We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing building, great service- a real gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #9 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I paid up to stay at the Chedi for 5 nights. We rarely leave a hotel and say...that was worth the money, but this place certainly was. Beautiful, clean rooms, great pool, decent gym, central location, AMAZING breakfasts and wonderful service. Plop this place next to an ocean /beach and it might just be one of our favorite places. Try the samosas if you like Indian food...

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bucky4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Buckyforlife,

Glad to read that you found our hotel a real gem. Value for money is important for everyone these days and I am glad that you found your stay worth it.

Best regards and until next time in Chiang Mai...

Andy Kunz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,150 - 1,156 of 2,479 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been there for 3 nights with mon petit copain and it was a wonderful experience!

The hotel is mega well located! In the heart of Chiang Mai and has a great staff service with everything you need/want !

The SPA / pool and hotel room are amazing! The breakfast have some really good omelette option, though they should improve the variety of juice and food on it...

The staff is super kind and you really feel well adored on this hotel!

I stayed on The Chedi - Muscat, and the one in Chiang Mai is a lot better for many reasons!

I'd definetely go back!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCK_PCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear LCK_PCK,

Thank you for sharing your experience and for being a loyal customer to our hotels.

We definitely look forward to welcome you again in Chiang Mai and in the meantime may we recommend The Nam Hai in Vietnam or The Legian in Bali for another wonderful GHM hotels experience.

Warm regards

Andy Kunz
The Chedi Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is located by the river and not far from night market. Once your enter the hotel, you are in an island of bliss.

The service levels are extremely high - we had missed our flight and arrived late so we had called up and they prepared the dinner and kept it warm even though the kitchen had closed.

The breakfast next to the river has good service and good food selection.
The suite included complementary laundry and minibar, and though at night you did sometimes hear the bikers driving past on the main road, it was not significant.

An amazing property as all previous reviewers have already commented.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SayanRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

One word response - Awesome

Dear SayanRoy,

Thank you so much for your review and please come and see us soon again!

Andy Kunz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our expectations for The Chedi Chiang Mai were high, but The Chedi succeeded in exceeding them. It was everything we anticipated and even more - you truly get what you pay for.

Arrival - We had booked The Chedi Club Suite (which is by the way highly recommendable, but more of that later) which includes private round-trip airport transfers. On arrival we were greeted by one of The Chedi's butlers and whisked off to the hotel, where the check-in was completed at the club lounge. Right from the arrival we were highly impressed with Tje Chedi. Although we have stayed at many high-end five star hotels, the atmosphere and the personnel at The Chedi were incomparable.

Location - The Chedi is located along the Mae Ping, just a stone's throw from the night market. The old town can also be reached by foot, but a better and less sweaty option is to take a tuk-tuk. During our stay Chiang Mai was shrouded in smog caused by slash and burn farming, but as we don't suffer from respiratory conditions, it wasn't a problem for us. However, I would advice people suffering from e.g. asthma to stay away from Chiang Mai during the Thai summer.

Rooms - There are 52 deluxe rooms and 32 club suites at The Chedi. Although the club suites are somewhat more expensive, they are worth every penny. Our suite was located at the top floor and had wonderful views to The Restaurant and the Mae Ping. The views are not as good from the lower floors, so we would recommend requesting a top floor room. The suites are very spacious and stylish with dark wood and floor to ceiling windows. In the middle of the room there's a TV and a Bose sound system. On the balcony there is a huge daybed which makes it a perfect place to enjoy a drink or two in the evening. The club suites have also a complimentary minibar which is restocked daily. There is a wide selection of soft drinks, some snacks and beers and additionally hard liquors like gin, whisky and vodka.

Service - What makes The Chedi so special is the personnel who will anticipate all your needs even before you will be aware of them yourself. The service is top-notch and the employees manage to be always at your service without being intrusive or disturbing.

Club - The club lounge offers breakfast, all-day refreshments and cocktails and canapes in the evening. We visited the club lounge only during the evenings and would highly recommend it to everyone. There is no buffet, but the canapes are brought straight to your table. They are excellent as is the wide variety of cocktails. There are also books, magazines and laptops for the guests to use. No children are allowed at the lounge during the cocktail hour and the atmosphere is tranquil.

The Restaurant - Although breakfast is offered also at the club lounge, we ate every morning at The Restaurant where you may enjoy the beautiful river view. In addition to the buffet breakfast (bread, miso soup, pastries, fruits, a selection of fres juices etc.) there is a wonderful à la carte breakfast including everything from fried rice to french toast. Unlike at many other hotels, you may order as many dishes from the list as you want and they are as tasty as they are beautiful.

Premises - Architecturally and scenic-wise The Chedi Chiang Mai may very well be the most fabulous hotel we have ever been in. The old British consulate building is the centerpiece of the area. The scenic Mae Ping offers the perfect surroundings for the hotel. The pool is wonderful but if you prefer suntanning in more tranquil surroundings, there are also sunbeds on the roof of the spa building. By the pool you are provided with ice water and a refreshing face spray.

Summary - Stay at the club suite and you won't be disappointed. (Or if you will be, then you shouldn't blame the hotel...)

Room Tip: Club suites are worth the extra penny. Request a high floor for river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HraPormestari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Lovely reading your communication as the General manger of The Chedi Chiang Mai. On behalf of all our personnel we thank you for finding us incomparable. We always do our best to make all our guests feel special and exceed their expectations and are humbled by this recognition. Come back and visit us soon.

Warm regards,

Andy Kunz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

There is a reason why The Chedi gets good reviews. From check-in to check-out, The Chedi is just wonderful.
Upon arriving at The Chedi, you are immediately greeted by the bell staff, they will take care of your luggage and direct you to the lobby where there are numerous large and very comfortable sofas. We were presented with some iced tea and some cold towels to help cool off. The front desk staff will come over with paper work required to complete and then escort you to your room.
The rooms are very nicely appointed and excellently maintained. There is a large divider that separates the bathroom from the main room and when it opens up it makes the room appear that much larger. There are all the standard hotel room features, ie: safe, mini-bar, coffee machine, kettle for tea, etc.
The room also has a large balcony with a chair table and 2 large lounge chairs that are wonderful for just hanging out and relaxing. The railing to the balcony is a solid sheet of glass so you get unobstructed views, and adding the the large feel of the room... it's also a bit deceiving as it feels like there is nothing there to stop you. I think my only complain on the room is that we had a king bed, or what they called a king bed, it was actually 2 twin beds pushed together, and each twin was made up as a twin bed. However this was hardly something to complain about unless you are a diagonal sleeper.

We didn't use the restaurant or spa so I can't comment on those. My only comment on the spa was that the services offered were about 3-4 times as much as you would pay if you went out less than a block outside the hotel.

The pool is rectangular with a pond that somewhat wraps around the outside of it. The pond has some koi and it's very peaceful to just watch. The staff that work the pool are very prompt to help you find a lounge chair and to get it set up for you. Then they come by and off up some iced water and a facial mist spray. The glasses of iced water were always promptly refilled. Some restaurants could learn a lesson from the Chedi pool staff.

One of the more striking features of the Chedi is the architecture, the hotel has some very cool architectural features, such as the reflective pools with floating candles, the sunken sofas and lounge areas in the enormous lobby, and the use of indirect lighting, especially noticeable at night.

The Chedi is also in a prime location if you want to visit the night market (approx 1/2 block away). There are also plenty of restaurants and massage shops that are all within a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Overall the Chedi is a wonderful hotel and if I go back to Chiang Mai, I'll stay at the Chedi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Randy S,

We are delighted to read that you found The Chedi Chiang Mai wonderful and that you make it your hotel of choice in Chiang Mai. Thank you for the detailed review and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for five nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The location is lovely, beside the Ping river. Despite being so close to town, the atmosphere is peaceful and quiet. Even though the hotel was full we didn't really notice it. The staff are lovely, remembering our names and always greeting us. We were in a deluxe room, ie not a suite, and it was very pleasant. The design throughout the hotel is understated and elegant, very much to our taste. We ate breakfast by the river, and also had one dinner in the hotel. All the food was beautifully prepared and very tasty. The head chef is Indian, so I recommend the Indian dinner choices - superb. I should say that the staff's responsiveness to our request for a vey firm mattress was great - it was no problem at all and we slept brilliantly after the change. Overall a lovely stay and we'll definitely be back.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tr4vellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Achieving excellence is our daily quest and it is always with great pleasure that we read the feedback from our guests. The entire staff at The Chedi Chiang Mai joins me to thank you for staying with us and we certainly look forward to welcome you again in the Land of Smiles.

Andy Kunz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed in The Chedi as part of a trip, organised for us from UK, including Bangkok, Chang Mai and Phuket so we didn't really know what to expect when we arrived. The Chedi is real luxury, but not pompous or stuffy, in the way some hotels can be. Fantastic location for the city, beautiful rooms and welcoming staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. We were staying in a luxury room which had a open veranda which was vey nice.
Our only complaint would be that there was a water feature in front of the veranda ( the side of the spa) It looks very stylish but it was inhabited by frogs and insects. The frogs were active at night so the noise did wake us several times and if you are bothered by insects, ask for a top floor room. There was a mosquito plug-in and a spray in the room but every time we opened the door from the lobby area, a few flew in. I realise this is likely to be a problem near a river but I don't think the water feature helped. The hotel will also supply mosquito nets if requested. Despite this we had a wonderful stay and would be happy to recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor if you're bothered by Mosquitos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markie_parkie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear markie_parkie38,

We are delighted to read that you found The Chedi Chiang Mai real luxury, the location fantastic, the room beautiful and the staff welcoming. I noted your comments regarding the frogs, there are lots of them in the river and we are sorry that they woke you up. Thank you for highlighting that we have mosquito nets available on requests as well as mosquito plug-in and spray in all rooms. We also spray the entire property at least twice a week.

Let us know if your friends would like to come and visit us and we will make sure they also have a wonderful stay.

Regards,

Andy Kunz
The Chedi Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#21 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,074 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 392 in Chiang Mai
545 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $262 - $1,001 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing