We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not worth the price”
Review of Karinthip Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karinthip Village
Ranked #181 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed January 26, 2007

Reservation of the rooms was easy with the hotel website. We had two deluxe rooms that were small but nicely furnished. But the rooms were not very clean, we had a lot of mosquitos and the view from the window was awful : a junkyard... View outside our door was fine : the pool and garden. Our room was on the second floor and rooms on the first floor have no view at all : windows open on a concrete wall.
Breakfast was just average, but OK. We didn't try the restaurant but the hotel is in central Chiang Mai and you can easily walk to whole lot of good and cheap thai restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NathouKrunthep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 185 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2006

Karinthip Village is an excellent Hotel in a great Location in Chiang Mai. The lovely gardens separated the hotel from the nearby noise of the bustling city. – An oasis close to restaurants, markets and just out side the old walled city. The Swimming Pool was refreshing and clean. The rooms were clean, well furbished, and very comfortable. We requested adjoining rooms, which we got. Breakfast was adequate and the coffee was superb. There is a laundry service around the corner and for 30 Baht per kg you can have you clothes beautifully washed by a delightful women. We would certainly stay at this hotel again.
Thank you Lyn & Geoff & Emily. Victoria. Australia

4  Thank LynHatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2006

Stayed for 5 nights beginning august 13, 2006. Booked through their site, with a very convenient rate. The booking procedure was not straightforward, the internetsite had some problems, but in the end everything worked out. Good Pool. Very nice rooms. Overall a very attractive place. This is a resort style hotel very close to Chang Mai's hot spots. The staff was kind of confused at times, but always polite and helpful.
The breakfast was of good standard, and most of all is offered in a very nice room with open doors on the attractive garden. I definitely recommend the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mattia.R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2006

We are family of three - with one one and a half year old and stayed at Karinthip Village for three nights from July 1 to July 4. Overall we found the hotel to be about 2.5 to 3 star We found the rooms small-perhaps so on account of baby luggage . Our room did not have a bath tub, so could not have a warm soak after sightseeing. Facilities are not so great - there was a bar by the pool, but no bartender, there is one restaurant which we did not find exciting (we are vegetarians) and so went to other restaurants in Chiang Mai which were excellent. As others have said, the set breakfast was inadequate and not really tasty. On the first two days of our stay we did not go into the pool as it did not appear clean. On the third day, they got a water pump which allowed the water to circulate - in any case we did not try the pool. We did not see anyo other facilities eg spa, gym etc.
The location is convenient for walking to the Sunday shopping street and to the Night bazaar. The cost of the car rental from the hotel was higher than what we got from an independent car operator (we paid about 1700 baht for about 9 hours including fuel although there are other companies who offer lower rates). The hotel forgot to send a pick up for us at the airport but compensated for that by not charging us for a late check out. Overall did not feel like a haven to get back to.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ss75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2006

Absolutely perfect. Spent a month at Karinthip and could not have been more pleased. Charming, friendly competent staff, amentities were more than I expected. Kudos to you all, and I definitely will return.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chang Ginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2006

I spent a month touring Thailand in April and this was one of the best hotels that I stayed in. Great location, walking distance to all the hot spots in Chaing Mai. The rooms were slightly small in comparison to other Thai hotels in this price bracket, but very clean, comfortable and with all the necessities (air con and fridge!).

The gardens / pool area were beautiful and a great place to relax after a day pouding the streets of Chaing Mai.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, they lay on a free shuttle bus to the night market if you need it. I only sampled the breakfasts and they were fine.

All in all I would thoroughly recommend this great hotel in a great city!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chimptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2006

Excellent value. Reasonably close to river and markets. Nice restaurant with a good breakfast. At the time of our stay the hotel was probably no more than 20% occupied. Good service and very friendly staff. We stayed a week and would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#266 of 392 in Chiang Mai
379 reviews
2.8 mi away
B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort
2.0 mi away
Yantarasiri Resort
Yantarasiri Resort
#172 of 392 in Chiang Mai
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lanna Palace 2004 Hotel
Lanna Palace 2004 Hotel
#272 of 392 in Chiang Mai
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
BanThai Village
BanThai Village
#44 of 392 in Chiang Mai
684 reviews
0.5 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#130 of 392 in Chiang Mai
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karinthip Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karinthip Village

Address: 50/2 Changmoikao Rd, Changmoi | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $49 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karinthip Village 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Karinthip Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karinthip Village Chiang Mai
Karinthip Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing