We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #11 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Thought I had arrived in a palace when I walked through the front doors of The Chedi. Very beautiful to the eye and well planned. Will happily give five stars for the service, the room, the pool, and breakfast. Suberb, brilliant, attention to detail, look forward to going back soon. Spa also delightful if you feel like receiving a luxury treatment after walking around the markets. Impeccable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perri_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to learn that you place The Chedi Chiang Mai among the best . The recognition of our guest is the best honor we could receive and we are very grateful for your compliments.

Regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,843
    350
    80
    27
    18
See reviews for
449
1,240
113
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Chedi Chiang Mai was the most pleasant and beautiful hotel experience we've ever had. From the moment you arrive to the time you leave they treat you like a personal house guest. Their service throughout the few days we stayed with them was over the top and all of their staff members are incredibly nice. Their food and beverages were some of the best that we had in all of Thailand and especially well done for a hotel. Their spa was impressive as well, we wound up having two massages while we we're there because they were so amazing. Overall this is a beautiful, well maintained property and a truly special place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisi5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear sisi5555,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your recent stay at The Chedi Chiang Mai.
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and we are delighted to read that you appreciated every moment of it.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon in our special place.

Kindest Regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Chedi same time 3 years ago (end of Feb/Mar) and it was wonderful to see it hadn't changed.
This time we travelled with friends and they too were very impressed. We requested if they could have the room next to us and they did. Rooms 407,406.
It was also great to see some familiar faces within the staff from the last time we visited. And they even remembered us.
From the airport pick up, to the lovely greeting in the club room, even by the new general manager, it made our arrival so pleasant.
The pool, spa, restaurant (so lovely to sit by the river for breakfast/dinner), bar, immaculate gardens, everything about The Chedi is worth mentioning about.
The privileges of a club room is beyond anything that we have ever come across in any other hotel we have stayed in (just need better lighting in the bathroom for us ladies to put our makeup on). Complimentary mini bar and 7 pieces of laundry per day is an added pleasure.
The staff are exceptionally outstanding. Dow, Thanya, Pine, Jane, Sunshine, White, only to mention a few, who looked after us so well.
We will be returning in the not to distant future.
Thank you Andy and your staff for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Club rooms on the 4th floor as they are higher from the road traffic. Rooms 405-7 have lovely a lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Jobandben,

So glad to hear that you had once again a wonderful holiday at The Chedi Chiang Mai.
Your feedback is very much appreciated. I have shared your most kind comments with Dow, Thanya, Pine, Jane, Sunshine, white as well as all the rest of the team, as there is no better motivation than praise for a job well done. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a great stay in February 2013 as part of a tour of the far east. Superb location on the river but also right in the centre and close to the night bazaar. The suite was very spacious with day beds both in the room and on the generous balcony. Great choice for breakfast. Dinner superb but pricy when compared with the restaurants in the city. Staff could not have been more helpful - in fact nothing was too much trouble for them - just a little formal. Lovely pool.

Room Tip: suite 223 is the best room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DalesYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Chedi Chiang Mai and come back soon!

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days in March. We stayed in Chedi hotels around the world before and like the quality and zen like approach of this brand. The Chedi Chiang Mai was probably slightly inferior to the other Chedi hotels we visited and while our stay was very nice and mostly zen there were a couple points that could have been made our stay more enjoyable.

On the positive side, great location on a bank of a river and close to the historical center of Chiang Mai. The rooms were nice. Quality of food is excellent and service outstanding. Everyone of the staff went out of their way to be friendly, helpful and met our every need as would be expected from The Chedi hotel. The unusually large swimming pool was very handy during the hot day and for swimming long laps. The positive aspects overcame any minor negative points below.

The negative points are very minor, but still somewhat noticeable, as we generally expect perfection from The Chedi. The overall territory on which the hotel is located is a bit compact - many other Chedi hotels have more plush acreage. The river is brown, so not especially scenic. There were a lot of mosquitoes, even in the rooms which do not have netting, so we had to spray our selves all the time.

Generally we had a great stay, highly recommend this hotel and would come back there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenvindman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Levindman,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

Our goal is to anticipate and exceed our guests' expectations; it is through your constructive feedback that we are able to constantly strive to improve our products and facilities.

We area glad that you had a great stay despite some minor issues and thank your recommendations.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Chedi Chiang Mai or any other GHM hotels.

Warm regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recently on the advice on one who knows I took my wife to HIGH TEA at The Chedi in Chiang Mai. Now The Chedi is a relatively new hotel but the core building for the restaurant was the British Consuls residence of times gone by. The atmosphere and ambience were fabulous. We also took the opportunity to view as much of the grounds as possible.

The HIGH TEA was as one would expect a High Occasion. The cost was not cheap but it was all well worth the money.

The hotels buildings and grounds were of an extremely high standard and of course the staff were well trained.

While the room rack rate is high by Thai standards by world standards it is low and certainly is good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirjeff9726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear sirjeff9726,

Thanks for your patronage, it is a pleasure to get feedback not only from our hotel guests but also from the local community who visit our hotel for a drink, a meal or as in your case for our high tea.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed and found the atmosphere and ambiance very fabulous and our staff well trained.

Please don't hesitate to come and visit us again soon for another high occasion.

With warm regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I'm surprised how good the staffs are. I usually jog early in the morning, so I asked the reception the time that the fitness open. The staffs said the regular hour is 7 am - 10 pm. I informed them that normally I stared exercise a bit earlier than 7 am, so they said they would tell someone to open the fitness room at 6 am so I can do the exercise as usual, but there wouldn't be any staff to take care of me. Next morning, I went to the fitness, and found a girl who took care of me very nicely, although I didn't expect anyone to be there for me. The girl show me show me how to use treadmill and prepared the water for me. It's a small little thing that made me feel very good.
A bit of downside at the Chedi is the mosquitoes. I don't know where they come from, but there're lot of them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeune_daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear jeune_daisy,

We are glad we were able to do that little bit extra that made you feel good. We strive to always anticipate our guests' needs and thank you for your appreciation.

We noted your comments about the mosquitoes, despite spraying our grounds twice a week and providing mosquito coils and sprays in the room and restaurants you were still inconvenienced for which we are sorry.

Until next time... best regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 379 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,905 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing