We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value & Service in Downtown Chiang Mai”
Review of Gap's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gap's House
Ranked #317 of 758 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Mountainair, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value & Service in Downtown Chiang Mai”
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed at Gap's House three separate times during our 8 day visit to Chiang Mai. We opted for an air conditioned room all three times and we were very satisfied. At 650 Baht ($21 USD) we felt it was a great value. A wonderful breakfast was included in the price. Both the rooms and the common areas are nicely appointed with all sorts of interesting antiques and were great places to just hang out. The Sunday market was literally right down the lane from the front door.

Mosquitos were an issue but we had that very same problem throughout our month long stay everywhere we visited in Thailand and Cambodia. Mosquito coils were available at all times to guests and we never ventured anywhere without applying repellent. We did book the three day Eco-Tour with the Gap's House and it was a marvelous backcountry adventure that included the obligatory elephant ride and a fun bamboo rafting trip. We spent two nights with villager's in the hill country and learned a great deal about their customs and culture. A short word of caution. These are not show villages, they are the real thing. I would not recommend the 3 day trip if you have never done any backcountry trekking. The day trip would be a much better option.

The highlight of my stay was the fantastic cooking class offered by the Gap's House Cooking School. This five hour class was very professionally taught and included a visit to one of the local markets. We also prepared a huge amount of food and were sent back to our room with a full dinner prepared in take-out boxes. The price also included a very nice color cookbook that had detailed instructions for the preparation of all the dishes offered by the school.

The staff were all extremely friendly and very hard working. The high speed internet was good enough to video conference using Skype and I had no problems connecting from our rooms. Several desktop computers were available in the common area for guests that did not have a laptop or other computing device.

Locking drawers were available free of charge in the main lobby if you wanted to secure your passports, spare cash or other valuables. For a small fee you could also rent a larger electronic safe. The drawer served my purposes quite well and I could store all my travel documents and my netbook computer quite easily. Gap's House was also very accommodating in storing our excess baggage while we were on the trek and for the few days that we visited Malee's Nature Lover's Bungalows in Chiang Dao.

We really enjoyed the vegetarian buffet offered on the second floor of the restaurant. It was a really great value. I highly recommend this fine establishment if you are looking for a reasonable cost, comfortable home base to explore this delightful part of Thailand. It is walking distance from all the major markets in Chiang Mai as well as a 7 Eleven and many restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSchenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    63
    46
    23
    16
See reviews for
7
87
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, OR
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

This place is AMAZING! It's like a little jungle right in the middle of downtown Chiang Mai. The decor is super interesting, the crowd is fairly young (but not loud), and it includes a huge breakfast (by Thai standards). The only bummer is that it does get pretty buggy with all the greenery, so you have to use the mosquito nets - and if you need to use a pull-out bed, bring your own net or you will most definitely regret it! The staff is pretty quiet, mostly friendly... but it's definitely the hiddenness-in-plain-site of it all that makes this place magical!!

Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank courtneyschmortney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Gap's house was a good value guest house that was different from the commercial blocks. There are lots of plants and dogs that make it welcoming & homey. I enjoyed staying there for a week. Beware of the mosquitoes... even at breakfast, bring bug spray. It's first come first serve (no reservations). The small rooms in front are only 350 bhat w/ AC but can be a bit noisy. The back rooms are nicer for 550. The dinner buffet was good after a long travel day. It is a bit old & out dated but they try to keep it clean. you can use the pool nearby at Top North for 100 bhat.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassyboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We moved here after having spent one night at a more expensive and not as charming hostel in Chiang Mai and immediately loved it. We stayed for 4 nights and found the location perfect, hidden from the main rush but still in the middle of the action. The rooms are in pretty wooden bungalows, basic but comfortable with an old fashioned rustic style atmosphere. The garden around the bugalows is beautiful, just remember to bring along a mosquito repelent if you fancy taking a beer outside in the evening; the beds have mosquito nets however.
The staff is attentive and helpful, we had a minor problem with one room one night and they immediately switched us to another one in the morning.
They don't take reservations and we paid 650 Bhat for a night with breakfast and free use of Internet in March. The house also runs a cooking school which we really liked too.
If in Chiang Mai again we would definetly stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2010

I found this guesthouse by accident, but it s excellent.
easy but enough for this budget .

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelukkig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Idyllic hotel, nicely decorated, in a great location, with free internet. Rooms were clean. Great restaurant and good value for dinner. Breakfast was a little humdrum (only one choice, eggs everyday). The only drawback to the garden setting were the mosquitos that hung around there during the day and at night.
Gap's cooking school was very professional, a great experience -- highly recommend it! Shop around for the trek though -- the "elephant camp" was a roadside tourist trap, not a camp. You may find a better trekking experience elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anteater74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2010

In Chiang Mai you can not beat the value of on this place. The atmosphere is excellent with a lush tropical garden around the dining area and in the common area. Although you definately need bug spray if you are prone to getting eaten by mosquitos if you are sitting outside in the evening, but as long as you are prepared it is fine. The rooms are great for the price. We went to look at a few other cooking schools and ended up settling on the Gap's Cooking school. They take you to the owner's home that has an outdoor kitchen in the garden. It has lot sof shade so it is not too hot at all. We could not have been more happy. It was just the right length and we learned so much. The food was delicous and they were prepared to give us the last dish to go which we ate for dinner back at Gap's in the garden (wearing bug spray).
When you walk out of the hotel take a right and then a right on the main street. About a block up is a travel company called Five Star. We went on an awesome 1 night private trek with a guide named Map. He gave us a great price compared to all the other travel companies we looked at. We were very happy with the private trek and did not run into one tourist along the way but still go to do an elephant trek, bamboo rafting and spending the night in a hilltribe village. Great Experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitnchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#155 of 386 in Chiang Mai
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#56 of 758 in Chiang Mai
272 reviews
2.5 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
#10 of 758 in Chiang Mai
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 758 in Chiang Mai
477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 865 in Chiang Mai
658 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
#100 of 758 in Chiang Mai
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gap's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gap's House

Property: Gap's House
Address: 3 Rajadamnern Soi 4 T. Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 758 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Gap's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gap`s House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing