We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #11 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“The only place to stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Before our trip to Chiang Mai I read through many reviews on many of the hotels in the city including information on the forums. I narrowed it down to the Le Meridien, Dusit D2, and the Chedi. I chose the Chedi and am glad that I did. There is no comparison. This might be one of the nicest, if not the nicest, hotels I have ever stayed at. We rarely saw other guests except in the restaurant or at the pool. There is such an exclusive feel to this hotel. It does come at a price, but it's a bargain compared to the hyper-luxury properties in Chiang Mai.

The location is very good. One of the night markets is literally one block away. The other ones are very close too. It's a short walk to the area near the Le Meridien and D2. If you don't want to pay the high prices at the restaurant, there are tons of places along the river or down the main street that ends at the hotel's driveway. If you walk towards the old city, you will pass tons of restaurants.

The hotel itself is awesome. It is clean, precise, elegant, refined, minimalist, modern, yet inviting and warm. Many other hotels in the world that try to be modern and minimal end up being cold and sterile. This hotel is not like that at all. You will not want to leave the property. The breakfast is incredible and it is a buffet, but you also order off of a menu for the main things like eggs, omelets, pancakes, congee, french toast, or whatever else. The only things on the buffet are pastries, fruit, cold cuts, etc, but it's all included.

The room is very nice and modern. Most of the other reviews have captured the essence of the hotel. The only caution is that since the hotel is open air and the rooms are not enclosed in hallways, there are lots of mosquitoes. They have cans of spray in the room and every few days they fumigate the property. It is still bad though especially if you have drinks on the terrace in the evening. I don't know if it's the time of year I was there (June) or if Chiang Mai is always like that but the mosquitoes are really bad everywhere. Bring citronella spray or something simliar.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Dr_Drew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,845
    350
    81
    27
    18
See reviews for
450
1,242
113
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Chedi Chiang Mai is an outstanding Hotel. The staff are excellent. The dining room is in an old British Emasassy building on the Ping River. It can be pricy (check specials) but you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Con_Thai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

First and foremost, we love the design of this building. It's appealing to the eye, but also has great use of light and efficiency. Very green and aware of the environment and use of resources. The staff is attentive and helpful. The design of each room is well-thought out and carefully executed for maximum comfort and beauty.

The only small complaint is the bed is too soft and low for those of us with back issues.

Other than that, flawless!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbsingleterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Great place
Friendly staff
Free WiFi
Free Laptop
Excellent breakfast
An Oasis in downtown of Chiangmai
Swimming pool is great
10 mins walk to night market
5 mins walk to Thai Massage

Room Tip: package is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hkpraise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

All around perfect. Really, no words can describe what a wonderful hotel this is. The food is amazing, the staff are very helpful, the rooms are clean and sleek, and the pool is a dream if you love to swim.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kennysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Last night I dreamed of Chedi Chiang mai...
Just dream of wonderful time we had there.
I were there for honeymoon...
Great hotel
Great service
Excellent atmosphere
Fabulous staffs
.... I am dreaming of coming back this year again...
................... See you.............

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AthenaTravelManiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We had a great stay at the Chedi. We went with our 1 year old. He loved the pool and grounds of The Chedi. Very efficient check in, very quick despite us arriving earlier than normal check in time. It was a great start, which continued throughout our 5 day stay :) Good service, Good breakfast. We loved that the hotel was so close to the airport as well as the city. Great place!

Room Tip: Away from street, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aized_noor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 379 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing