We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Nearby Hotels
Sirilanna Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$102
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$97
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$96
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
$176
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$192
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$375
$340
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,425)
Filter reviews
1,425 results
Traveler rating
1,248
119
38
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,248
119
38
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolonial suitethai restaurantrice fieldswater buffalomandarin orientalkids clubcake shople grand lannacolonial poolfarang seslanna kingdomshopping villagegolf buggiesloy khamrice planting activityplunge poolfour seasons
Filter
Updating list...
651 - 656 of 1,425 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Don't read my review. Just make a reservation.
This hotel is one of the most incredible most beautiful hotels I have ever seen.
I am not going to bore you with details because pictures tell a thousand words.
I have no complaints just compliments.
Service was impeccable and that's probably due to the brand.
Amazing. Can not wait to visit again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KaspXhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi, Chiang Mai is Paradise on Earth.
Nothing prepares you as to how beautiful and amazing this resort is... the artwork and carvings on every building is just astounding.The property is eton 60 acres of working organic self sufficient farm land.The vegetable garden alone is mind boggling. (All excess produce is donated to the orphanage and temple and other produce sold to local community at weekly market.

We were upgraded to Deluxe Villa with plunge Pool (Villa 21) Amazing.
two stories of luxe...with the most amazing view over the rice paddies it is hard to believe you are just 10mins from the centre of town.

The team here are just fantastic with special mention to Khun Carmen and Khun Nousch who have been incredibly welcoming.

You enter your private villa via a traditional gate into the downstairs area with huge living room dining room, fully equipped kitchen and bathroom then out on to your terrace with daybeds and pool.

Then it is upstairs via beautifully carved double doors to the bedroom with the biggest bed I have ever seen study off to the left all overlooking this tropical paradise with the working rice paddies.

The bathroom dressing room shower toilet are just perfect and vast I have never seen such attention to detail.

The two pools, the 3 restaurants and Dhevi SPA are all world class and will not disappoint...your kids will love it just foor the fact the can bicycle round this magnificent property...my son has already said " Dad when we come back to Thailand can we go to Oriental in Bangkok and come back here". Yes son of course. :)


I have always thought that The Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok was the best hotel in the world and it is....this must be the best resort in the world...it truly is a little bit of paradise on Earth.

Room Tip: Splash out and get a villa
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aexcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is our second visit to the Dhara Dhevi Mandarin Oriental. We loved this hotel so much the first time round 3 years ago that we decided to come back. We are a family of 2 adults and 3 young children. The first time we had a villa, but because of the stairs and our youngest being just 2 decided on two interconnecting colonial suites. The first impressions of the hotel is how amazing the setting is and how incredible the whole complex makes you feel - as though you were in a Thai palace. However, small annoying things kept cropping up from patchy service due to poor communication skills, to the old tube television losing it's colour in one room and the DVD player not working in the other which was irritating for when the children wanted to watch a movie before bedtime. Other annoying things were when a poolside bbq buffet was scheduled to begin at 630 that food was not ready until 40 minutes later. The New Years celebrations were lovely and the food amazing as was the organic garden dinner in the rice paddies. I kept getting the sense that staff training was not up to Mandarin scratch. Some staff were fantastic but were let down by their colleagues who were not so good and they were constantly trying to rectify problems as quickly as possible. The colonial pool area was understaffed and the one person on duty was not terribly attentive. Cabanas were not cleaned when guests left which left the place looking a bit dishevelled. The Colonial pool itself needs a good scrubbing as the grout was filthy and the spa area had a lot of black debris (grout, mould?) floating. The colonial rooms were big and beautiful if a little dark, the bathrooms slightly out dated with dark wood and fiddly showers and terrible low powered hair dryers some of which didn't even fit into the socket (this due to the fact that the socket was in a cramped drawer). Again, televisions were antiquated - why have a high quality dvd player with a 10 year old tv? It was hard to hire a bicycle when we wanted to. The buffet breakfast was lovely and bountiful with very nice and helpful staff, house keeping attendants were also very efficient, hardworking and helpful as was those in the spa which is in a beautiful Thai pavilion. The kids club is brilliant and run by great staff and full of crafts for the children to do. They arranged rice planting, water buffalo riding and other activities for the children. I wanted so much to love this Mandarin like we did the first time round but didn't have the same impression unfortunately which is such a shame, but then one realises that the hotel group is franchised which would explain the inconsistency with other more perfect Mandarins.

Room Tip: Villas can be difficult with very young children due to stairs and pool. Colonial suites are located near to the main hotel and the larger colonial pool.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FamilyHennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

but I would come back to spend more money with you
you were all very nice, and everything was perfect and awesome and beautiful
and I would like to thank you once again
i could ask only for more fruits at breakfast

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fobski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We saw The Bachorlette on TV in Canada and new we needed to see this resort!! Very Pricey But we were able to take a horse and buggy ride around the grounds and This place is a beauty!!
Like I said we saw it on TV and it really is that nice!! A short drive from Chaing Mai and I do not think you would ever leave the grounds..

Room Tip: The Hotel has rooms or There are private chalets..
Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank sassygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews