We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very peaceful temple”
Review of Wat Umong

Wat Umong
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.88*
and up
Chiang Mai Small-Group Cultural Tour
More Info
$67.61*
and up
Full-Day Countryside Bike Tour from Chiang Mai
More Info
$120.00*
and up
Private Tour: Wat Phra That Doi Suthep and City of Chiang Mai
Ranked #16 of 254 things to do in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This unique 14th-century temple is built into the side of Suthep mountain and is constructed of a series of tunnels.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A very peaceful temple”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Wat Humong is my "local" temple. With large grounds, a lake some very old underground tunnels, there is a lot of interesting things to see. Many people come here to stay for a few days or even weeks. A quiet sit down by the small lake, a walk through the tunnels and the world's troubles seem less immediate, less overwhelming.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    347
    90
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jurong East, null, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Must Visit Wat Umong !!!!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Wat Umong Suan Puthatham is a 700 year old Buddhist temple. The temple was built in 1297 by King Manglai of the Lan Na dynasty. The four lion head is adopted as the National Emblem of India. The entire Wat Umong complex consists of 15 acres of wooded grounds. You can feed the fish, turtles, and ducks in a large pond. "Talking trees" have words of wisdom in Thai and English. The wat is famous for its ancient tunnels and large stupa. There are tunnels with Buddhist images below the chedi which can be easily explored. These tunnels were supposedly built by the King and painted with bush scenes so they could keep a famous but mentally deranged monk within the grounds of the monastery as he had a habit of just wandering off into the bush for days on end. Signs written in English and Thai hang from the trees on footpaths leading to the small lake where fish and turtles can be fed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BMWCHOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet, good wat”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

It's an old wat near Chiangmai university. You can stay in it for a quiet visit. Less traveller go there since it's location is outside the old city. But it's one of my favorite wat in Chiangmai.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jzha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very peaceful.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I like this temple, very peaceful. The environment is very nice, quiet and unbelievable this temple can calm my mind. Very interesting Wat to visit, don't miss it!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liangliu789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, Tranquil and Unique”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was one of my favourite Wats. It is much more rustic and is quite different to the other Wats we saw.

The key difference is much of the Wat is built in a mound with tunnels and small alcoves. There is a lovely chedi as well.

I enjoyed the grounds. There is a graveyard there which was very evocative, such a peaceful place for people to rest and an opportunity to remember and appreciate those people who have already passed.

There is also a emotive statue of the Buddha before he reached enlightenment after starving himself. Our guide explained that after getting to this state the Buddha realised one should eat, but only enough to survive.

We also enjoyed the lake with the plethora of large catfish. You can buy food for a small amount and its really worth it to see these fish move to the surface. I certainly do not think they are starving.

Overall a lovely Wat, not nearly as many tourists as others and a lovely place. I'd love the opportunity to do some yoga and meditation here on a future trip to Thailand.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PugHugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Umong also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Wat Umong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing