We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$14
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$14
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$12
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/01/21
Priceline$14
Travelocity$14
CheapTickets$14
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveler rating
33
122
120
78
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
33
122
120
78
67
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 420 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

it used to be a cheap and nice place and the first hotel i stayed in when i backpacked Thailand 8 years ago. However, it is not as good as i remember it was.
Although the price was not to bad , rooms were small, noisy with the road next door, very little place for us and the kids. Service was not bad or good,just average. Location is good but just next to the old city and within walking distance to the night bazar (still a good walk). We found another hotel for the same price right in the center of the old town.

Room tip: If you have choice you might as well skip that one, even if it means being a bit out of the old city which you can get to very easily with local taxi for 20 all routes...
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gees426
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

lai thai is a good walking distance to the tapae gate and from there, you can already explore the temples within the old city on foot. numerous restaurants, money exhange, cafes, travel agents, shops and massage stops to rest if you get tired of walking. ask for a city map from the receptionist before you go out walking on your own.

we booked a double room, it had A/C, a phone (a bit retro, black rotary type) cable tv, ref (ideal to chill drinks we bought from a nearby convenience store) and a good sized clean toliet/bathroom, which was made up /cleaned daily. the lai thai restaurant/cafe offers a good range of meals, moderately priced ++ service charge. so the price could be 10-15baht higher than the eateries outside but i think this is quite minimal/acceptable. anyway, there's a travel/tour agent office and massage place within the grounds of the guesthouse. out of convenience, we booked our day tour there (elephant ride, bamboo raft, waterfalls), rate was reasonable -- it comes with a van ride, lunch set and bottle of water too. didn't get to use the pool but that's alright since we were out most of the time. our booking was through email only (no advance payment) and they would have picked us up from the train station for free but we opted to go there on our own.
so after 3 days in chiang mai, we wanted to go to luangprabang (laos) but learned that the local bus does not offer trips on Thursdays so as an alternative, we decided to book our transpo arrangement via the same travel agency within the lai thai grounds. in short, we made our way to the border via private van (along with other back packers/passengers) and crossed the chiang khong-huay xai border and got transferred to a lao AC bus for luang prabang on Thursday as we originally intended. Tip: make your booking for whatever day tour or transpo arrangement at least 1 day in advance. for the transpo arrangement to luangprabang, i think the add-on rate was 200baht -- thought that was acceptable since we got to keep our schedule and used a private van for the first leg. Going back to lai thai guesthouse, generally I think most tuk-tuk drivers in chiangmai are familar with this guesthouse so you know it's been around, it's not that new but not that too old either. for its price (we got ours at 750Baht per night), considering the amenities and location, i'll give it a 7 (out of 10). it is possible to find/get cheaper rooms in guesthouses located within the old city but just be wary of sometimes a shared bathroom arrangement, and the further distance to the Ping river or the night market.

Room tip: choose a lower ground room, especially if you have a big luggage. our room was located at the back, probably that section was a result of an expansion of the guest house grounds years ago so not much noise and sun there. i think all rooms have that native look or woven matting on the walls, for that tropical feel.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaLiRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Changed rooms as I didn't like looking over a Bridgestone tyre company and the noisy staff at 6am. Room was better second time looking over the pool but bathroom was really gross, mouldy and smelly. I didn't use the toilet it grossed me out too much and I'm not a clean freak by any means. Toilets by the pool are much nicer.
Bed /pulliws was like rocks! Noisy a/c. Strange key system u need to turn it on the wall to work electricity in ur room. Was noisy so I turned it off at night.
Stains on sheets. Place full of old single men! Only positive was the pool big, cold and clean a place to sit in the sun or shade. Ok location for Sunday night market.
Try the castle much nicer or Mai ping !

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skibunnykerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were passing thru CM on our way south and decided to spend the night so the Lai Thai GH was a convienent choice as they also have a parking lot. We were given a room on the ground floor in the back and if I hadn't been so tired I would have requested another room as this one had that unused moldy smell. The room itself was a bit dated but comfy enough with fridge, TV, A/C. Great location as easy walk to the markets at Chiang Mai Gate, Tapae Gate and the night market as well as sites inside the old city. For B 790 it was ok. Having only stayed 1 night we didn't have much interaction with the staff but the ones we did deal with (front desk) were very nice and helpful.

Room tip: Try to avoid the rooms on the ground floor in the back unless a moldy smeeling odor doesn't bother you.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cockerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Had a twin room which was a good size clean & had hot shower, the pool looks nice but I did not go in, was not impressed with the 10% service charge they add on to your bill if you eat in there restruant. Hotel in good location for market & night life

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GLW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews