In addition we provide mosquito spray in every guestroom and mosquito repellent at all of our restaurants, bars and public spaces for guests’ convenience. Please rest assured that we will continue to monitor this matter closely and constantly strive to use best practices so that our guests enjoy a comfortable stay. Hope to welcoming you back to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Anantara was a beautiful place to stay in Chiang Mai. It provided a peaceful escape from the bustle of the city outside and the hotel was really well designed with a lot of attention to detail. We enjoyed relaxing in the pool area looking out across the river and admiring the fish in the pond around the pool. By night the resort was exquisite with live music, candles everywhere and a lovely restaurant by the river. The rooms were very comfortable and modern and it was great to be able to sit out on the balcony and look out over the gardens. There were mosquitoes but they did not pose a big problem if repellent was used and we took care to close the door to our room once we were inside. The location is ideal with a short stroll to local restaurants and the night bazaar. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJF1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear KJF1974

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai.
There is no doubt that the resort is well recognised internationally due to it's stunning architecture as well as it's personalised service. It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us, such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us and I would agree that our location beside the Ping River is a perfect base from which to explore the best that Chiang Mai has to offer. However please accept my apologize in any convenience you had caused regarding the mosquitoes as your comfort is of the utmost importance and we do everything possible to minimise disturbance from mosquitoes. We work closely with a pest control company, and the resort grounds are fumigated on a weekly basis as per their professional advice. Thank you again for sharing such wonderful comments and we certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Beautiful, peaceful hotel that welcomes you the minute you step out of the taxi. The rooms were lovely and had all the modern amenities we needed. The pool was beautiful with a koi pond right next to it. Both it and restaurant overlooked the river. The best part was this tranquil oasis was minutes away from the bustling night markets, restaurants and attractions of Chiangmai. Everything was within walking distance or a cheap tuk tuk ride away. We absolutely loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efbruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear efbruno

Thank you for sharing such a positive feedback of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai. It sounds like you had wonderful stay while here in Chiang Mai. There is no doubt that the resort is well recognised internationally due to it's stunning architecture as well as it's personalised service. Needless to say, we are incredibly proud of the team here and their capacity to continually impress. I would agree that our location beside the Ping River is a perfect base from which to explore the best that Chiang Mai has to offer. We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Pros:
1. The hotel itself is beautiful with combination of modern touch of architecture and yet maintain an element of traditional Lanna-style.

2. Room is cozy and clean.

3. Breakfast is superb with lot of varieties, from Asian to Western.

4. Swimming pool area is gorgeous and shouldn't be missed by sun-lovers.

5. Location is good, about 5 mins walk to Chang Klang night bazaar.

6. Hotel staff are friendly and informative.

Cons:
1. A lot mosquitoes (may be due to hot season in Chiang Mai now). But, the hotel management has put their efforts to solve this matter by providing mosquito coins, spray, repellent to their guests. Thanks to the hotel management.

2. Single bed for twin room is small. Most of the twin room in 5 stars hotel provides either super single size bed or double size bed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ykai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear ykai

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent experience stay at Anantara Chiang Mai.
We always love to make such a positive impression and will certainly discuss your suggestion regarding the bed in twin bed room with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels.
I do thank you again for sharing your feedback and we will always look at ways for how to provide an even better experience for all our guests in the future. We certainly do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,001 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 383 in Chiang Mai
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing