We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Ranked #293 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

As some of the other reviews state, this hotel seems ok from the lobby. That is where it ends. The rooms are filthy and the headboards have stains all over them. There were people (I am guessing employees of the hotel) shouting and making a commotion outside of my room until 2 am. Usually I can block this noise out, but was actually worried for my safety I couldn't sleep. Breakfast was just plain gross and the tablecloths were dirty. I thought for sure I would see a rat scurrying across the dining hall. Disgusting and I certainly did not feel safe. The rooms are a nice size though and they do provide a mini van service to the night markets and access to various tours if desired.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahWK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    55
    74
    51
    41
See reviews for
29
84
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
nsw
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Bp chiang Mai

From the out side it look impressive hotel, but that where it stops been impressive
It's clean but it has aged now the room we booked was big but I just faced a wall with no view at all pretty disappointing !
It's clean but the ceiling had some water damage breakfast is the worst I have every seen at a hotel better eat at a Cafe down the road after the first day in the hotel I couldn't eat the food here not much thought give to westerns taste no cereals only white bread mostly Asians foods.

There is a free Mimi van to the night market at 7:00pm one the first night it ran on time we waited in the lobby for van on the next night they was 8 of us waiting in the lobby for the van, a group of Thai came down stairs and waited out side got in the van and started to drive off I ask manager what is happening because we are all waiting the English lady said we was here first, why was we not told that the van is leaving the manager went outside and talk to the driver came back and told us all that we will have to wait for another 30 minutes for the van because they are going to a different area, we was all upset with the treatment of us she told us its the driver fault I ask her why there's no announcements that the van is leaving and why are we wait in the lobby and ignored. The english end lady was most upset as was we all

The next night we waited again for the van this time outside and told the manager that we are going to the market, as the time went 7:10pm I ask the manager where is the the mini van, she told me its late and that it would be there in 20 min but after waiting 20 min I asked again where it is she told me that it's going to be another 20 min, because of the traffic I just went and told all the other people in the lobby because there no organization from the manager.
I left and got a taxi as chiang mai so small it's not much traffic I can't understand why we was lied to and that management is really poor at this hotel

Room Tip: Close to Sunday walking market
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darylme01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Hotel lobby and exterior are misleading. Rooms are old and dirty. Bathrooms are filthy and full of mildew. Breakfast included was ok but tables not clean. Stay at Thongrans up street is a better option.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We had travelled for 5 weeks in the south and over the islands before booking a week in Chiang Mai. After some of the hotels we had stayed in this was a much better standard.

Yes it isn't as nice as it could be, I think the hotel realise they have let it slide a bit and are starting to pull their finger out and get it sorted. Slowly

The original room we were given we stayed in for one night (4th floor) then asked to move. We were then moved to the 2nd floor into a deluxe room free of charge. (4th floor was superior..!!)

It was a lot nicer and the only problem if it's a problem was the water was very very slow to drain from sink and bath after a shower.

The staff were nice enough, always polite but never really try to wow or impress. They just do their job and that's that.

Main reason we booked was to have a few days relaxing by the pool, nice enough, sunbeds were a bit old and tired and the sun was blocked by shadow by 3pm. Again not a huge problem.

Overall it was an ok place, it suited our needs and was located right next to the Sunday market (must visit) and all the taxis tuk tuks and travel agents all know it so no problem there.

They do have a new block with very nice rooms but the price was out of our budget.

To conclude was nice enough, depends how fussy you are, would try another place if I went back to Chiang Mai. But would go back if I could get in the new block.

PS: Coffee Lovers next to the hotel is amazing for breakfast and lunch.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterMc1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I unfortunately came at the height of the high season and frankly was happy to just have a room. However, at the cost this place is decrepit, not very clean, and my room was full of mold.

My room had an old tube television, yellowed mini refrigerator that was missing a leg and only a few lights in the room worked due to shoddy electrical. Including the lightbulb in the bedside table, which the socket was completely broken. The bathroom was also leaky faucet central BUT the tub and endless super hot water were lovely.

As for the mold, they let me see another room which had been slightly updated and the area where all the mold was - on the ceiling between the bathroom and sleeping area underneath the aircon vent - had been painted a dark brown cover likely to hide the problem. Upon closer inspection that too was covered in mold and you could see the spores on top of the dark brown paint.

The bed however was clean and comfy.

Location is okay but it's nice to be closer to Thapae Gate and closer to the food and action of the city but there are some neat things easily in walking distance.

Overall, I think there are much better places to stay for a cheaper price and likely with a lot less mold. If I were you, I'd look elsewhere unless this is a last resort.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, located on a quiet place, swimmingpool is quite small but nice. There is a free shuttle service to the nightmarket every night at 7 pm. Safety deposit boxes are present at reception. Superior room is comfortable, clean and spacious. However, the furniture is a little outdated but thats ok.
Overall, I had a great stay and would recommand this hotel. Sunday market is just around the corner (great market).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This place was creepy, like The Shining. On entrance I thought not too bad from the lobby. After confusion of check in and led to our room with some guy recommending we get a high price taxi from his mate up a mountain.Filthy shower and wires out the wall. We stayed one night and moved onto somewhere a lot better.Was cheap though

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#151 of 383 in Chiang Mai
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buri Gallery House
Buri Gallery House
#95 of 383 in Chiang Mai
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anodard Hotel
Anodard Hotel
#284 of 383 in Chiang Mai
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#78 of 383 in Chiang Mai
274 reviews
0.6 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#137 of 383 in Chiang Mai
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#109 of 383 in Chiang Mai
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BP Chiang Mai City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BP Chiang Mai City Hotel

Property: BP Chiang Mai City Hotel
Address: 154 Rachmanka Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Felix City Inn)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BP Chiang Mai City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BP Chiang Mai City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing