We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all my expectations and beyond!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Ranked #2 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in August 2008 and, as I was not a Tripadvisor member at that stage, I am only writing about it now. In fact, let it be said that is how long the memory lingers on of such a fine resort. I stayed here for a week and travelled alone. I had the most memorable experience, pampered with excellent service, food and activities to fill every moment of the day. The library was a wonderful place in which to work, explore, read, relax or even just pick up either a cd or a dvd, and the choices were infinite. The architecture was beautiful. The service was underlined with graciousness, generosity and kindness. Never before and never again have I had such impeccable service, I was truly humbled. I learnt a lot about the Thai as a people. I had occasion to travel to the Mhong village and to the great temple at the top of the hill. The view was spectacular. I also took a tour to ride elephants in the forests - an experience I could never forget.

My accommodation at the Dhara Dhevi was superb. I had dinner at the Chinese, as well as at the Thai restaurant on the resort and I had tea at the tearoom in the village and I can say that the food is amazing and of course the service immaculate.
Sometimes, I decided to have dinner under my gazebo at my villa overlooking the rice fields. i was served like royalty. My table prepared for me, with a fresh orchid and new candle and then my diner was served for me. The waiters even wanted to wait on me whilst I had my dinner, although I preferred to call them once i had eaten.
Although I travelled alone, I was always welcomed with open arms.

The spa at the resort needs particular mention. I had the Indian treatment and at the end of it I felt 10 years younger, totally relaxed and a new person. I would highly recommend anyone visiting this resort to have at least one spa treatment.

I will certainly visit this fine resort again in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 1,388 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

Fabulous hotel, unique Northern Thai architecture, very well landscaped, polite and friendly staff, tasty food, beautiful spa... couldn't say enough! A really great experience! Highly highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nakrishya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Splendid architecture, very well landscaped, picturesque scenaries, serene environment, beautiful nature, very friendly, polite and well trained staff, generous and efficeint housekeeping, mouth watering and tasty food at all 3 restaurants, beautiful spa, amazing villas with perfect amneties, organized, neat and tidy library......

Eveything, everyone, and every detail at Mandarin Oriental Dhara Devi made our stay an unforgettable experience.

Highly highly recommneded!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hani T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Magnificent property, fabulous hotel, attentive and competent staff. Cooking School was terrific! Tiger Kingdom was also amazing!

Room Tip: 2BR Villas with Pool are spectacular; liked being near the Spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveninc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We just returned from our 3rd Christmas at the Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai. This is truly one the most magical spots to stay. It was so nice to be greeted and remembered by the staff. We booked a Deluxe Colonial Suite to be close to the pool and were very happy with the exception of the late party one night.

We did not use the resort as much as in years past but still loved the room, library, spa and overall ambiance of the resort. This was booked via our AMEX Fine hotels plan which included the fabulous breakfast and a few other perks. My wife took advantage of the spa and really enjoyed her treatment albeit it was very expensive for a massage in Thailand.

The only thing that does drive me nuts at the Dhara Dhevi is the charge for wifi. It is free in the library which is where we primarily used it but with jetlag it would be nice to sit in the room and email etc without the charge. Hence the "value" rating set at very good. The room rate is hefty enough and as a 3rd time visitor staying more than 7 nights on each of our stays it would be a nice thing to have included. In addition, the service can be a bit slow when you call for anything from room service. We waited 45 minutes to get some plates delivered but Thai time is to be expected.

I did find an awesome Thai laundry lady out to the right of the resort about half a block for a 1/16th the price of hotel. Very easy and always well pressed clothing - I love Thai laundry. I know this sounds funny but I would rather spend my baht on shopping and eating.

The Christmas dinner was spectacular. They brought the boys choir in again and we loved it. The food is ridiculous with plenty of choices. Our kids love the fat Thai Santa and his cute elves.

It was another excellent stay at the Dhara Dhevi we look forward to our 4th stay soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckayjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in August as a family with two daughters aged 14 and 12 and it was fabulous. The hotel is stunning with its Thai architecture and our villa was amazing - 2 villas with own pool and each villa was two storeys. The best bit for us was cycling everywhere around the resort - popping to spa for amazing treatments, library to borrow dvd or check emails, whizzing to pool or tennis courts. We used the gym and tennis courts each day and were always provided with towels, water etc which was lovely. Breakfast was amazing - loved the honeycomb especially. We tried all restaurants and favourite was the Thai which was lovely. We also tried a cooking afternoon and were completely spoilt having the teaching kitchen to ourself - fabulous chef/teacher called Om - we ate our fab creations in our own dining area in between cooking each course - highly recommend. Loved sitting out looking out over the paddy fields both during the day and evening - just lovely. Only downside is every other hotel we stayed at on our trip (Laos and back to Chiang Mai - boutique hotel) couldn't match the Mandarin.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoodwoodSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Having stayed at Mandarin Oriental hotels in the past, and reading good things about Chiang Mai, we decided to stay for the holidays. We had previously stayed at the Four Seasons Chiang Mai and had a wonderful experience. Unfortunately, we wish we'd gone back to the Four Seasons as the hotel was overpriced and a real disappointment. While the overall property is large and pretty, and the intent is to create a 19th century experience, we never felt that we had a five star experience, although we were paying five star prices. While the food was good and the staff was friendly, the pricing was way too high for an experience like the one we had. Perhaps this is why it was not surprising that it was less than 1/2 full during the Christmas holiday, while other properties we visited were overflowing with guests.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wrldwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 395 in Chiang Mai
595 reviews
1.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#21 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,105 reviews
2.1 mi away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
2.1 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Address: 51/4 Moo 1, Chiang Mai - Sankampaeng Road | Tha Sala, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $479 - $917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai is set on 60 acres of verdant tranquil grounds in the historical heartland of Northern Thailand. The hotel's unique design draws from the region's rich architectural and cultural heritage that flourished during the Lanna period, which lasted from the mid-13th century until the mid-16th century, and enjoyed a further resurgence in the last 200 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai
Mandarin Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing