We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most beautiful experiences”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #8 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Basildon Essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful experiences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent 6 glorious nights here in mid December. It really is a slice of tranquility and relaxation in busy Chiang Mai. The staff were very courteous and attentive and I thoroughly suggest you stay here when in Chiang Mai. Everything lived up to our expectations and we stayed in a beautiful Deluxe room, near the pool. The whole place has a calm and peaceful ambience and is an ideal 'getaway'. Just beautiful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddysw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    176
    51
    15
    4
See reviews for
136
572
68
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Rachamankha is excellent! We have been coming to Chiang Mai for Christmas for many years and stayed in numerous hotels. Rachamankha really stands out because it provides luxury surroundings and ambiance (we loved the fireplace and music) combined with perfect services. The staff are courteous and very attentive. The food, both breakfast and dinner, is very well thought through and cater for all tastes. The location is walking distance to the main attractions. We highly recommend this hotel. Oleg & Sophie (London)

Room Tip: Rooms are very clear and specious with amazing decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlegOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days while my husband was golfing in the area. The hotel itself is stunning. A beautifully designed building with some fabulous artwork all around you. The staff are very friendly, lovely food and a nice pool to relax by. My only complaint (and this is a purely personal preference) was that the bed had a very firm mattress. My husband thought it was great - helped prevent back niggles after 4 days on the golf course!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryPSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Loved this hotel. Gorgeous decor, endless courtyards. Staff was very helpful and attentive. Only gripe was concierge was not very knowledgable- could really only pull brochures/catalogues of tour companies etc out. However still would highly recommend this hotel. Right in old city and walking distance to everything. Wish there was a gym though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

i thought i would share with you some thoughts on this hotel
my boyfriend and i spent 4 weeks in Thailand and we spent 5 nights in this hotel.
Where to begin? it was amazing, the staff were incredible so friendly and really could not do enough to help us. nothing was to much trouble.
the hotel itself was beautiful and alot of thought has gone into the decore
we stayed on a B&B room and breakfast wow you did not go hungry the food was excelent and the would catre to your needs if you did not like certain foods.
location was good aswell a short walk from places to eat and a small taxi/tuk tuk ride into the new city.
so so worth a visit and very very worth the money

Room Tip: to be honest i dont think it matters what room you stay in as you will have a fab time anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rach J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights and loved every minute. The rooms were truly beautiful -we stayed in the standard and the superior rooms (which had a standard and a superior teddy bear in residence. respectively) as we had had to change our booking at the last minute - which they made no charge for. All the staff were the usual Thai standard of friendly, efficient, helpful and above all charming and the manager, Paul, a very useful English perspective on everything. Perfectly poitioned in the centre of towm and able to walk to pretty much everything in the city.

The only slight negative and I stress slight was the restaurant in the evening. Nice food but we generally ate better on our trip.

Overall an easy 5 star rating

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sussexb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

A stylish oasis in lovely Chiangmai off a small street behind Wat Phra Sing temple, where service was gracefully efficient and surroundings were tranquil and spacious. Within walking distance of one of the main streets yet far from the madding crowd; also conveniently only 10 minutes from the airport. Fairly recently built but in ancient Thai style, the rooms built around a central courtyard are large, traditionally furnished and bathrooms are roomy & well equipped. In another charming courtyard is the restaurant - a delightful spot for either their excellent breakfast or for dinner by candlelight with a traditional musician adding to the ambience. The hotel menu is varied and well-priced and certainly no more expensive than eating in some of the town's restaurants. Food & presentation all top notch, as you might expect from one of the relais & chateaux hotels. Thai food was excellent - we really didn't bother with anything Western! Service was the perfect combination of warm and friendly yet unobtrusive. Although there were many guests, the hotel never appeared busy, and guests just seemed to disappear into the woodwork somehow. Library was useful for reference material & internet access, (although there is also WiFi throughout), and whilst there is no facility for coffee or tea-making in the rooms, we did spot a decanter of brandy and some glasses in the library! The pool was perfect for lengths in the morning, and we often had it to ourselves in all its green surroundings. The General Manager was often on hand for a bit of a chat & friendly advice, rather than invisibly tucked away behind a desk, and his staff were charming and couldn't do enough for us - even to the extent of arranging for a purchase we had left to the last minute to be handled over the phone and delivered to the hotel for us. Can't really praise the Rachamankha enough, and we'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: Room 12 is right next to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 376 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
0.5 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#14 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Property: Rachamankha
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing