We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful paradise in Chiang Mai”
Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #9 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
roma
2 reviews
“Wonderful paradise in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

In July 2014 we stayed for three nights at the Rachamankha which is a phantastic hotel in all resprects i.e. architecture, design, amenities and services. The garden and buildings are wonderfully designed and the pool area offers enough space to recover from the sightseeing activities in the Chiang Mai area. Also, the food in the restaurant was very delicious and worth its price. All the staff was very friendly, helpful and service oriented. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinquecentoRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    184
    54
    16
    4
See reviews for
146
590
71
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Rachamankha is an idyllic hotel in the heart of the old city. We stayed for 5 nights in a deluxe room. Beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable. The pool is fantastic, especially for a late afternoon swim after a busy day sightseeing. The lobby area is a wonderful place to sit and enjoy an evening drink in the peaceful atmosphere of the hotel. Staff are very helpful and incredibly quiet as they move around the hotel. If you like hustle and bustle this is not the place for you, however it is perfect for a peaceful retreat surrounded by art and culture. Would also recommend a meal in the restaurant, the Thai meal for two was superb.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celiemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at Rachamankha for 5 nights during out trip in Thailand. This place is fantastic.

The architecture is beautiful (classic Lanna style and the owner is an architect), the room is simple, but works perfectly - when you are in Chiang Mai you shouldn't be staying in your hotel anyways; there is simply to much to see and do. The breakfast was very good, and we ate a handful of other meals on the property.

It is close to everything: the Sunday night market is literally a two minute walk. And everything else in the town is a short cab/tuk tuk ride away.

The general manager and his staff are absolutely fantastic. Terrific value!

Room Tip: The basic is room is simple and effective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zachary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very rustic, localized, accommodation. Excellent service, great food and near the local markets. Good spa and swimming pool. Very good library and a very authentic art and craft gallery. A fantastic collection of antiques placed everywhere.

Room Tip: All rooms similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naimi1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Architecture and the inside of the hotel was outstanding, with antique blending with style in a quiet environment. The swimming pool and the library are very nice spots where to relax. We found the restaurant inside a bit noisy, as its courtyard wasn't available then due to a reception coming up. Paul, the hotel director and his personnel were very proactive in making sure that everything would be taken care of to ensure we had a good stay. Location inside the city was very practical and a bicycle rent agency is just a few 100 m away to enjoy visiting the inner city.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Frankois2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I have visited and stayed in many hotels but this was something completely different. The design, the layout, the simplicity in its stile was just beautiful. I just did not want to leave, during my stay I actually found myself just wanting to return and stay in the solitude of the hotel itself. What was interesting was that whilst the food, the staff and the pool were all great, somehow everything just came together perfectly. The owner has truly created a master design for a hotel with his own residence hidden beautifully in one corner. I'm so tempted to want to replicate the design, layout and manner in which its run myself. Except for a few mosquitos and odd noise from the adjacent room it was truly an magical experience. Given it was the monsoons there were bouts of heavy rain and it was just a delight to sleep with the sound of water everywhere.

Room Tip: Not at all suitable for small children, to quiet, to peaceful. There are some amazing rooms right n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlethomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I truly looked forward to coming to this hotel each night to enjoy the fresh air, pool, and character of this space.

Would be excellent but the wifi in my particular room was frustrating too often. There are several outside living rooms at the hotel where the wifi was strong that are nice to sit in.

I used the travel agency directly outside the hotel and the lady there was great. Very enthusiastic and not only helped us book trips but ensured the pick-up occurred as expected, etc. The hotel was also helpful. In both cases be prepared as to what you want. There is also a reasonable Tuk Tuk and Laundry facilities directly outside of the hotel that were quite convenient.

Breakfast was good and would rate as the best of my trip.

I stayed in a Superior double room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TokyoDroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,404 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 386 in Chiang Mai
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,433 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,020 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Property: Rachamankha
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing