We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Ranked #1 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Visited this hotel the first time on a company sponsored meeting. I was overwhelmed at the sheer beauty of the property upon arrival. The check-in was a bit tedious due to the number of our party arriving at the same time, but this was quickly forgotten due to the hospitality of the staff and the cordial greeting.

My room was awesome, spacious, with wonderful view. Large bathroom with strong and hot shower (a must for me) with plenty of closet space. Bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning was perfect.

As mentioned, the facility is exceptional and the grounds are second to non as far as landscaping and overall beauty goes. Plenty of paths and walkways which are well marked. The rice paddy in the idle of the place near the bungalows was a nice change.

The fitness centre is adequate, could use more weights (if you are a serious weight lifter) but it works and you can get what you need done with a little effort.

The food was as good as I have eaten at any hotel in Asia. Thai dishes were superb an the western food was really nice. Enjoyed the variety at breakfast. The bar was well stocked and the staff there was genuinely cordial and funny. also enjoyed the pool bar as well (check out the pool in the early morning...quite quiet and refreshing, well maintained.

Tours arranged by the hotel were exceptional, visited the elephant sanctuary and a local traditional village in the area.

I am looking forward to a visit with my wife in the near future. this hotel is one of the best I have ever had the pleasure of staying in.

Room Tip: Rooms in Building C were exceptional, and I look forward to trying the bungalows on my next visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalNomadity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

582 - 588 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

One of our favourite hotels anywhere this hotel deserves at least a week of any serious travellers time.spectacular and unique it is a destination in its own right..the three restaurants are unmissable and range of activities amazing..a word of warning.. If you have come from Bangkok you may find the service a little slow ..relax and you will find you mellow into the spirit of this haven of peace

Room Tip: Choice fantastic..go for a villa and nothing will ever be as good again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordie2666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Splendid hotel with everything but more than you would expect from a hotel! Got upgraded from normal villa to deluxe villa with jacuzzi. The villa have 2 floors, with living area with indoor and outdoor area (indoor with tv and Piano) and pantry on g/f, bedroom and bathroom with outdoor jacuzzi on 1/f. You could rent (for free) the latest DVD selection from the hotel library's wide collection (miniature block buster) and enjoy a relaxing night enjoying movies and beer.

As for hotel entertainment, there is a humongous lap pool around the colonial suites for those who wishes for a sporty swim and a tropical pool by the villas overlooking the awesome rice paddy fields! I spent my afternoons chilling by the pool listening to lounge jazz on my iPod, watching birds and dragon flies flying in and out of the rice fields. In the late afternoon, I took my bike (free to rent from the hotel) and cycled down the villas pathway exploring other parts of the huge hotel site, stopped at the largest paddy fields, parked my bike and walked into the fields to enjoy the nature with nice breeze and the natural environment (bonus was I had all this to myself as there were no visitors or staff at all). After the paddy exploration, grabbed my map and cycled down to the organic farm. You can see all the veggies there available on the breakfast buffet table (how fresh could that be!). The food in general is nicely presented, tasty and coffee lovers must try the ice coffee at the mandarin oriental coffee shop at the shopping village just outside of the entrance, it's awesome!

I would definitely give 9.9 out of 10 for the hotel! Sorry the 0.1 went to the crappy TV we had our villa. I'm sure the hotel could afford and at least upgrade the old 90's type TV to a LED/plasma (it's 2013 mate!)

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Dor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I would recommend this property to anyone who visits Chiang Mai - it was simply wonderful. I travel about150 days a year and this is probably one of the nicest resorts I have ever been too. Just lovely, wonderful people and attentive service. A+

Room Tip: Any room is unbelievable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We visited with our young children (8,7 and 2) an we all had a blast. The location is fantastic and all areas I the resort are easily accessible by short flat bike ride, walk or golf cart.
Service was impeccable throughout the hotel. Everyone seemed genuinely interested in making the stay as memorable as possible. The kids club was very enjoyable for our children. We also participated in the family rice planting activity which was great. We booked two tours at the hotel and both where very well arranged and
without fault. We had meals at the all the restaurants and cry time the food was great and they had no problem making special arrangements for our kids meals. The only downside we could find is that it is an expensive experience, but one that we enjoyed thoroughly.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmporraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I don't really know where to start in reviewing this hotel. It is truly beautiful, the service is exceptional, the rooms perfect and the restaurants wonderful.

It is rare to go somewhere where not only is there nothing to fault, but they constantly exceed the very high expectations you very quickly come to have. We travelled with 4 year old twin girls - they were treated like little princesses and this made our holiday so much easier - if the kids are happy, you are happy!

The food across the hotel is great, but we really would single out the French restaurant - the ambiance, service and top quality food made this possibly one of the best places we have ever eaten.

Without doubt, this is one of the very best hotels in the world and the team there should be incredibly proud of what they have achieved.

Room Tip: Choose a villa if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went to Chiang Mai to celebrate my birthday and stayed at this hotel for three nights.The hotel is very huge and the building is very beautiful.The architecture is a art and impressed us.We have to take buggy car or ride bicycle(which all complimentary) to go around this hotel because it's big up to 60 acres.Our room is deluxe villa which had two floors .The villa is spacious and the bed is comfortable.But we rarely use the the living room at first floor because it is open space and atoo much mosquitoes.The sleeping quality is good except the third night we were waken up at midnight due to the sudden air conditioner sharp noise.The breakfast is great and had a lot of category to choose.The food is delicate and delicious. The dining environment is great and had beautiful view at terrace.I am very enjoy the leisure activities at hotel.There are two beautiful swimming pools, library,tennis court and rice field.We participate the rice planting activity,massage class,fitball exercise declass and horse car riding.They were all funny and interesting.The staffs are friendly and the service is good but as not good as I expect.We tried all restaurants and the taste are good.Overall it is still a great resort for vocation especially riding bicycle exploring this huge hotel and swim with beautiful view are all fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arielkuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
4.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 393 in Chiang Mai
563 reviews
2.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#12 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 393 in Chiang Mai
3,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Address: 51/4 Moo 1, Chiang Mai - Sankampaeng Road | Tha Sala, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $517 - $1,302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai is set on 60 acres of verdant tranquil grounds in the historical heartland of Northern Thailand. The hotel's unique design draws from the region's rich architectural and cultural heritage that flourished during the Lanna period, which lasted from the mid-13th century until the mid-16th century, and enjoyed a further resurgence in the last 200 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai
Mandarin Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing