We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Ranked #2 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Overveen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stunning! From the moment of arrival to the moment of departure. We stayed in the 4p+ suite which is immense. Attention is payed to every detail, services are outstanding and staff is committed to make the stay an ultimate experience. The total hotel surface is very large but bikes are buggies are provided upon request. Out of the 2 swimming pool we prefered the smaller one overlooking the rice fields. Villa's will give you a more quiet and nature experience, but having stayed in both, we prefered the slightly more luxurious suites. Shuttle service to Chiang Mai is very convenient and the driver will drop you off at the river side upon request. Internet comes at a surcharge which looks foolish in this environment. We felt that restaurants were overpriced and prefered to go downtown. The total experience is of ultimate class and we will certainly come back if we are in Chiang Mai.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank duyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    115
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
340
542
51
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in the Colonial villas - and had an exceptional stay overall.

Beautiful rooms staring into the lake and the greens. Very nice pool.

Loved visiting the organic farm.

Very nice breakfast. It was my birthday and the hotel just knew the right balance between ensuring privacy and acknowledging the birthday.

We took the shuttle to the night market - again experience handled very well

The only disappointment was the concierge - where there was mix-up which was subsequently sorted.

Overall highly recommend - and I would recommend the colonial suites over the villa!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANBAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Beautiful built - only 7-8 years old but built like an old Thai palace. We stayed in the colonial suites which are MASSIVE. The rooms are in a row of 2 storied buildings built in colonial style and are HUGE with a large hall (and attached toilet), a living room (at least 150-200 sq ft), bedroom around 150-175sq ft, and a bathroom (at least 175-200 sq ft) with a Jacuzzi, shower, warlk in wardrobe, his-n-hers basins etc.

Went for a run around the property and the villas looked even better - built like actual small thai houses with a gate and a small compound.

HUGE pool (unfortunately did not use!)

The Thai restaurant is great (and not too expensive), the breakfast was superb. Only location is a bit far from the main city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikastandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKG
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was an amazing vacation away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
Upon approaching the hotel it takes your breath away and you forget about all your worries.
I was very glad we made this choice to stay here.

The rooms are fantastic and the peace and serenity around the whole complex is to die for.
Breakfast buffet is fantastic and the 2 pools were amazing and clean.
The spa facilities were fantastic and the masseuse were amazing.

A definite must visit.....its amazing to think this was built from scratch not more than 10yrs ago..it looks like a palace from a byone era.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiang mai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Me and my family stayed here upon first moving to Chiang Mai and loved it. It had a great feel and lovely service. What more can you ask for. You and your family can not go wrong with this place. We have since found us a nice home right outside the city to live permanently.


Cathy and family

Room Tip: Come when it is not hot in the high season
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at The Dhari Devi twice, and we are looking forward to our return this coming August. Eight nights seems like a long time to stay at one property, particularly since we have done pretty much all of the Chiang Mai tourist activities, but this property is so spectacular in its design, and the service is so terrific, we can't wait to go back. Much like the Oriental in Bangkok, the Dhara Devi can be a destination in its own right.

Room Tip: Try the Villa with a plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

It was one of the most beautifully worked up resort and great rooms supplemented with good restaurants as well as my favourite the Spa. The experience starts from the airport with a excellent stretch limos waiting to fetch you and only within 15 mins voila the hotel shows up. great staff good hospitality and overall great experience. I would rate it as a hotel one must stay in before you die

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BirjuGariba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
2,287 reviews
4.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
397 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,922 reviews
3.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 375 in Chiang Mai
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Property: The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Address: 51/4 Moo 1, Chiang Mai - Sankampaeng Road | Tha Sala, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai is set on 60 acres of verdant tranquil grounds in the historical heartland of Northern Thailand. The hotel's unique design draws from the region's rich architectural and cultural heritage that flourished during the Lanna period, which lasted from the mid-13th century until the mid-16th century, and enjoyed a further resurgence in the last 200 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai
Mandarin Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing