We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFULLY AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #8 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WONDERFULLY AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

Took my Thai girlfriend here for a getaway to wonderful Chiang Mai. The hotel is secluded and quiet. The architecture and design remind you of Thailand. The staff was very friendly and helpful with anything and everything. I stayed in the junior suite room and it was very private, plenty of room. The bathroom was large and spacious with separate tub and shower. Comfortable bed and an all around very warm stay. The food at the restaurant was delicious. Will definitely stay again in the future for my next trip to Chiang Mai and recommend to anyone. I have traveled many places throughout Thailand and stayed at several hotels, especially 5 stars and the Rachamankha is definitely a true 5 star hotel/resort. I would say for Chiang Mai, the best stay I have had.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-Rock30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    176
    51
    15
    4
See reviews for
136
572
68
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

I've just this morning left The Rachamankha after three nights at the property. We arrived at night and felt instantly like our stay was going to be a special experience and we were corect! The property consists of a series of buildings built in the Lanna style with a series of small, lush garden courtyards and a beautiful pool. The property is on a secluded street, but a short tuktuk ride away from the busy nightlife of Chiang Mai. We felt more more like guests in someone's exquisite home, though we were perfectly relaxed and comfortable. Perhaps the nicest moment we experienced was in response to my expressing regret that we were leaving just 2 days shy of the annual Yi Ping festival which is celebrated by sending thousands of lighted paper laterns skyward. The staff brought out 10 lanterns and we all reveled in lighting them and releasing them into the cool Chiang Mai night sky! Thanks to all for a memorable experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msilberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

The most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in. Every inch was carefully thought out and designed. My congrats to the interior designer for an amazing job. The room was spacious, beautiful and comfortable. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. It is glorious! we arrived in pouring rain, but the second we drove up staff decended upon the taxi with umbrellas and made sure we were covered everywhere we went. We had arrived too early to check to our room so they allowed us in to a luxurious suite until it was. They told us to make ourselves comfortable, shower, whatever. Instead I took pictures of the space. It was so beautiful.
A table awaited us every morning for breakfast. The food was very good. The waitress was very attentive and lovely.
The service was near perfect. (the concierge was no where to be found). We hired a cab outside the hotel and he was VERY helpful and knowledgeable. We ended up using him our entire trip. I highly recommend Mr Thawat, tel: 086 -1885529. He dropped us at the most wonderful restaurants. Even helped with translating the menu.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

We visited this hotel for 4 days a part of our honeymoon in September 2010 and can honestly say it is a truly wonderful hotel. The rooms are very well apointed if not a little small for the price and the staff cannot do enough to help with every question/need that you may have.

The premises itself are very interesting and give a real insight into the Lanna style of things and the pool is lovely, a real sun trap.

One of the best things about this place was the atmosphere. With no kids allowed it feels like a real sanctuary only minutes walk away from the fun and games of Chiang Mai.

Of special note is the food offer here. Apart from one minor mishap with our afternoon tea (they forgot the scones) the food here is nothing short of spectacular and I would definitely recommend the Chef's special tasting menu for dinner.

All in all a great hotel, in a good spot with great staff and an even better menu. Definitely one for those looking for a quiet getaway in one of Thailands gems.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wattsie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

We live in Thailand and travel in asia a lot - We are used to good hotels

- This is one of the best.

Certainly the best in Chiang Mai that we have ever stayed in - Great rooms, great food, great facilities, great staff, Great location.

We had a fantastic 2 days here - and will be back for more.

PS dont miss out on the eggs benedict!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandKoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
465 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

If you want some where special in Chaing Mai - This is it!

Its hard to describe everything that goes into making the perfect hotel - but I am going to try to do it, as Rachamankha deserves it!

The Rachamankha has it all. It is set in a quiet sub street in the old town - Just behind Wat Phra Singh.

So here are some of the highlights

Staff - Staff and Staff - From the manager, Paul, all the way down to the cleaning staff everyone in the hotel has one aim in mind - making your stay flawless and totally remarkable! I cannot say it better than that.

The Food - Fantastic - and breakfast is the best I have ever had - In Thailand or elsewhere

The hotel and the rooms - Built in Traditional Lanna (northern thai) style complete with Gallery, Library and boutique.

The Suite - The nicest suite I have ever stayed in - above the library - 2 very large bedrooms and a huge sitting room - with your own terrace/balcony featuring your private bar. If you want something special - look no further

The grounds - Beautiful for a stroll, taking afternoon tea in, exploring and relaxing.

The location - Right in the old town and a stroll from the famous walking street sunday market and dozens of restaurants and bars.

If you want some where special in Chaing Mai - This is it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin_One_Man_Show
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

If you need something peaceful and fabulously romantic , if you are searching for a luxury and simple retreat , if you want feel the astmosphere of the Asia, communicate with the Nature, Rachamankha is the place.

I have been living in Thailand for 11 years and I can say easily that Rachamankha is a unique place.

Rachamankha is a place which breathes, a place that will give you the rest and the energies you need.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidGuffroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 376 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
0.5 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#14 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Property: Rachamankha
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing