We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #9 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The ambience and atsmosphere at the Chedi is unbeatable. The guestrooms are gorgeous, mellow, and furnished to an impeccably high standard. Breakfast is great, and the view of the hotel grounds and river are sublime. Chilling out at the Chedi at night is a great way to spend the evening, and the restaurant here serves very high quality food. Moreover, the hotel is perfectly located, a 3 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of the night market, but far enough away to be incredibly peaceful. Would recommend this hotel any day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear sunilamg,

So glad to hear that you had a great stay! We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed the ambiance and atmosphere, your guestroom and our food.
We look forward to welcoming you back for more chilling at The Chedi Chiang Mai!

Warm Regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,421)
There are newer reviews for Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,157 - 1,163 of 2,421 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have stayed in many luxury hotels on THE globe, and everywhere everything is of a high standard/class... But THE service we get here.... Almost get shocked... (In a positive way...off course!!!). Just An example... If you wanna have your lunch/snack on THE terrace... They came with a spray to fresh up you face etc.

No need to write About full amenities, iPod Dock or whatsoever... Come on... A hotel like this, with THE kind of rates The Chedi have... Are all good... No doubt About that..!! But THE little things and details, THAT makes THE difference...

We had a club suite... Which was suburb... But THE service you get, s not depending what kind of room you are in... As that is not wrikten on your forehead!!!

Only 1 minute walking distance from Night Bazar entrance, so very very conveniënt.. (For US!!)

Room Tip: Club suite was excellent, but I suppose a 'normal' room must be good as well...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DACHALADACHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear DACHALADACHA,

Thank you for your positive feedback! We can only agree with you that it is all about the little things and details and everyone here at The Chedi Chiang Mai works very hard every day on adding the special touches for all our discerning guests. We are glad we were able to make the difference and that you appreciated.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Andy Kunz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our 2nd hotel in our visit to thailand,and what a hotel it was.As soon as we arrived we were spoiled,the welcome was very special.When we were taken to our room i had tears in my eyes as it was so beautiful.The hotel and every thing about it was amazing,the rooms,reastaurant and the pool area was lovely.At the pool you get a tray with lemongrass cold towels,and a facial spray and ice water all day long.The staff are also lovely and so helpful.The town was okay,a nice shoe shop.Don't try the Italian reastaurant across the road it was worse than awful,the chef i think he lives in his past fame.The hotel is the most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed at,and would highly recomment it to you all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bren21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've been meaning to write this review for awhile but the fact that I am still thinking about this place says it all. My friends and I stayed at the Chedi in November and if I ever come back to Chiang Mai, I would definitely return here. We stayed in the Club Suite rooms which were beautiful and spacious. The bathrooms were a little awkward because there was a glass wall between the shower and the toilet but we quickly found a way around it. What I absolutely loved about the place was the attention to detail when it came to the service. If you sat down outside during the evening, they provided you with bug spray, at the pool, you got oil and at lunch, the provided a spritz to keep you fresh. Any place can have nice grounds (which they did) but the service is what set it apart. In addition, the location was great as it was very close to the Night Bazaar. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, definitely get the Chedi Club Suite rooms, the regular rooms are nice but the...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We recently stayed at the Chedi. It was our first trip to Thailand and this was our introduction to Thailand. The staff were so good. The service was excellent. The rooms are spacious.
We were left with such a good opinion of Chiang Mai and I suspect that it was mostly because of the staff and surroundings at the Chedi

Room Tip: Go for river views
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacqui269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My stay started with a very warm welcome and then the little touches just kept on coming until we left. We stayed in a club room which was very sleek and the benefits that come with this room category are very generous. I loved the relaxed pool area and the Chedi massage is a must! Location could not be any better as the property is by the river for the nice views and only a few minutes walk to restaurants, shops and the night market.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

...and stay at The Chedi. It is a perfect blend of class, luxury, and style. The Chedi touches all of your senses right when you walk in. The smells of lemongrass and ginger hit you right went you walk in. Ambient music and calming water surrounds you as well as the most pleasant staff I have ever encountered. Helpful, courteous and always smiling. The room (Club Suite) was amazing and appointed with anything you need including bottles of vodka, whiskey, and gin just in case you want to make yourself a cocktail before you head out. The pool was very relaxing and the food was excellent. No complaints...they covered every detail. If you are looking in this price range in Chiang Mai, look no further. The location is far better than the Mandarin and the Four Seasons isn't anywhere near the city. Chedi, Chedi, Chedi!

Room Tip: The Chedi Club suites are beautiful and big. I didn't really see a smaller one, but I'm sure...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 388 in Chiang Mai
2,038 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 388 in Chiang Mai
3,052 reviews
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 388 in Chiang Mai
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $207 - $865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing