We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nirvana in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Ranked #1 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

You've heard enough good things about this property, but I'll just briefly say two things about my MO experience. First, when our taxi drove us away from MO, I could finally relate to Puyi, the last emperor of China, who was forced out of the Forbidden City. I felt very sad leaving MO. There is no nirvana in the world, but if there is one, this is it! Secondly, after Chiang Mai's MO experience, I've sponsored a child from Thailand through World Vision as a way to give back to Thai culture that has enriched me aesthetically and spiritually.

If you're in Chiang Mai, you should stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zermatt2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 561 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Very difficult to review this hotel. The place is simply extraordinary.
It IS beautiful, stunning, slightly overwhelming! Huge!
One could feel in a very amazingly well done theme park, as you arrive with your taxi on a typical busy Chiang Mai road, then you turn a corner, and enter this amazing paradise hotel! NB: clientele seems 90% chinese.

But we loved it!
We stayed in a villa - fully recommend villas versus colonial suites. Villas are in a lush rice plantation garden. They are STUNNING! (Not necessarly very practical with stairs outside, but are made like old converted rice barns).
We stayed here with our 2 daughters aged 9 and 7. So was a bit tricky to have them sleeping in the downstairs room with no inside connection. Wouldn't have been ok if they had been younger.

The staff is simply charming! They are wonderful. They do remember your name and habits (such as your favourite cocktail). They are so smiley!

What made our stay very special:
- the villa in the rice paddy
- the staff
- cocktails on the bar next to the French restaurant with best view ever (on the rice field).
- planting rice. Do take this activity. Really worth it. Amazing experience.
- bikes. The hotel lended us some bikes for our stay, so we went around the whole property. Amazing. Our girls LOVED it.
- breakfast. THE best ever!

NB: Seems like the hotel just changed owners, and is not a Mandarin Oriental anymore. Not surprising, as I cannot imagine this hotel being profitable. The property is huge - must be impossible to maintain this place. Our villa could do with a bit of renovation (outdoor jacuzi, coffee machine,..).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Murielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is the place for a perfect stay. Very large rooms, an incredible choice and quality of food for breakfast, absolute fantastic thai dinner at the Grand Lanna and incredible Dim Sum for lunch at Fujian.
The staff are so friendly and attentive - special regards to Khun Aritsara Yuatyong - they make your stay pleasant and remembering.
The loss of the Mandarin Group does not alter the high standard of Dhara Dhevi.
Wake up in the morning at 9am with the sound of a flute player sitting on his buffalo in the garden - just serene.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having booked this accommodation when it rested under the umbrella of the Mandarin Oriental and expecting the exceptional high standards experienced in Bangkok, (unbeknown to us, this became Dhara Dhevi on 15 Aug 2013) we were somewhat surprised by the rushed, impersonal greeting on arrival and poor standard of cleanliness in the deluxe villa with jaccuzzi (cupboard doors falling off, air conditioning control unit filthy) and incredibly noisy families in adjacent villas (not the tranquil ambiance we were assured ...). Credit where due, security immediately checked out noise once reported and promised to check every hour, and with the added inconvenience of overflowing toilet on first morning, housekeeping management immediately had us relocated to a honeymoon suite with private pool, sauna and jacuzzi. In all honesty, this 'upgrade' was more than we would have hoped for but most welcome as cleanliness and solitude in this villa was outstanding.... added with a convenient location of brisk walk across paddy fields to pool and fitness centre, this certiainly was a nicer place to be.

With buggy's collecting you from your villa within 5 mins of a call, a shuttle bus to and from town, excellent choice of breakfast buffet/waiter service, and staff remembering your names at every destination, this hotel deserves to be rated 5 star, though sadly not matched to the utter exquisite perfection of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok (therefore not surprised it no longer is linked). Room service food choices are excellent quality and very reasonably priced (unlike the wine which is incredibly expensive at around $100 per bottle..!)

We joined the 'cookery school' for one morning which was interesting, fun and informative. Booked from 10:30 to 1:30, our 'healthy options' experience included appetizers of mostly raw ingredients, prawn soup, main fish dish and sweet potato dessert .... Meals cooked were eaten with other cooks, drinks to be purchased separately and sadly complimentary apron souvenier not included, rather disappointing especially as branded Mandarin Oriental would be extinct within the week! Cookery school really only lasted about 2 hours, but lengthend by eating....

Would we come to this hotel again, probably yes as it appears to be the best in chaing mai, but saying this, we wouldn't return to chiang mai as it really, for us, did not offer the diversity and splendour of Bangkok or chaing rai (highly recommend all visit White Temple near chaing rai and long neck tribes ..).

Room Tip: Colonial suites are within hotel complex (not seen), villas are really like individual houses within...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheUKChapmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A truly extraordinary creation of comfort and beauty coupled with such wonderful friendly service. The Dhara Dhevi certainly sets the bar to a height few others will clear. The attention to detail and genuine enthusiasm of the staff to cater for our every need just made us feel great for every moment we were there. Without hesitation would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The sight of this property was overwhelming, but when we arrived at our villa, we were speechless. Our accommodations were spectacular, comfortable and homey! We tried the Thai restaurant on the property and it was wonderful as was the dinner show. We returned a second time for dinner. The spa was very nice and the pools were great. But in the long run, this beautiful property was secondary to the phenomenal staff. They were engaging, helpful, and provided a genuine and caring atmosphere. Our fondest memories were provided by the staff with the beauty of the resort as a background.

Room Tip: Try a villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nib22152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

There isn’t anything negative to say about the Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi.

The property is stunning, and is arranged like a charming, antique city, complete with winding pathways, villas of all shapes and sizes, small shrines, shopping village, swimming pools, rice paddies, and the majestic spa and lobby buildings. It is such a peaceful place to relax before or after a busy day in Chiang Mai. The feeling is complete Zen.

The Thai hospitality really did shine through -- the staff was incredibly helpful and the service was quietly comprehensive, and not overwhelming. We found the villa with plunge pool spacious, and loved the outdoor shower and deep Jacuzzi tub. The plunge pool was refreshing and the view of the rice paddies was serene and relaxing. It was such a comfortable and intimate space, that we even chose to have dinner delivered on our last night. The food at the property was all delicious, from the huge breakfast buffet offering Asian, European and American options as well as fresh local choices, to the Thai and Chinese restaurants.

The spa was another wonderful experience. The range of services was really impressive, and it would have been great to be able to spend more time there. The Thai massage was the best I’ve ever had, and the facilities are beautiful.

If/when we return to Chiang Mai, I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Go for the two story villa with plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthernCross99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
4.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 393 in Chiang Mai
563 reviews
2.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#18 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 393 in Chiang Mai
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Address: 51/4 Moo 1, Chiang Mai - Sankampaeng Road | Tha Sala, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $513 - $1,302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai is set on 60 acres of verdant tranquil grounds in the historical heartland of Northern Thailand. The hotel's unique design draws from the region's rich architectural and cultural heritage that flourished during the Lanna period, which lasted from the mid-13th century until the mid-16th century, and enjoyed a further resurgence in the last 200 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai
Mandarin Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing