We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite property, great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #8 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quite property, great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

The property is beautiful and quite! The staff was so friendly and willing to help. Beautiful gardens and pool area. Breakfast was great and again the wait staff was very tentative to our needs. They even packed us a breakfast one morning when we had to leave super early for our tour!

Room Tip: Laundry is expensive at the hotel, cheaper to get it done in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieleblanc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    173
    49
    15
    4
See reviews for
133
566
68
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

a very nice Lanna architecture with traditional Chinese funiture, cozy atomsphere.
the hotel layout really gives you a warmly feeling that it is a very big family's home, actually the owner is live next to the hotel.
the gardening, the miniascape and the antiques along the cooridor all present the stylish and taste of this samll and unique boutique hotel, and its friendy service are indeed impressive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochester L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed in Chiang Mai four days and everything was perfect, beginning from the pick up at the airport, the location as an Oasis in Chiang Mai, the pool to relax after the sightseeing activities, the friendly staff, restaurant etc. Especially I would like to thank the General Manager Paul for his assistance after my wife broke her ankle during a jungelhike. He organized that we could change our suite from the upper floor to the ground floor, even there was a reservation. Away from this incident our stay could not have been better.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite located above the libary is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berni32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Rachamankha is not only a wonderful place to stay in the old fortressed city of Chiang Mai, for guests it is quite an attraction on it's own. The classic Lanna styling is impeccable and the grounds are immaculate. The rooms are well appointed and very quiet. The pool area is situated in a private corner of the property and is the perfect spot after a day spent exploring the city in the heat. We dined at the restaurant one evening and found the service first class as was the food. We also enjoyed our breakfasts in the restaurant each morning which provided a great assortment of options. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozdoglovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Chiang Mai is our favorite destination in Thailand and after a dozen visits in the last 15 years, we finally got a chance to stay at the Rachamankha. The property is situated on a quiet soi in the old fortressed city and close to many sights worth seeing in town. The staff is probably the most professional and friendly we've encountered in Thailand. Rooms are tastefully decorated with northern Lanna style accents and even though we stayed during the fully booked "high season", we felt we had the place to ourselves. Rachamankha truly showcases all the best things about Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Beautiful location, very Nicely built. Rooms are very comfortable. Nice bathroom. Restaurants staff were helpful, service was excellent. Food was delicious and quality is also good. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

A fantastic place to stay in Chiang Mai. Easy walking distance to everything within the walled city. Restaurant was great, nice food, very quick and attentive service. They even put out a chair for my partners handbag!
Personal driver well worth having, Noy was excellent, chatty, knowledgeable and good fun.
Was impressed with welcome letter from Paul, the General Manager. Recommendations for restaurants and attractions were very good.
Paul was also fantastic in helping us with a very late check out, which was complicated by having to have medical equipment remain cool at all times. He went out of his way to ensure that this happened and that everything ran smoothly.
Impressed to see the General Manager on site and very approachable.
Thank you Paul.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beaustravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 373 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
1.8 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Property: Rachamankha
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing