We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$77
$68
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$128
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$129
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$278
$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$352
$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $248/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$388
$328
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$97
$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
46
57
26
6
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
57
26
6
9
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 144 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2016

The room was tired and there were problems with toilet flush and air con,breakfast was the same everyday and felt limited. Location is good.OK for short stay staff could be helpful. Trips arranged. Not to easy to meet other guests as no lounge.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elizabeth j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverViewLodge, Owner at River View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We will try to improve our services in the future.We are a small, family run hotel that offers a relax and laid back atmosphere. We understand that we may not have the services and amenities to match modern hotels but we believe that with our location and large garden, we do offer a unique experience. We have many guests who return over the years because they share our values. This gives us much joy to do what we do.

Regards,

Dang Pongpaibul - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2015

We stayed here for 5 nights in August. It is a quiet place away from the hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai but still walkable to most places.
We had a room with a balcony overlooking the garden and pool area. Although the River View Lodge is a bit tired in some places it has a very homey atmosphere with something interesting to look at everywhere you turn.
Our room was basic and comfortable with a fridge.
The staff were friendly and very helpful, booking tours for us on a few occasions.
We caught the night train from Bangkok to Chaing Mai and when we arrived at the River View Lodge our room was available to us straight away. We were very thankful for this. We also left our luggage there when we went on a 3 day trek. And almost left our backpack there when we left...lucky for the quick action of the staff that alerted us to this just before we drove off.
Breakfast was included and was enjoyable in a lovely garden setting.
Overall I would definitely recommend the River View Lodge. You can see past the tiredness of the place due to its charm and what it has to offer and being on the river.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms had good views over the lovely garden
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoogs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2015

We had a pleasant, comfortable room with balcony overlooking the beautiful garden and pool. The staff were helpful and obliging. River View Lodge is furnished with many interesting items of furniture and collections of ceramics, etc. It is situated within easy walking distance of the night market and other attractions. The property is clean and well maintained. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden and pool are the best.
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beachlover841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2015

River View room overlooking the garden is a must. This was our favorite place in Thailand. Unpretentious, charming garden and great staff. Khun Dang is an excellent and generous host. The pool is just right and very relaxing. Breakfast is included with the room rate and they do much to make sure to cook to your tastes. We truly can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The river view rooms overlooking the garden are a must!
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2015

If you are looking for somewhere relaxed, quiet and comfortable but still just a walk away from all that Chiang Mai has to offer this is a great place to stay.
I stayed there a couple of times this trip and started each day with a lovely breakfast out in the garden by the river. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable - everything I needed, including wi-fi and a fridge.
The staff are knowledgable and helpful although there was never a hint of anyone trying to sell me a tours or day trip.
Definitely worth a stay.

Room Tip: I couldn't get a river view room but the one I got still had a nice view across the neighbours' gardens and rooftops
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews