We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in the heart of Chiang Mai...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton and Tuscany
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Oasis in the heart of Chiang Mai...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

To be honest, we had some major issues on arrival here but have to say the manager swung into action and fixed everything. In fact, his response was a case study in 'service recovery'. We were overwhelmed by his generosity and professionalism... He genuinely cares about the hotel and (as a young-ishmanager) is keen to prove his abilities...

DESIGN: Outstanding... let's describe it as Asian Fusion... lots of open spaces, light and airy, lots of wood and stone but with a simple, graceful design. Australian-born, Singapore-based architect Kerry Hill got most of the design right. It is an oasis in the heart of Chiang Mai.

LOCATION: It's city centre so you do hear some of the city life... yes, there are the occasional dog barking and some traffic noise but hotel faces river and the rooms are all protected from the sound by second walls... We wanted to be in the heart of Chiang Mai so sightseeing, shopping were easy and it was a contrast to the other properties (beach and jungle) which we stayed in.

GUESTS: Mix of European, Chinese and other Asian travellers. Pool area can be a little hectic with large Asian families (who like to talk/shout) vs the book-reading silent Europeans...

ROOMS: Well-equipped, lots of light.... Lovely toiletries. Housekeeping were very discrete... Every time we left room they had remade the bed or tidied up...

HIGHLIGHTS:
- Definitely do the 'cream tea' -- fantastic. 1 serving is enough for two... Home-baked scones are delicious...
- Breakfast is excellent... Relaxed, generous and varied.
- Hotel design... graceful, modern, relaxing

NEGATIVES:
- Our checkin experience wasn't great but they fixed that.
- Restaurant is really dark... They do have clip-on torches to read menus but I still like to see what I'm eating...
- Maintenance must be a real headache here with so much wood exposed... Some areas needed a tidy-up.
- And please schedule the gardeners to mow the lawns when the pool is not in use. Wasn't very relaxing having four-stroke mowers blasting the pool with grass cuttings and 90dB noise!

Room Tip: Use the pool in morning/before lunch because the loungers are in shadow from mid-afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CupletBalsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear CupletBalsac,

I would like to thank you very much for staying at The Chedi Chiang Mai and for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

Unfortunately I still remember the "bumpy" arrival you had and am still very sorry about it, but I am very glad that you felt it was well recovered from and that despite the incident you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed Kerry Hill's design of the hotel. He has indeed created a very special spot in town that does not lack a feeling of relaxation.

I acknowledge your comment on the lawn mowing and will make sure we adjust the timings, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Once again many thanks for your staying with us and for the understanding you have shown after the arrival incident. I hope you will return to The Chedi Chiang Mai some time in the future and I look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards and Happy New Year
Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,796
    339
    76
    26
    15
See reviews for
426
1,211
110
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very rarely does a hotel blow away all of your expectations but this one did!
We stayed in a club level suite which was gorgeous and massive. The large terrace had a huge day bed and a nice big table. The large day bed in the room was perfect for relaxing too. We had requested a baby cot and it was a nice big size and very clean. The hotel also delivered a baby tub and some welcome tub toys!
The hotel is physically stunning - so peaceful. We spent many afternoons enjoying the pool! The pool staff was so nice, they were always on hand with a clean towel, some ice water or a drink menu. There are no scheduled kids activities but the staff was happy to let my son feed the fish by the pool and one of the groundskeepers even let him plant some flowers one day! There is a great kids menu too!
We arranged for a few tours through the hotel and all were great. The hotel also arranged for a great driver for us when we wanted to do some shopping.
We ate most nights in the hotel only because the food was so good! The bloody mary is the best I've ever had in the world and that says a lot. The steak tartare was also out of this world. Breakfast was fantastic and it was lovely to sit on the river every morning and enjoy a coffee.
We used the spa 3 times - a first for any hotel stay. That's how good it was! We did some varied treatments and each one was amazing
We used the hotel for babysitting also and were very pleased We had the same babysitter for six nights and she was lovely!
The club lounge was perfect - a real respite and a nice play to go for a mid day coffee or smoothie. The club welcomes kids before 5 and the staff was always on hand to offer my son a cookie or some juice. Post 5pm cocktails are served and the drink menu was plentiful and varied. The staff was happy to mix up a cocktail or pour a glass of wine (or two)
The location of this hotel is great - it's right in town but you feel like you're in another world. It's 5 minutes from the night market on foot and a quick tuk tuk ride anywhere else
All in all this hotel ranks up there as one of the best ever! I had previously stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai and this hotel blows it out of the water. There is no better choice for Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Stephlovestravel,

Thank you for staying at The Chedi Chiang Mai and for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

I am happy yo know we exceeded your expectations during your stay and that you thoroughly enjoyed Kerry Hill's design of the hotel and rooms.

I appreciate your kind comments on our service and staff. Whilst we do not have a kids club, or other kids activities, we do indeed welcome kids at the hotel in general with the exception of the club lounge during the cocktail hours.

I hope we may welcome you again to The Chedi Chiang Mai or another GHM hotel in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Stefan Noll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

loved the Chedi. incredible breakfast (included in the room rate), very luxurious and comfortable room. loved the standalone bathtub, and the cool bathroom walls that open up to the bedroom. also loved the refillable shower shampoo and bath gel jars - both good looking and good for the environment. Service is great- nice people and they even provide you a free dental kit upon request (toothbrush and toothpaste). love the swimming pool - it's clean/beautiful, very long (my guess is close to 50 meters) and great for lap swimming.

minor 'issues' are the oversized and heavy room key that you are encouraged to leave with the front desk (means you have to go to the front desk everytime you leave and return to the property (hack is to remove the big weight from the keychain and walk around with just the key) and the mosquitos that enter the room even with the repellant spray and electric device (but i imagine this is an issue everywhere in chiang mai unless you are in a room high enough to avoid them). but overall, great stay and i would definitely return.

Room Tip: request top floor room to minimize mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff94103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear jeff94103,

Thank you for staying at The Chedi Chiang Mai and for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast and liked the design and decor of the hotel, which was done by Kerry Hill.

Thank you for your great comment on our pool, however I regret to tell you it is only 33 meters in length, but it does appear to be longer.

I am sorry to hear that you found it inconvenient to carry your key, or drop it off at reception, which is located on the way in, or out of the hotel.

As you mentioned mosquitoes are found everywhere in Chiang Mai and we do indeed take several measures to keep their population down, especially given our location on the river.

Once again many thanks for staying with us, I hope we may welcome you again to The Chedi Chiang Mai, or another GHM hotel.

Best regards
Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were on our Honeymoon and stayed here for 6 days as part of our Thailand Travels!

The staff are wonderful.
The bedrooms are continuously cleaned! I pop out for a swim and I come back and wow! Brand New!
Fully stocked bar all free!
Be a chedi member for free snacks and cocktails in the evening!
Fantastic Pool and massages.
Delicious Restaurant!

I will look out for other GHM Hotels in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamer101Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Dreamer101Sydney,

Thank you for staying at The Chedi Chiang Mai and for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to know that we were able to make your special trip an even more special one.

We wish you a Happy Married Life and a Happy New Year.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Chedi Chiang Mai, or another GHM hotel.

Best regards
Stefan Noll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

There were 3 of us, so we booked the suite. The room was very spacious, and the decor was very tastefully done. The freebies that came along with the suite were excellent; airport transfers, pre-dinner canapes and cocktails, and all the drinks in the mini-bar, just to name a few. The food served at breakfast was excellent, and you can eat all you want from the buffet table or order from the menu. The best part is in the evening, when the hotel is lit up with candles and the ambiance is magical & romantic. It is very well located near the night market, Whole Earth Restaurant, a superb local fish noodle stall, and a well known local dessert stall. All these within walking distance (just ask the staff at the reception). This is a good time to go as the weather is cool and very pleasant. The only gripe about the hotel is that we could hear the traffic in the night from our room. Apart from this, everything was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeySpore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear MickeySpore,

Thank you for staying at The Chedi Chiang Mai a GHM hotel and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to know you enjoyed Kerry Hill's design of the hotel and that you considered the club benefits to be of good value.

Thank you for your much appreciated comments on the breakfast.

I am glad you noticed the transition of the hotel, which is performed every night, when our staff collects the folded lotus buds and exchanges them for candles.

Many thanks again for staying with us and I hope we may welcome you again to The Chedi Chiang Mai, or another GHM hotel.

Best regards
Stefan Noll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

If I leave you with only one chestnut to take away, it would be "Room 409". After being plied with cool jasmine scented towels and lemongrass water, we were whisked off to Room 409. Of the 50+ foreign cities (and corresponding hotels) I've visited, this is awfully close to the best ever. Walking through the huge pivot door, ambient Thai music greets you in 409. Strong design sensibility and modern wood decor create an immediately relaxing atmosphere. A wall of glass leads to a room-length balcony. There we found a table and chairs. An outdoor day bed for two. Plus a view of the plexiglass-smooth Ping River. The wetbar (crystal decanters of Gin, Vodka and Whiskey) are all complimentary. Pouring ourselves a couple strong drinks, we collapsed on the balcony lounger to plan our evening. Evening cocktails and creative h'orderves are served in the second floor terrace. Steffan (the manager) checks in on the guests. Strolling the grounds, there are serentiy ponds, spa, gym and a riverside promenade where breakfast is served. Breakfast is vast and delicious. Served on the banks of the river. We only had one night here, moving to the Ping Nakara for the rest of our stay. But there is scarcely a day since that The Chedi doesn't come up in some wistful recollection. I've heard the word "magical" used to describe a scone. So maybe it has no meaning anymore. But this is an experience that truly rates being called—magical.

Room Tip: 409. Or it's equivalent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markkoelfgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear markkoelfgen,

Thank you for staying at The Chedi Chiang Mai a GHM hotel and for sharing your feedback here on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to know that you liked Kerry Hill's design of the hotel and enjoyed your room's location and facilities.

Our Club benefits, which you described, are enjoyed by all of our club guests in particular the cocktail hours at the lounge, which is also popular for club guests to mingle with the other guests staying at our club suites.

I am pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast, where we serve continental and other cold items as a buffet and all hot dishes by a la carte order.

I hope we may welcome you again at The Chedi Chiang Mai, or another GHM hotel in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Stefan Noll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Chiang Mai is one of the most beautiful, delightful and ravishingly interesting cities on the planet.
This hotel is the perfect place for you to rest, relax, observe and contemplate In a stylish opulence all that Chiangmai is.
The general manager could not be more gracious in welcoming you.
I never judge a hotel by if everything is perfect. What I do judge a hotel by is when something is communicated is it immediately and professionally taken care of and that has always been my experience with the management.
And the Internet always works.
Highly recommended.
Craig

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear CraigPar,

Thank you for your patronage and for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to know that you have felt comfortable at the hotel and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere.

We appreciate feedback from our guests and I am pleased to know that you have found us to be responsive to the same.

I hope we may welcome you again in the not too distant future and wish you a Happy New Year.

Best regards
Stefan Noll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Chiang Mai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing