We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, exclusive with excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Ranked #2 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic, exclusive with excellent service!”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Prior to the trip, we read a lot about the positive reviews on hotel and we had very high expectation of the resort.

The road leading to the resort can be quite misleading as you'll have to go through the small lanes. When were arrived, we were warmly welcome with jasmine garlands and welcome drinks before being settled down on the loungers for a detailed check-in. We had everything explained to us - amenities, restaurants, shops, spas, lanna kids club - and every of our queries were patiently answered and explained all in the comfort of lazing on the longer. This is how all check-ins should be done.

As we were traveling with my parents, we had a 2 bedroom villa with a small little pool. As the grounds were very extensive, we had a buggy brought us to our little home for the next week. The villa is 2-storey with the bedroom on the upstairs and a spacious hall with very well equipped kitchenette downstairs. The bathroom is a big as the bedroom with both indoor/outdoor showers as well as a tub. The whole place was very well kept daily by the housekeepers. As we had more than sufficient space upstairs, we hardly ventured downstairs. Another reason is because the stairs is located outside... Our villa looked into the padi fields and Loy Kham pool and it was lovely sight waking up to the sight of the pink water buffalo working on the fields.

The daily buffet breakfast spread was good with a good mix of both Asian and western selections. What I like best was my daily latte that came with a cinnamon stick in place of the spoon; unique and best of all, the slight tinge of cinnamon together with the latte tasted heavenly! We had a BBQ dinner at Akaligo and the spread of fresh seafood and various meats were fantastic; the freshly made souffles were out of this world too! Food over at Fujian was good too; in fact, we enjoyed the peking duck so much that we went back couple of times for lunch and dinner throughout our stay. After a meal at Fujian, you can do some window shopping as there are couple of shops selling local handicrafts and jewelery; a tailor there too if you need one! It is also worthwhile having dinner at the Grand Lanna as they have the nightly Thai cultural dance performance. We were lucky the night we were there as they was also a small Thai wedding celebration!

The Lanna kids club is one of the best that we have seen so far. The activities offered were unique and required lots of hands-on - e.g. lanna lantern making, fan/umbrella painting, rice planting... perfect for kids from 6 years or older. The staffs were excellent too. We left our kids there daily while we relax by the Loy Kham pool under the cool wintry weather (pool is opposite of the kids club). We enjoyed exploring the grounds of MO too using the complimentary bicycles from the fitness club. Not to be missed is also the horse carriage ride within the resort compound... kids love it!

Overall, it was a fantastic stay with great family bonding time. No doubt the cost can be on a high side but I must say it is worth to indulge!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wolfverine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,170
    115
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
354
559
50
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The only tip I can share is to make use of their transfer service. They met us off the plane from Bangkok and with three small ones with us this was a great help. The hotel itself is jaw-droppingly beautiful. We were offered a choice of rooms for a four-night stay, which was deeply appreciated.

We wound up staying in their best residence and if I could take a moment to go on about the bathrooms? Superb, out of this world, beautifully appointed.... There... Only tip I can really offer is to make sure you ask for extra bottles of the mosquito repellant right away - they are small enough to take with you during the day as well. Everything else was beyond perfect. Make sure you get hold of bicycles as well - we did and spent a very happy afternoon riding round the resort.. The kids loved it! Can't recommend the Horn Bar enough for a cocktail. lovely staff and fabulous cocktails! If you end up bagging the Mandalay Residence, get the butler to show you how to use the coffee machine before they depart - other wise you will be left to wait for them to arrive in the morning to make your coffee for you, and I'm the sort who can't wait that long!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KateGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

One of the most amazing hotels. The grounds are amazing. Rooms were clean and spacious. The bathroom was enormous. One of the best trips ever.

You a bit off the beaten path but a taxi can get you downtown quickly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beetle04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Everything great that you read/hear about this place is true. Most amazing hotel I've ever stayed in. Only negative is that it's about 15 minutes from the center of the city, but you really don't need to leave the Mandarin. We didn't. Room, restaurants, pool, grounds --- all wonderful. Very expensive, but it was my honeymoon and I mixed two nights at the Mandarin with two nights at the D2 (US$600 and $88, respectively) to balance it out.
If you can, you should...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brianNY17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

A truly amazing experience from start to finish! I say experience as this is not only a hotel stay; rather it’s an all encompassing experience. The grounds, staff, management, food, amenities are all top notch. Each day there are a variety of activities to choose from, for which you never want to leave the resort. My partner and I were lost in the charm of riding bicycles around the resort, lounging by the gorgeous colonial pool and enjoying all of the resources and activities offered. The highlight of the weekend was a romantic pic-nic organized at a private villa where my partner proposed! We will definitely be back it’s something that everyone should experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trvlbug_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Come to Dhara Dhevi for something unlike you have ever experienced before. Its not just a luxury hotel with the typical amenities and experience you come to expect. It is truly a spectacular experience and a memorable stay. With so many good reviews just know that you will be heading to a place that won't disappoint. You deserve to experience a place like this, at least once in your life and this is such a "Thai" specific property, you won't get this experience anywhere else in the world. Rooms, grounds, staff, food -- its all wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jussman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

From the moment of arrival where a garland of sweetly scented blossoms are placed around your neck by beautifully presented smiling staff and you are offered a complimentary chilled lemongrass tea whilst seated in an ornately decorated pagoda on check in, you begin to realise you are in for a once in a lifetime experience.

This sprawling masterpiece of a hotel is so mind bogglingly awesome you may spend a lot of time stopping, standing and staring opened mouthed ‘ooohing’ and ‘aaahing’ over the attention to detail which comes down to the last minutiae.

We stayed in villa with a private pool, steam room, dining pavilion and grand piano surrounded by rice paddies, flowering shrubs and tall shady trees. Our villa was so beautifully sumptuous we only left it to amble a few meters outside to the magnificent spa which offers the most indulgent of treatments which also includes a huge hamman steam room and ornately decorated heated indoor plunge pool available to all guests.

The staff are amazingly friendly, attentive and gracious. We were made to feel like royalty.
Staying at the Dhara Dhevi is a special occasion. I would recommend you go with someone you love as the beauty and magic of the place has to be shared.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mieleontoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,386 reviews
4.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 383 in Chiang Mai
462 reviews
1.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,001 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Property: The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Address: 51/4 Moo 1, Chiang Mai - Sankampaeng Road | Tha Sala, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai is set on 60 acres of verdant tranquil grounds in the historical heartland of Northern Thailand. The hotel's unique design draws from the region's rich architectural and cultural heritage that flourished during the Lanna period, which lasted from the mid-13th century until the mid-16th century, and enjoyed a further resurgence in the last 200 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai
Mandarin Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing