We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lanna, luxury and location!”
Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #9 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lanna, luxury and location!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I recently spent 4 wonderful nights at the Rachamankha in a deluxe room. The room was clean, spacious and beautifully furnished with a large and comfortable 4 poster canopy bed. The bathroom was well fitted (including rain water shower) and well stocked with a lovely selection of toiletries.

The architecture, art and grounds of the property are very unique and tranquil. The Hotel has been very tastefully designed with lots of Asian art and antiques throughout the property.

I had most of my meals at the hotel and they were all delicious. The breakfast was extremely generous where you could choose up to three different dishes, so you could have a variety that was made fresh to order (I highly recommend the fruit and chocolate crepe). The restaurant had an indoor and outdoor seating area both with great ambience, in particular the outdoor setting. Dinner choices included Thai, Burmese and Western style dishes where I especially enjoyed the Burmese cuisine. For lunch you could have your meal and drinks delivered to the beautiful pool area.

The Staff were very efficient, attentive, friendly and helpful; one Staff Member personally escorted me to the VIP Green Bus ticket office to arrange my Chiang Rai bus ticket as I was having trouble locating the place, this level of service was greatly appreciated.

The hotels offers a small spa menu, where I had a great traditional Thai massage, you can also go to the Oasis Spa around the corner where they have a very extensive range of spa treatments (which I can also recommend). The hotel also has a small gallery of art / antiques, shop and a library all tastefully done.

Although tucked away in a quiet street of the old City is still very central to many sights including Wat Phra Singh (1 min walk) and other ornate temples; 3 mins walk to the awesome Sunday night walking market and about 5 mins to Wat Chedi Luang. You could probably walk to the Tha Phae Gate in about 15 - 20 minutes without stopping at all the lovely shops and cafes along the way, although that would be hard.

To venture outside the old City was approximately 80 baht to Night Market / Warowat area via Tuk Tuk. For longer trips e.g. Doi Suthep, Borsang and other more outlying attractions I had the hotel arrange a taxi for about 300 baht per hour, you may find cheaper on the street but they use a reputable taxi company with comfortable and clean cabs and many drivers speak good English.

This is truly an amazing property and would love to stay here again; it is a pure oasis of luxury!

I can highly recommend, a real treat to stay at.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SydneyKate_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    181
    52
    16
    4
See reviews for
141
581
70
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before and their standards and value for money remain excellent. The hotel was full but the service was attentive and of the highest quality.We had not taken dinner at the hotel before but we were very pleased with the experience. The menu had a good choice of Thai and European dishes. The food was well presented and delicious. There was a good wine list, reasonably priced. The waiters were well trained and always there when wanted but never "in your face". Breakfast was a very civilised affair: taken outside in the courtyard in the relatively cooler winter weather was a nice leisurely way to start the day.
CRF

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRFLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Excellent evening: dining in the warm courtyard was heavenly. The food was beautifully prepared and accompanied by traditional music. Very peaceful place. We did not stay here but others did and enjoyed the tranquility.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ansubob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love the setting of this little boutique hotel - central location, classic architecture and certainly different than a normal hotel. It's only 15 minute away from the airport so very convenient. We tried the restaurant, car service, swimming pool, the massage and basically nothing dissappoints.
And since they only have a handful of rooms (20 or something), most of the time you felt like you are here in this huge mansion by yourself.
The room wasn't big in Thailand standard but sufficient. They don't do buffet style breakfast but to us it's even better as everything's made to order. We also tried their restaurant in lunch and it's quiet and food's great. Wish they have a full-blown spa but they only got a massage room and Thai massage's available, but it's decent.
There's a temple right behind the hotel and some restaurants within walking distance, and we felt safe walking around even at night. Also some convenient stores right outside so if you want something you can always just get it.
All in all we love our stay and hope we will go back some time. Love this place (both the hotel and the city)!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g4gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night with our 11 month old daughter. If we were staying in Chiang Mai longer we would have stayed here for sure!
We had a crib in our room with fresh sheets and a little bear for our little girl to snuggle with while she slept.
The hotel is not in the main part of Chiang Mai, where all the markets are, but it is a great location to see beautiful temples and has a nice street within walking distance with some shops, cafes and foot massage parlors.
We were also offered a fabulous breakfast with fresh fruit, waffles, french toast, egg combinations etc.. a great variety on the menu.
If you are looking for a beautiful stay, a little off the regular path but near enough, this is it! The staff was incredibly nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bosxco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
315 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Second stay at this hotel and just as good as the last time. A very simplistic clean modern and just plain excellent. Free wi go no nickle and dime. Breakfast in the courtyard is so peaceful in this bustling city

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muskoka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our second time to stay at Rachamankha. The central location, the tranquil setting and the stunning architecture together with impeccable service made it an easy choice to return.
Their breakfast is a true delight.
The restaurant offers a wide variety of food where all dishes are prepared with the true sense of Thai cooking.
I would recommend it anytime and will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruzanmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,363 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 381 in Chiang Mai
445 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,398 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,977 reviews
0.1 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 381 in Chiang Mai
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Property: Rachamankha
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing