We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Oasis in the City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #8 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Oasis in the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Rachamankha is one of the best hotels in Thailand I have ever stayed at and I have been travelling to Thailand for over thirty years! Everybody was so polite and helpful and the ambiance and style was remarkable. All the carefully gathered antiques and furnishings just add to the pleasure of the whole experience. All aspects of the service provided have been carefully crafted to give maximum enjoyment to the guests.Truly a place to aspire to stay in on any tour of Thailand.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and are only distinguished by pricing, wherever you stay in the hotel you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timothy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    173
    49
    15
    4
See reviews for
134
567
68
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This retreat, hidden within the Old City gates was a real treat. I have not one complaint about my stay, in fact , it was perfect. The hotel was exquisite, the lanna style architecture and decor was beautiful. The rooms were nicely kept with a big comfy bed, an ample amount of toiletries (even insect repellent) and nice cold a.c.. The pool was a nice addition, as I came during hot season and Chiang Mai was extra sweaty. The Library may have been my favorite part. I would go in the morning to read my book and again in the evening for a before dinner brandy (yes, complimentary brandy is offered). The restaurant for dinner was real 5-star dinning - perfectly prepared meals and service - everything was delicious (except the Khao Soi...). And again for breakfast, the spread was lovely and my eggs were cooked to perfection. The hotel is quite and serene which made for a relaxing, leisurely weekend in Chiang Mai. It was nice being in the Old City without being on the main strip. This place is truly and Oasis and I wish to go back one day. I highly recommend it, although a bit expensive, I think it is worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time at the rachamankha. Most memorable was the stunning environment marked with an abundance of space, exotic art, gardens and proximity to chiang mai's most auspicious temple. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lunched yesterday with two globetrotting business acquaintances, one from the island of Reunion, the other from Quebec and Sri Lanka(!). Both keen critics of hotels in general, they were ecstatic about the Rachamankha – as was I.
This was my second visit to this little boutique hotel, tucked away in a quiet lane in the middle of Old Chiangmai. Though my first visit was over a year ago I (a Chiang Mai resident and supposed expert on the place) had no hesitation in choosing it when they asked for 'something unusual, something nice'.
It lived up to their hopes and my expectations. While they focused on the details of design and menu choices, I was more interested in the staff. Having had decades of experience in professional service, I am naturally fascinated to see how well staff respond to guests' needs and – just as importantly – how they interact with one another and their supervisors. Staff harmony and cohesion are a vital, if under-appreciated element in guests' experience and the Rachamankha staff are clearly well-trained and well-supervised.
Inside, they were quick to anticipate our needs without fuss or delay, and they were unobtrusive wherever they were not needed. Since I was seated by a large window overlooking the lovely courtyard throughout our 3-hour lunch I also had the opportunity to observe the outside staff (neatly uniformed in traditional navy blue cotton outfits) handling mundane tasks like window-cleaning and transplanting of the shrubbery. Again, their teamwork and efficiency was admirable and their productivity remained consistently high, though I never saw a single order issued or a direction given.
The overall effect was soothing and harmonious and I left with my reputation as a hotel-recommender enhanced and my visitors charmed. I warmly recommend this friendly, charming little place and commend whomever is responsible for maintaining its consistently high standard of hospitality.

Room Tip: Overlook the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godfree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed in May which was very hot, but the hotel and grounds were beautifully cool and shady. We would tour in the mornings ie Doi Suthep temple in the hills, and Elephant conservation park and then come back for lunch by the pool and swim. Followed by a little nap before dining in their lovely restaurant in the evenings. Or you can have a lovely glass of wine sitting in their dining courtyard. I was surprised to learn it is only a few years old as it had the feel of a much older historical building. The walls are thick which keeps the rooms cool and tho the bathrooms can be small they were tastefully appointed. The toilettries were replaced as required, and so were the towels. A little too often if anything as I dont believe in washing
towels after just one use, but thats hardly a critisism.

Our room was stunning with four poster bed - sooo comfy - it was I believe the Deluxe room. I should point out that there dont seem to be any rooms with a view as on the ground floor anyway the windows face to the back of the resort and not to the inner courtyard and gardens. Perhaps the rooms on the upper floor would have this?

We loved everything abt this boutique residence, from the layout and gardens to the food in the dining room, which we found to be really good. Breakfast was inclined to be a bit similar, as it is brought to your table and not buffet, but the quality was great and much more than we could eat anyway.

The staff were gorgeous and attentive and we didnt have to wait long for anything. If I went back to Chiang Mai I would certainly stay there, and recommend to others. I will point out tho that it is (within the city 'walls') at the opposite side to the river and night market areas which have a lot of other dining choice and hotels, but a short tuk tuk ride was all that was required and I think it was probably a lot quieter for this reason.

Thank you Rachamankha for a lovely welcoming and personal stay, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe rooms - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gidday!again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

It's been nearly 2 years since our stay at Rachamankha, and we so often think back at the wonderful time we had. So, not an up-to-date review, but proof of the long-lasting positive impact this stylish boutique hotel can have. My partner and I visited during a tour of Thailand in mid/late July 2011 and loved the place! The location is a little away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough for a leisurely stroll to the main road, on which so many of Chiang Mai's awesome temples can be found (this is within the wall of the historic part of the city). The food was excellent (breakfast a la carte), the service was fantastic (friendly and helpful), the pool is great and the library was a real highlight as well. You have to see it and experience it and create some beautiful memories of your own. Enjoy!
Other tips: take a tuk tuk to get to the night markets and don't miss out on a visit to the Elephant Nature Park north of Chiang Mai where rescued Elephants roam freely. You can feed and bathe them in the river. Also, take a larger tuk tuk to Doi Suthep, a magnificent temple north of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CassandiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel is stunningly designed, yet calming and peaceful. Central location near Wat Phra Singh made strolling from temple to temple (in the high summer heat) quite manageable. Deluxe room was beautiful, very clean, and quiet. It was wonderful to spend mornings and evenings in the outdoor spaces within the grounds, and cool down in the pool after dusty days touring. The staff was most helpful, and we enjoyed the included breakfasts and a dinner prepared at the hotel. We stayed at the hotel the last evening before our late flight out, and it was hard to tear ourselves away!

Room Tip: Deluxe double - Room 10 - is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehitabel_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
1.8 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Property: Rachamankha
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing