We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$145
$128
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$127
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $68/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$84
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$125
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$352
$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $250/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$101
$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
46
57
26
6
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
57
26
6
9
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 144 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2017

Ms Koong has been the owner/operator of this delightful oasis in the busy section of Chiang Mai for about 50 years. The location is convenient, located near the Night Market and other Chiang Mai attractions. The gardens front on the Ping River and create a comfortable place to wander and relax from a day's enjoyment of this city.
While a bit dated, the entire hotel, gardens, and swimming pool are maintained and clean with a loyal staff that has been here form many years. My wife and I have stayed here on our trips over the last three years.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2016

This was my second time here. Stayed for 6 nights in February. This small family run hotel is basic, but very clean. It backs onto the river and the garden is spectacular. I loved having breakfast on the terrace. It's close to the Night Market and many restaurants. If you want tranquility and charm, then this is it.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Nancyjean92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2016

This place is pleasant enough. Rooms are a little tired but they are clean and bed comfy enough by thai standards. The owner was a bit aloof. We only tired the pool once as it was so cold. We asked them to order a taxi for us (4) to the airport it was only when we got to the airport and realised how near it was that maybe we were overcharged a little (500thb) but you live and learn. Close to the night bazaar. I kind of have neutral feelings about this place it's not bad but it's not good either. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank northernlass04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverViewLodge, Owner at River View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2016

Thank you for your feedback. Regarding the taxi fare, we charged a premium for the service because the guest requested a taxi before 5AM. There are not many taxi drivers that operate this early in the morning and therefore the driver wanted to be compensated more for their efforts. We believe we gave our guest time to check around for a better price.

December 2015 till February 2016 was a very cold winter for us. This happens once over many years and as a result the pool was very cold to swim in. We accept this but it would be too expensive to install a heating system in the pool to be used only a few times over many years.

We will try to improve our services in the future and we thank our guest for their feedback. We are a small, family run hotel that offers a relax and laid back atmosphere. We understand that we may not have the services and amenities to match modern hotels but we believe that with our location and large garden, we do offer a unique experience. We have many guests who return over the years because they share our values. This gives us much joy to do what we do.

Regards,

Dang Pongpaibul - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2016

Nice hotel located not too far from the night bazar, with a good view over the river and nice (cold) swimming pool but....
Very cold and unpleasant owner only interested by the money she can get ( the initial price she mentioned was without taxes that she charged afterwards, she also charged us extra 50 baths to book a cab, and 90 bath to print our boarding passes!).
Rooms are large but getting old with bathroom in poor condition and no hot water, very noisy bed
Breakfast included but very poorly served (coffee, two toasts and meager fruits). Ironically, when each of these items are selected 'a la carte' instead of within the 'continental breakfast', you get much bigger quantity of fruits (for no additional cost). What a hoax!!
In conclusion, this hotel is way too expensive for the service provided and we left with the very unpleasant feeling of having been ripped off during all through our stay.
We've been very disappointed

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel, there are plenty better and less expensive around
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverViewLodge, Owner at River View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2016

Thank you for your feedback. Regarding the taxi service charge of 50 Baht, we believe that this is a fair price for the service as we have to call and organize with the taxi company. We have noted about our printing fee and have reduced it since. We do offer free WiFi and we have a PC for guest to use free of charge at the restaurant.

December 2015 till February 2016 was a very cold winter for us. This happens once over many years and as a result the pool was very cold to swim in. We accept this but it would be far too expensive to install a heating system in the pool to be used only a few times over many years.

We will try to improve our services in the future and we thank our guest for their feedback. We are a small, family run hotel that offers a relax and laid back atmosphere. We understand that we may not have the services and amenities to match modern hotels but we believe that with our location and large garden, we do offer a unique experience. We have many guests who return over the years because they share our values. This gives us much joy to do what we do.

Regards,

Dang Pongpaibul - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2016

The room was tired and there were problems with toilet flush and air con,breakfast was the same everyday and felt limited. Location is good.OK for short stay staff could be helpful. Trips arranged. Not to easy to meet other guests as no lounge.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elizabeth j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverViewLodge, Owner at River View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We will try to improve our services in the future.We are a small, family run hotel that offers a relax and laid back atmosphere. We understand that we may not have the services and amenities to match modern hotels but we believe that with our location and large garden, we do offer a unique experience. We have many guests who return over the years because they share our values. This gives us much joy to do what we do.

Regards,

Dang Pongpaibul - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews