We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hard to find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magical Garden Cafe - CLOSED

Magical Garden Cafe
Price range: $0 - $5
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Moscow
Level Contributor
420 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 568 helpful votes
“hard to find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Make sure that your driver knows this place or at least ask him to call for directions, because this place is really a hidden gem, literally. On a quiet little street behind the local temple - you'll never guess that there can be a restaurant. It's very simple but authentic at the same time. All the food is vegetarian, but tasty & not bland. Eggplant bruschetta, for example, was great. Price tag - below imagination.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy garden & quality vegetarian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The moment after we sat down & ordered our food, we immediate feel that we can enjoy our dinner here the whole night as the cafe garden is v cosy and the ppl here r v nice too.
The menu was v creative, never seen such vegetarian food before. The quality of the food was fantastic and the price was v reasonable.
After knowing that the cafe is operated to finance a charity org called the Magical Light Fundation, I doubled the amount appeared on the bill.

Helpful?
2 Thank Simon-Cheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little secret!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I’m vegetarian and have lived in Chiang Mai for 15 years. Even if you’re not vegetarian treat yourself to dinner at this place. It’s tucked away out the back gate to Wat Suan Dok Temple in an open garden and your hosts Peter and Goh Shii Hua are incredibly attentive. The food is superb and so delicious and different to the usual veggie offerings in town. I always take visitors to CM here as it is a delight and never disappoints. Don't get confused with Pan Pan in the temple grounds itself open for lunch which is also very good. The Magical Garden is open evenings only, closed on Wednesdays. Maybe a bit difficult to find though so just give Peter a call. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CAUK32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Visited this restaurant for a friends birthday meal. We turned up at quarter past 9 - a bit late considering it closes at 10; however the staff were lovely and accommodating. The food was absolutely delicious. I had humous to start and then the pumpkin curry for my main. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Chiang Mai, as a lot of the reviews have said, the food tastes even better knowing that the money will go towards a good cause.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simple, clean great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had dinner on 4th March 2014 and went home extremely happy! A simple ambience with a homey feeling. The food was prepared fresh and the fried morning glory salad was simply delicious as was the tom yam mushroom soup; the eggplant bruschetta also is a pleasure to the palate. This place is worth your making the effort to find it!

Helpful?
1 Thank MassimoDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Magical Garden Cafe also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing