We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Recover from The Bustle of the Markets in Chiang Mai”
Review of River View Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River View Lodge
Ranked #158 of 757 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to Recover from The Bustle of the Markets in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Beautiful airy guesthouse, the rooms may be a bit Spartan but are very comfortable with a large bed and a small balcony overlooking the River, a great place to enjoy an aperitif before hitting the town for one of the many eateries. We particularly liked the tranquillity of the garden bordering onto the river, the atmosphere of the terrace we are served breakfast, a good choice of continental and American fare, although personally I would have loved a little more in the way of Asian offerings, and for those who like a dip in the pool, it is rather inviting. The staff are friendly and helpful and contribute a lot towards making a stay here the pleasant experience that it is. It is a welcome change from both the ugly westernised high-rise hotels that have begun to spring up all over the town, in atmosphere, in authenticity and in pricing. All in all, thoroughly recommend!

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony, it doesn't cost that much more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Famtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    56
    26
    5
    9
See reviews for
28
55
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brevard, Nc
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Agree this is a great find. Mrs Dang goes to great length to please guests and the one small glitch in our room was fixed before we got back to the room! A nice quiet setting though the nearby construction is a mild distraction, this is a lovely oasis in easy walking distance to the night market and the weekend walking markets in the old city. Delightful spot, we will be back.

Room Tip: River or garden view rooms on 2nd floor are both great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pituophis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This unpretentious hotel is centrally situated, right on the river and close to the night market and other attractions. It is set in a very nice garden with a nice pool. Breakfast is served in the garden and is quite adequate. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They arranged a river cruise for us, the boat picking us up literally on our doorstep.

Our room was big and comfortable. We were on the second floor, overlooking the pool and river -- definitely the best in the house.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel has a huge, gorgeous garden courtyard with a nice pool next to the river. You can buy a beer and drink it in a gazebo looking out a the river at sunset.

The rooms are big and nice, and the hotel is a short walk from the night market, which is fun. The staff is also very friendly.

To book, you need to go to the hotel's own website because they don't pay a commission to travel companies (according to an employee), but the website is easy to find and the hotel is a great deal for the price.

Room Tip: As for a second floor room overlooking the pool for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great location and friendly staff. Beautiful gardens as well. Modest rooms but fine since ll I do in the room is sleep and shower. I would recommend if you want a quite space that is close, walkable to all the action. Not your typical chain hotel which is what I prefer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilly_Waters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel was in a good location and had a pleasant pool and adequate room. The staff were not all particularly friendly. Building works were going on nearby which cannot be good for business at the moment. The breakfast suited us well and it was very pleasant eating it in the lovely garden.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 276Memary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lipe, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

For 1500 baht incl breakfast we had a room for two, overlooking part of the river, friendly staff and a big nice clean room located minutes from shops, restaurants and nightmarket while hearing zero traffic. The tours they offered are what they say and worth the money. A bit pricey for backpackers but great value for flashpackers and families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbum83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#65 of 386 in Chiang Mai
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,313 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#60 of 757 in Chiang Mai
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Villa San Pee-Seua
Villa San Pee-Seua
#28 of 757 in Chiang Mai
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ban Narai River Guesthouse
Ban Narai River Guesthouse
#217 of 863 in Chiang Mai
7 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 757 in Chiang Mai
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Lodge

Property: River View Lodge
Address: 25 Soi 4,Charoen Prathet Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 757 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River View Lodge is overlooking the Ping River and is less than 10 minutes stroll from Chiang Mai's famous Night Bazaar. Decorated with regional carvings and textiles, our rooms are clean, neat, beautifully appointed and simply furnished with good showers, hot water and air conditioning. Fifteen of our 35 rooms have balconies and verandas that face the Ping River and overlook a beautiful tropical garden with several intimate pavilions and patios. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Chiang Mai
River View Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing