We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Getaway”
Review of Rachamankha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rachamankha
Ranked #9 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Getaway”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the beautiful Rachmankha. The property sits in a lush setting, tucked in a quiet corner. Its always uplifting and calming to turn into the property after a very hot day out. Rooms are spacious, decor is modern yet rustic. You get a large old-fashion key with a red chinese knot. Paul, the GM, was prompt and efficient in arranging a late airport pickup for us and check-in was a breeze. What really made this place stands out was really the service - discreet and prompt - what makes a good hotel. All staff from the front desk, driver to the housekeeping, speaks good English, were efficient and friendly.The concierge was great in arranging all our plans. Breakfast quality was good, the pool at the back was cool and inviting although we didn't have the time to go for a dip. You can get a wide variety of cheap to upmarket places to stay in Chiang Mai, I'm glad we chose Rachmankha..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElvinaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    181
    52
    16
    4
See reviews for
141
581
70
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

So pretty, and tranquil. For those who want to be a stone's throw away from the action, but desire some peace and quiet, Rachamankha is where you need to stay. Have breakfast in the courtyard listening to bird song, plan your day to shop the Sunday walking street 2 min away and visit the Old City’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh just in front of the hotel.

You can literally hear the birdsong in the morning. It is very quiet, which is a huge plus as the other properties are next to bars and the very touristy outfits. The owner of Rachamankha lives in the compound that’s why it maintains that tranquilty. Has a pool but recommend going around the corner for spas/massages, there is a proper spa called Oasis. Rooms do not overlook the pool – so sunbathers have lots of privacy.

Paul the GM is very friendly and comes around to say hi to the guests, I had an enjoyable coffee post-breakfast chat with him and hearing tales about an expat's life in Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Some of the superior rooms behind the lounge are bigger (just because of the layout) so try to reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ying Yi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I go to Chiang Mai quite regularly and have stayed at various premises across the city and surrounding regions and, for me, the Rachamankha is the singular stand-out. I recently stayed there again for a brief two-night sojourn and it reconfirmed my earlier impressions that it remains the best up-market boutique hotel in the city.

The physical design and layout of the premises and grounds are stunning and, combined with the welcoming friendliness and professionalism of the staff, it makes the Rachamankha an oasis of serene beauty in the heart of old town Chiang Mai. There is a calming aura about the hotel that descends upon you almost as soon as you pass through its walled gates. Being a relatively small hotel, the staff lavish personalised attention on their guests, remembering names and even small details about preferred activities and, in my case, dietary requirements which is very endearing.

I note that some earlier reviews baulk at the prices which I don't quite understand as, IMO, the Rachamankha offers excellent value for money. Yes, the rates are a little higher than other city hotels in Chiang Mai but they are still very competitively priced and, at the end of the day, you are getting so much more in return. Almost anywhere else in the world, a 5-star boutique hotel of this quality and level of service would command much, much steeper prices.

In a nutshell, the Rachamanka is my favourite hotel in CM and the one I recommend unhesitatingly to anyone I know who is travelling to the Rose of the North.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siamsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Rachamankha is a beautifully designed boutique hotel in an excellent location within the old city walls of Chiang Mai but in a peaceful setting off a quiet soi. The rooms are comfortable, of good size with high ceilings. The dining room is spacious and elegant and breakfast, which came inclusive of the room rate, was excellent. The staff are very attentive in an unobtrusive way and a minor problem which we encountered was rectified with great speed and efficiency. The free wi-fi connection gave good internet speeds. There is a cosy bar and drinks are also served in the semi open air lounge. We travel a lot and often stay at the well known 5 star branded hotels but the Rachamankha, which has more character, stands up to the best of them, and gives excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRFLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

On Thursday last ( April 26, 2012 ) I had the occasion to once again attend an event at the Rachamankha Hotel in Chiang Mai, Thailand. This one was a classical guitar recital. The hotel
also provided superb canapes and delightful red and white wines during the intermission. It was a
lovely evening. You can always rely upon the Rachamankha Hotel to make your event a spectacular success.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We had a chance to arrange wedding ceremony at Rachamankha. All the decoration for our wedding is outstanding, elegance and romantic. The service and all staffs were great and very helpful for perfect ceremony. We got many compliments from our guest.

We spent a night at Suite rooms at Rachamankha. It was a perfect stay. Claim and peaceful sleep, unique architecture. Overall, we impress in all service, place and will visit again for sure

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gift C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were very pleased to stay at this hotel; it felt very peaceful and I loved the design. Great pool to relax at. Breakfast a la carte; We stayed at a top floor room; I had read some reviews that the room on the ground floor were noisy. I don't understand what poeple complain about sometime as it was very quiet!
The staff gave us some ear plugs because there is an infamous roster in the houses behind the hotel. To be honest I did not even hear it and I am a light sleeper... there is no traffic noise whatsoever. If you want to have a beautiful; luxurious and calm hotel; then I believe there is no better hotel in chiang mai so closely located to the town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seize_the_day_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,363 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 381 in Chiang Mai
445 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,398 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,977 reviews
0.1 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 381 in Chiang Mai
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachamankha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachamankha

Property: Rachamankha
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9 | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rachamankha 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the center of the old moated city of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Rachamankha is just one minute’s stroll to the old city’s most important and impressive temple, Wat Phra Singh; just 2 minutes stroll to the city’s newest and most exciting night market the Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market, and a wide choice of bars and restaurants from local to international in style all within a few minutes’ walk of Rachamankha. Unique for a city hotel Rachamankha is renowned for its peaceful and very private atmosphere, and it’s incredible architecture. The hotel, just 22 rooms and 2 suites, is set in 2 acres of manicured grounds and the architecture pays homage to Chiang Mai’s golden age, the Lanna period, offering guests a unique stay in a unique property with a true sense of place. Rachamankha is also the only Secret Retreats property in northern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rachamankha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachamankha Chiang Mai
Rachamankha Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing