We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Elegance on the River”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 387 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We recently visited the Anantara Chiang Mai hotel (formerly The Chedi). What a stunning hotel. Picture perfect from top to bottom. We were there for the Loy Krathong festival which was so much fun. The hotel put on a beautiful party that we loved – Thank you Anantara for a beautiful night!

Now – about the hotel….
Upon arrival you are greeted by the GM, Nick. Nick is definitely a hands-on manager. Very genuine and kind. He is always checking on how you are doing. For the Loy Krathong festival dinner, my husband was surprised how full the hotel was and was concerned about us getting a good table for the party. Nick was very busy planning but stopped everything to find the man in charge of table designations to assure us that we had a front row seat.

Our room (307) was GORGEOUS. We were one level above the club level with club privileges. For our honeymoon we were greeted with champagne, roses and fresh fruit in the room with a personal note – a nice touch. The room had a big outdoor deck for lounging and stargazing (or watching 10,000 wish lanterns pass overhead!), a beautiful soaking tub, an extremely comfortable bed and a great lounge area and closet. The button to raise and lower the shades right on the nightstand was a personal favorite. We may be installing a similar feature in our new house! My only advice for the hotel would be that the lighting in the room is quite a bit dim… not great for doing your makeup or even just finding things in the room at night. Also the shower/toilet situation lacks a bit of privacy. There is just clear glass between the shower and the toilet so you’d rather not go the bathroom while someone is in the shower.

The club lounge is really beautiful but we didn’t really use it. Our package had complimentary mini bar refills which really went a long way with my husband ☺ It’s the little things. Lunch at the poolside restaurant was probably the best meal we had in Thailand… If you like Khao Soi, you must try theirs… They have a great garden salad too which is hard to come by in Thailand. There aren’t that many pool chairs so if you feel the hotel is busy, make sure to get a chair early. The hotel hosts a high tea in the afternoon that is really special in the lounge areas by the front desk. The finest teas with finger sandwiches and my favorite - scones, fresh cream and jam. Our stay included breakfast which was really delicious. They have an omelet station that makes a great eggs benedict – just saying! If you don’t see fresh passion fruit out with the fruit, ask! They have it hiding in the refrigerator. We didn’t visit the spa but it looked really nice.

While in Chiang Mai we visited the tourist trap Tiger Kingdom about 30min away and my skeptical husband now believes they perhaps do NOT drug the tigers (at least not all, and not that much. Maybe the big ones a bit but they were jumping around and obviously well taken care of). We ate at The Whole Earth, a nice but kind of pricey restaurant just outside the hotel. Ok food… not great. We also ate at two restaurants on the other side of the river – Deck1 and a little further down the iconic Gallery Restaurant. Both were just ok as well. The hotel is in a great location right on the river, and walkable to the fabulous night market and the old square.

We also made a trip with our guide from Exotissimo to Sam Kam Pang – the home industries district. We bought a bunch of silk that was 1/3 the price as Jim Thompson house and went to a Teak factory that had some gorgeous furniture and outdoor dining sets for very reasonable prices (including shipping!).

All in all we highly recommend the Anantara Chiang Mai. ESPECIALLY during Loy Krathong.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Niki B,

Thank you for contributing such a wonderful review of your recent experience with us during the Loy Krathong festival. It was certainly an amazing time of year to be in Chiang Mai. The people, the lanterns covering the entire sky and the fireworks! Sights and sounds to remember for a long time.

Thank you for also posting pictures of our festivities recognising Anantara's first Chiang Mai celebration. I am delighted to know that the team managed to impress on so many levels.

And yes, there is no doubt our dining experiences at the resort are certainly an experience not to miss while in Chiang Mai. Our signature Afternoon Tea on the verandah of the Colonial House is so popular, we definitely recommend making advance reservations.

I would also agree that our Khao Soi is a "must try"!

Niki, thanks again for sharing such a wodnerful review and let's hope that we can welcome you back...perhaps for the Loy Krathong festival next year?

We will be waiting to hear from you.

Warm regards
Nick Downing
General Manager Designate
ndowning@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,421)
There are newer reviews for Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 2,421 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just before Bangkok , we were in Chiangmai for 3 nights and stayed at The Chedi Resort now known as Anantara. Its kind of funny as when we booked and checked in the hotel was still called The Chedi Resort. The next day when we returned in the afternoon after our making a tour to the King's Summer Palace, we discovered that the hotel is now called Anantara.

There were 11 of us in the family, and we took 6 of their suites. The hotel while named as a resort, is situated in the heart of town and is next to the river and the coffee house backs up near the river and is a beautiful setting for breakfast and dinner, wind blowing gently and the sound of whishing trees. The whole set up is like a resort. We at times, unconsciously feel that we are at a resort, not in a hotel in town.
This hotel is really breathtaking everything is beautifully laid out and so serene!

Wow, the suites were super big, very generous space and very clean. My suite overlooks the garden where the spa , bar and river is.

The suites came with breakfast. Anantara has a pretty unique breakfast buffet, where the normal stuff are put out at the table and one help one's self. On top of that they have a menu for the main breakfast. I must say the breakfast was good.
We spend one dinner night in …and the Executive Chef cooked up the best northern indian food that I have ever tasted. It was so delicious and most commendable.

The staff at Anantara are very friendly and very helpful too.
Whilst we have not met the new General Manager or met him before, he must be commended for actually making the effort and putting himself out, even though he was so busy ( having taken over the management a day or two before) to meet us just to introduce himself and to thank us for staying with them, as we were getting ready to leave the hotel. That is hospitality!

While there is nothing much to do in Chiangmai for us anyway, we had a great stay at Anantara.

Room Tip: I believe most of the rooms are designed in such as way that the view is the around the garden and t...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyjaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Happyjaq,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent experience at our resort during the rebranding from The Chedi Chiang Mai to Anantara Chiang Mai earlier this month

I am particularly happy to note that apart from the change of name, your stay with us went perfectly and the rebranding had no effect on your experience with us. There is no doubt our extraordinary team was highly professional in how they handled the transition and guest happiness was certainly our number one goal.

I am delighted to hear that you experienced the best that our resort/hotel has to offer. I would agree that our location beside the Ping River creates a very relaxed and elegant resort atmosphere while being only steps away from the markets and buzz of the town of Chiang Mai.

And while I also agree that we are the perfect location for a relaxing escape, we are also the perfect base from which to launch great excursions to experience incredible temples, elephant camps, adventure activities and not to mention explore the old historic town center of Chiang Mai.

So next time please reach out to us directly and we will be more than happy to assist with any arrangements.

It was certainly my pleasure to meet you upon your departure and rest assured we look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang Mai soon....next time we will be aiming to get five stars!

Thank you again and warm wishes,
Nick Downing
General Manager Designate
ndowning@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Anantara (formerly the Chedi) is where you can enjoy Thai hospitality at its best. Loved everything about the design of the hotel, where natural air and light flows freely. The staff cannot be more accommodating and befitting of this elegant hotel. It's also a short walk to the night bazaars, and a slightly longer but pleasant walk to the flower and local market.

This beautiful property will be best enjoyed by vacationers who want a luxurious experience in the heart of Chiangmai city, yet far enough to be away from the hustle and bustle of it all. Don't plan for a hectic schedule while you're here, or you won't get to relax and enjoy this place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m4acca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear m4acca,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

Quite honestly, I dont think I could agree with your comments more so I will simply say thank you!

We certianly hope this wont be the last time we welcome you to Chiang Mai

Warm regards
Nick Downing
General Manager Designate
ndowning@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel last week, with rooms giving us access to the Club suite.

Since our room wasn't ready on arrival, we were given free afternoon tea in the restaurant - an experience in itself!! The Club Lounge staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed the evening canapes and cocktails.

Our room was spacious and the hotel seems to have thought of everything: the free mini bar was a real bonus!

I can honestly say the breakfast buffet was one of the best I've ever had - most hotels confine Club guests to the lounge but this hotel allows you to opt for breakfast in the main restaurant as well. The range of a la carte options was fabulous, with imaginative choices reflecting the hotel's location in Asia, and the buffet itself catered to every taste. The fried rice was particuarly good.

I only hope that with the move to the new management company, Anantara, standards do not slip, as this is a truly amazing hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Enchanted81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Hello Enchanted81,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

While we totally respect the past history of this iconic hotel, I can assure you that it is our aim to lift service in key areas and we have received nothing but praise since the transition earlier this month.

I must admit that the team is the key to any successful hotel and there is no doubt that the team at Anantara Chiang Mai does their best to ensure guests experience the best that Chiang Mai has to offer.

I do hope that we will see you back with us in the future.

Until then, thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards
Nick Downing
General Manager Designate
ndowning@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Formerly the Chedi. Stayed at this hotel a week after the change of management. were met by the new general manager who assured us the previous standards would be met. As he was the only change of staff that we were aware of any change would have been unusual. Basically this is small boutique style hotel on the banks of the river and is first class. As you can see from my ratings it is fives across the board with staff who could not do enough for you. If you like Thai night markets ask the desk staff for the short cut which is only 150 metres, and also take a trip on the river and to the mountain temple. don't neglect the old city with countless temples. There is only one first class restaurant but lots of small places just outsde and of course the night market

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rufusatmarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear rufusatmarton

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent Anantara Chiang Mai experience.

It was indeed a pleasure to meet you recently and I am delighted to hear that you found the hotel running business as usual following the rebranding earlier this month.

As you correctly pointed out, we are close to all the action that the town has to offer with the Night Markets a simple stroll down the street. A nice counter balance to our own dining experience on the banks of the Ping River!

And soon to come, we will be launching Anantara's signature Spice Spoons concept. Our very own version of Thai cooking school experience which is bound to be popular with all our guests.

So we hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you again and warm regards
Nick Downing
General Manager Designate
ndowning@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Just spent five nights in this most wonderful hotel. The staff could not do enough to make our stay comfortable and yet they were not obtrusive. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by the manager and his fabulous team.

Would highly recommend if you want a special treat. Very good location.

From a personal point i would have found it useful to have an iron in the room as i like to press my clothes. Also i would have liked porridge for breakfast!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucille02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Hello Lucille02,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

Needless to say we always love to make such a positive impression.

I will certainly discuss your recommendations with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels.

I know our breakfast usually receives rave reviews with everything from eggs benedict to pancakes cooked to order. Perhaps Chef will have to start reviewing his porridge recipes for the future?

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards
Nick Downing
General Manager Designate
ndowning@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

hotel was beyond words. beautiful does not even begin to describe it. the service was fantastic from the minute we walked in. rooms were amazing - we did upgrade to a suite which was totally worth it. some laundry included, breakfast and mini bar/coffee machine. room was huge and gorgeous. food at hotel was great. had breakfast buffet everyday and dinner there one night. delicious! location was great. short walk from night bazar. once we got our bearings we realized it was not a far walk anywhere or took a very inexpensive tuk tuk. would HIGHLY recommend anyone visiting to stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbandcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Hello Ibandcase,

Thank you for your stunning review of your recent experience at our beautiful property. Like many guests, it seems as though you enjoyed exploring Chiang Mai as well!

I certianly hope we have the chance to welcome you back now that we have rebranded as Anantara Chiang Mai.

Warm wishes
Nick Downing
General Manager Designate
ndowning@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 387 in Chiang Mai
2,038 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 387 in Chiang Mai
3,052 reviews
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 387 in Chiang Mai
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 387 in Chiang Mai
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $204 - $866 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing