We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, but a few problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Top North Guest House
Ranked #315 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel is in a good location and prices very reasonable and cheaper then others in the area. There was a really nice younger guy at the desk that showed us the rooms, and gave us a good deal on the 'suite' so we took it for only 1200 baht per night (it's normally 1500 baht so you'll have to bargain a bit). That also included free breakfast, and we were told there was free internet in the room (wi-fi). This same staff member was always very nice and helpful whenever we had questions or needed anything, so we always looked for him when we needed something.

The room itself was fine, it had a nice TV with cable, a shower with hot and cold water, and aside from being a little bit small there were no real problems; at first.

The first thing that went wrong was that the wi-fi signal was very low, so I was only able to connect some of the time and usually had to go down to the lobby to get online. The second problem was that the window in our room that looked out onto the main passageway did not lock, so anyone could have broken into our room by climbing through the window. I didn't discover this tell the last day of my stay though, so wasn't able to tell them about it. Fortunately no one did break in, but if you stay here, be sure to make sure the windows lock!

Another thing is at night, they had entertainment in the form of live bands. If you are trying to sleep and don't want noise, this may not be the best hotel for you.

The final thing that made me think I probably wouldn't stay at this hotel again occurred upon checkout. There were 2 girls behind the front desk. We asked how much a van to the airport would cost. The first girl said it was 120 baht. Then the second girl punched her on the leg and told us it was 180 baht. Then she made a call to someone, and she said it would take 30 minutes for the taxi to arrive. We weren't going to wait 30 minutes. She gave us an angry and annoyed look when we didn't agree to wait 30 minutes for 'her' overpriced taxi to arrive. Needless to say, we ended up going out on the street and took a 'Rot Doo' (red truck) for only 100 baht.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxhilldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Top North Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 185 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2011

I arrived at Top north guest house in August and planned to stay for 4-5 nights as i had stayed here 4 years ago and really enjoyed it.
When we first arrived, the woman on the front desk was as miserable a person i have ever come across. She checked us in by grunting at us and gave us our room key. The room was full of cement bags and tools! I went back down to reception to change the room and she finally gave us another key. This time it had no shower as the shower was lying on the bed. Again i walked down to reception to be greeted by another warm welcome when i asked for yet another room. She gave us another key which when we opened the room it quickly became apparent there were 2 people actually in it!!!!
On the 4th attempt i finally got one unoccupied and with no building materials in it. By this time i was that shattered i just accepted it even though it was filthy and decided to have 1 night and move the next day. There is a Top north hotel round the corner for 850 baht a night but includes a good breakfast and is on a different planet to the guest house so i ended up staying there for 6 nights and it was excellent. This experience was a shame because i was really looking forward to staying at the guesthouse after 4 years. Nothing has been upgraded in that time and it looks as if it needs knocked down and soon. The member of staff they employ on reception is the most incompetent and rude woman i've ever met, which again is a shame as i remember how nice they used to be. I would strongly advise against staying here and i'm not one of these fussy people who demand 5star service for 500 baht a night but this place has totally gone to the dogs!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

An adequate room offered ,after I didnt like the first .This is not the first time I have stayed here ,They have a great pool; and great breakfast also some very good and attentive staff . There is still one very disagreeable staff member behind the desk, If you are lucky ,you will not encounter him/her .
Top North is quite reasonable value for the cost

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rinjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Nice hotel for cheap price, not luxurious but best in its price range that I found. The location is good, staff are friendly and rooms are clean and comfortable. There were a lot of ants in the bathroom but I suppose that can be expected in Asia and there was no hairdryer available to borrow at reception. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Chiang Mai. Oh one other slight disadvantage is for some reason the swimming pool is incredibly cold..be warned!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Well they showed us an alternative room and my god it was not suitable for a dog, holes in sheets no handle on taps old and dated, it stunk like mould. The service was absolutely appalling, didn't even care that our room wasn't avail so we had to walk around and find alternative accommodation for 2 adults and 2 children, we were not happy :(

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickTrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

stayed in Top Norh Guesthouse many times between 1995 and 2010. I pay the same rate now as I did first time, 500Baht. for a/c room. Yes there are cheaper fan rooms but why bother. Top North is a guesthouse, nothing more nothing less. Great location smack in the middle of everything. Great pool, not big but enjoyable for a lazy afternoon. Great restaurant, not 5Star but what you would expect. Rooms are a bit stark but sufficient: television etc. Good massage/therapy.
I see a lot of couples and families staying here over the years and they always have good experiences. If you book an overnight trek there they will not charge you for room!! How's that for service?
Look, I am sure there are better places to stay in Chiangmai but this place is good enough for any type of traveller

Room Tip: Best room: straight across pool from reception:
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dots35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

good location. . but very very bad service.. .. . looks like they just hate the guests.
the price go up and down up to the mood of the joke maneger .
so sorry to say but just look for another hotel around ( have many )

jo bkk

Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank jobkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#251 of 388 in Chiang Mai
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#303 of 388 in Chiang Mai
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#157 of 388 in Chiang Mai
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#139 of 388 in Chiang Mai
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
7days Hotel Patan
7days Hotel Patan
#198 of 388 in Chiang Mai
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#133 of 388 in Chiang Mai
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top North Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top North Guest House

Address: 15 Soi 2 Moonmuang Rd., Pra Sing, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200 | The Old City, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $12 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Top North Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top North Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Top North Hotel
Top North Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing