We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food at street food prices (almost!)”
Review of 29 Cafe

29 Cafe
Ranked #105 of 2,099 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely food at street food prices (almost!)”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Luckily we just stumbled on this place for our 1st meal/breakfast experience in chaing mai and then kept going back, we tried a few other places but actually for just slightly more baht its much more tastier and bigger portions. The rice or noodle soup for breakfast is great value, tasty and filling. We had a few dinners here too and the khao soi is great at 50bht and all the fruit shakes are only 25bht. They also have free wifi and the service is polite. Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cazngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    66
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food for an equally great price”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We ate here numerous times during our stay in Chiang Mai and were never disappointed with quality of food and service.

Breakfasts are amazing- tasty, fresh with good size portions. American breakfast set is great value (95B). Coffee is very good too.

Dinner menu selection is not too big, not too small, just right. We had yellow curry, chicken with mushrooms, Peanang curry and one of the tastiest bruschettas in South East Asia. And value is amazing- 50B for a dish with rice.

Service was quick and polite.

Helpful?
Thank combatgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We chanced upon this restaurant when we found the one we intended eat at lunchtime was closed and so pleased we did! I chose the rice soup with chicken and it was the best I've had anywhere. Normally made with minced chicken (and often not very much), this had sliced chicken breast and plenty of it with the exotic flavours of ginger, lemongrass and ginger. Delicious! My husband chose a simple scrambled egg on toast which he thoroughly enjoyed too.

Very good prices (105 baht for both meals and a bottle of water) and good service.

We'll definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MizzTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
1 review
“Very nice!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Good food (had the Vegetable Pa Thai) for great prizes. I payed 100 Baht for the dish and two cans of soft drink.
The portions were large and more than enough for me.
Would definitely recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Incredibly good value, great service”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The cheapest cafe I found in Chiang Mai yet with some of the best food. Ate here multiple times over the course of a week. Their curries including rice are only 50B and they will adapt them to your taste - ie make them meat free, increase or decrease the spice level. The shakes were delicious, I am still missing their watermelon shake. The sandwiches were great, even better the cheese baguette contains real cheddar cheese not the plastic cheese slices you get elsewhere. The only disappointing aspect about the cafe was that they were closed on a Sunday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZoeBowieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 29 Cafe also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to 29 Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing