We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You absolutely have to stay here.”
Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #9 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“You absolutely have to stay here.”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel is truly stunning. I could not get over how absolutely beautiful this space was. Each piece of furniture, each fabric, each decorative detail was so meticulously considered it couldn't help but inspire you. We worried that visiting this hotel with a boistrous 11 year old may be a problem, but this is a hotel that wants you to enjoy every aspect of what it has to offer. The library is a warm inviting space, the room (we stayed in the suite upstairs) was luxurious and the food was divine. The pool is huge, the staff are attentive but unobtrusive and the cocktails are dangerous! I am counting down the days until I can go back and pretend it's all mine!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    184
    54
    16
    4
See reviews for
146
590
71
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rome
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and a group had the pleasure of spending 6 night here in August. Service fantastic. Rooms very large and well decorated and well appointed. Breakfasts were excellent. Would highly recommend. Congratulations to Paul and his staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

I was exceptionally impressed by the Rachamankha.it is one of the best hotels in Thailand for its service and friendly accommodating staff ,it is so comfortable and peaceful right in the centre of the city. The rooms are large and individual with everything you can imagine you will or might need for a stress free stay. The staff and management are exceptional with nothing too much trouble. I would recommend this hotel highly.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Warran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Did not undertsand way the Mark was not Higuera before visiting the hotel. Now after 4 days I con agree with most of the negative aspects. A very nice And well done architecture but the service is very poor. Staff is very kind but not prepared for the hotel level. Them do not speak english, they put reused slippers in rooms, no kettle. They serve half breakfast you asked, rooms are very noisy as all people pass in front of your room. No service And bar at the swimming pool. No bikes available, ridiculous small map viven to client,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b0nstanislas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great location, beautiful architecture blending aspects of Thai culture, warm and friendly staff, good breakfast to start the day and brilliant pool to relax after a hard day's sightseeing. Large comfortable bedrooms and very atmospheric library.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I was divided as whether to stay here or at another hotel in the old city of Chiang Mai, both which reflected traditional Lanna style. I ended up choosing the other hotel, mainly due to the price point, but also because they would accept children. However, when a special offer came through on my email for Rachamankha I got in touch with them, asked if they would accept my 2 very well behaved children, and if we could have the 2 bedroom suite, and they said YES. FABULOUS! So we shared our time between the 2 hotels. They were both gorgeous, but this one was particularly special, adorned with antiques (and the reason that children are not encouraged) and with less than half the number of guests as the other, making it more intimate. The quality and attention to detail was more on the money (and the usual nightly rate reflected this). My husband and I probably preferred it here at Rachamankha, and thought it one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed (and we have stayed in some gorgeous hotels). The kids preferred the other, maybe because they didn't have us constantly on their backs to be "careful of the antiques"! The pool here was sublime and the restaurant was in another league. The food was very intricate and at a high quality, and the price reflected it. The restaurant itself was very beautiful, but the music they played just didn't fit in and made the ambiance a bit confusing, not a big problem, but when this hotel prides itself on attention to detail I thought it was worth mentioning. Perhaps the one thing that didn't work quite so much in favour of Rachamankha was its location, which was not quite as central and required a bit of a walk, maybe 15 minutes to get to the heart of Rajdamnoen Road, and getting a tuk tuk wasnt so easy. We had the luxury (and it truly was) of the 2 bedroom suite with lounge and 2 bathrooms, as well as 2 fully equipped and art filled bedrooms. Wow, could have stayed here all day. Would come back here for a quite interlude with my loved one, but probably not with the kids again.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suite was a treat!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carducci_Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My recent stay at Rachamankha was fabulous! My room was overlooking the serene and beautiful pool. I particularly loved the hotel at, when it was lit up and it really made the whole ambiance. I felt like I was living in some sort of a vacation palace. The room was spacious, well decorated in contemporary style with an Asian touch and equipped with an iPod docking station, very powerful hair dryer and mini bar. The bed was very comfortable and they use great quality linens that always made me want to roll on the bed whenever I came home to my room. Although they have only one restaurant, I never got tired of either their food or ambiance. The restaurant looks different day and night and the food is always amazing and has vast selections. Their wine list is quite large and has everything to please different palates. Since I was on a business trip, I had my meetings with several business partners over breakfast at the restaurant every morning. It was very quiet and the staff was professional, knowing when and not to interrupt my conversations while still providing exceptional service.

Chiang Mai is a very spread-out city, therefore; it is always an advantage to stay close to or in the heart of town. Rachamankha is centrally located in Chiang Mai Old Town where the popular Sunday market and Wat Prasihg are. While the hotel is walking distantance to several tourist attractions and the market, it is removed from the busy streets. You will embrace the serenity, very zen and peaceful environment of the hotel as soon as you walk into the hotel’s gate. Lastly, their well-trained staff completed my wonderful experience! They were very warm, efficient and welcoming. I sent the laundry out the morning and got it back the same day in a great condition with a reasonable price. They even went above and beyond by going to the post office to send my packages back to Bangkok for me.

Did I mention that the GM, Mr. Paul Walker, was one of the kindest GMs I have ever met? He will be happy to do anything to make sure that you will have the best experience at his property.

I strongly recommend to book Rachamankha for an upcoming visit to Chiang Mai and if you have any questions, I would happily help answer anything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelwithPim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,404 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 386 in Chiang Mai
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,433 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,020 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Property: Rachamankha
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing