We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Wonderful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Hibiscus Guesthouse
Ranked #183 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed at THe red Hibiscus Guesthouse and I couldnt fault it at all!! We booked hte 'Soft Adventure tour' which was an exclusive tour with an English Speaking guide, a driver and a air conditioned Jepp who also arranged an extra excursion for us at no extra price. The people were so welcoming, they couldnt do enough for us. We read the reviews before booking and I feel they were completley accurate, the guesthouse is like an extended home, very clean and quiet. Although it is slightly out of the town the couple running the guesthouse would help us into a sawadee to get into town and gave us a business card to ensure we got home ok.
I would definitley reccommend the soft adventure tour but this did not include any time in teh city of Chiang Mai so i would also reccommend staying on a couple of days to explore the city.
I really highly reccommend this guesthouse and would love to visit again!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
23
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2008

The stay in Red Hibiskus was perfect.
Very good clean room , friendly staff and quiet location.

Highly recommended.

Rainer

  • Liked — friendly staff, clean room
  • Disliked — small fridge
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CorkBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2007

My partner and I stayed at the Red Hibiscus in February, 2007. Its location in the northeast corner of the Old Town makes it a bit of a walk to most sites. However, our mini-suite on the top floor was spacious, comfortable and furnished in a traditional style. There is a quite small eating area in front of the -also quite small lobby- so not much room to just hang out. The bathroom in our suite was not altogether private, not a problem for us, but could possibly be a disadvantage. Traffic noise coming from the busy street right on the other side of the moat was a problem for us. But the staff was very friendly and helpful and overall we enjoyed our stay there. The rate was very reasonable and our room was really pleasant (other than the traffic noise) so we thought it was a good value.

  • Liked — The decor in our suite.
  • Disliked — The traffic noise
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank alamito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2006

The guesthouse was amazing. My father and I were traveling around Thailand for two weeks and we went to visit a friend in Chaing Mai. It is a funny story, I think that that thought we were a couple because as we were checking in one of the people ran up to our room and apparently covered our beds (two twin beds)with rose petals. A little strange, but still a nice surprise when we entered the room. It was extremely clean and very practical for our stay. The staff recommended things to do and recommended a great cooking school called A Taste of Thai, the lady that ran that even came and picked us up for our private cooking lesson. Also, the staff at the red Hibiscus booked all of of our onward travel and gave us a ride to the airport. All in all, it was by far the best place we stayed in all of Thailand and would strongely recommend this guesthouse to anyone wanting to stay in Chaing Mai.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — There were limited food options very close by
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay here and take the cheap tuk tuk ride into the main part of the city for shopping and eating
  • Stayed April 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ems1714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2006

Hotel is quiet, clean, and the hospitality is above and beyond. Laundry service is wonderful and the girl at the front deak is AMAZING. She arranged every excursion we wanted and gave us honest and friendly advice. She upgraded our room at no charge when we decided to stay a few extra nights. She even made arrangements for our trip to the Southern islands and drove us to the airport! The staff will go out of the way to please you. American or Continental breakfast for a small fee each morning and an "open air/corner in the bathroom" type shower may be the only downsides. Quiet and off the beaten path but a Tuk Tuk for $40 Baht can get you to the tourist center easily and quickly. Great for families or couples and good value for the price. Loved it and will stay there again and again.

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for the hotels address to be writtne down in Thai. It helps with the Tuk Tuk drivers.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubajul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2005

I just recently joined TripAdvisor and wanted to share my expereince at the Red Hibiscus in December 2004. It was just what we were lookign for! My husband & I stayed there for a week. Would I stay again – ABSOLUTELY!!

Location:
It’s a small guesthouse in a residential area. It’s not near shopping or tourist stuff, and that’s nice about it. We thoroughly enjoyed the location. We heard a rooster crow in the early morning. From the upper floor, you can look over the railing & see women preparing food and doing chores in their courtyards.

Food:
I think it served breakfast only. We didn’t eat the breakfast because we were to into going to the markets and indulging in local fruit.
Room:
Reserve the MINI-SUITE, it’s about 40USD. It’s a large CLEAN room with a sitting area: couch/2 chairs/coffee table. The sitting are was perfect for relaxing and plotting the next day’s activities. Only odd thing was the shower. There wasn’t one. It was a tub with a handheld shower nozzle. Other than that, we loved it!!!!!!!

Amenities:
Laundry. They wash & iron your clothes.

Staff:
They are very accommodating. Our pre-arranged airport pick-up didn’t arrive, so they drove us themselves!

Stayed December 2004
Helpful?
3 Thank Mangosteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2005

Thought this hotel was okay. It is a bit out of the way from town; however, this makes it a really quiet spot. It is very clean and the one English speaking staff member is really helpful. However, if she is not there, even hand signals are a challenge for communicating. Good if you are looking for quiet but not if you want an easy walk restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MacSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 383 in Chiang Mai
670 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
3.9 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,980 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Hibiscus Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Hibiscus Guesthouse

Property: Red Hibiscus Guesthouse
Address: 1 Soi 2 Arak Rd., Sri Phom, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Hibiscus Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Hibiscus Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing