We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place Don't hesitate just go! ”
Review of Gap's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gap's House
Ranked #348 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Portsmouth UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this place Don't hesitate just go! ”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

After walking around chiang mai looking for somewhere to rest our heads we stumbled across this little gem! Unable to pre-book you just walk in and I am so pleased we found it!

Rooms are clean and safe which is important in Thailand! Right in the hustle and bustle but still so quiet it is just lovely!

You have to go in their Thai cooking course it was delicious! We went on an elephant trek for 2 days and the staff ere happy to hold our room for us and watch our rucksacks full of our belingings!

Cannot fault this place please go you will love it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ashleigh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    63
    46
    23
    16
See reviews for
7
87
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night but really could not fault it. The rooms were basic but had everything we needed. Bed was reasonable and shower was good. It's also in a good location. Only concern was that anyone could come and help themselves to the room keys although safe deposit boxes are provided. The staff are also pretty disinterested but with rooms that cheap it's not altogether unsurprising. This place doesn't take reservations which is also a plus for anyone winging it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed there for 4 nights and my experience was very similar to other reviews. Good location, nice garden, good clean room and bed but lots of mosquitoes, same breakfast every day, and rather "un-Thai" lack of hospitality. The staffs are not rude, but not friendly either which is strange for Thailand. The older lady ( presumably the owner) came across cold and inhospitable.

I do not know if I will return to this place again. It is not bad, but I left with no warm fussy feeling that will attract me to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siriwan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

It's good because of the price and where it's located - in the old city (which is where all the cool stuff to see is) and close to the main road for markets etc. The Sunday walking market is literally 4 seconds walk from the guest house entrance! As others have said, the garden setting makes it a pretty hideaway but also mosquito ridden. The rooms are spacious and we found ours to be cleaned well and regularly. Pay for the safe or keep valuables on you when you go out. The only standout down side is the staff attitude problem (mainly the older woman who works there or owns the place). I've never been spoken to or looked at like that before when asking a few simple questions. She was beyond rude. She was actually horrible. For this reason I won't be staying here and giving her money again. If you can find another guest house in the same area for a similar price, go with that one instead.

Room Tip: You get what you get. You can't usually book rooms in advance, so turn up around 11am when peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

The guest house is all covered by plants and vegetation. The chambers are in wood, it s really esthetic and comfy.
We paid 600 bath by room for 1 night, including the breakfast, AC and wifi.

The personnel is not really welcoming but if you insist you can get the info you need and some advices.
As we were just sleeping there and not staying during the day, it was really nice for us, we had all we needed.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Malek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in a row. When we arrived everything seemed wonderful. Our room (number 3 for 650 baht incl breakfast) was spacious with a big comfy bed with a mosquito net. You will need this, 'cause there are so many mosquitos here! The bathroom was small but ok, (wasn't the cleanest we've seen) and the rest of place is green and cute, lots of wood and plants. The staff on the other hand was horrible. No smiles, lots of sighs. (Except for the older man). The woman who we thought must've owned the place, would sigh with every question you asked while busy with her Facebook page. Breakfast is ok, but not a lot of variety: tea or coffee, pine apple, toast and eggs: boiled, scrambled, fried or omelet.
Overall, if you ignore the staff and use loads of mosquito repellent, we would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed at Gap's for a few days, mainly because I was too lazy to change. However, the guest house is not living up to expectations. The location is good, central and with a nice garden. The room I was in was very close to the entrance, the door and windows are definitely not sound proof and the personnel in the morning was starting talking before 7 am. I slept with hear plugs every night, otherwise it was just not possible to sleep. Security is clearly an issue, with simply a padlock on the room door, but also with the keys which HAVE to be left at the reception in full view of anyone who walks in. I have taken my key without being seen several times. They of course use this as an excuse to have you to pay 100 baht for the safes! The breakfast is scarce and repetitive, it would help if at least they changed the fruit some time! Don't even think about the vegetarian buffet - this place must have been different in the past, but now it really offers something like 5 options of vegetarian food (acceptable quality but nothing to scream for) and nothing more. Once again pineapple for dessert, they actually might grow it themselves considering it's the only fruit available also for breakfast...
I also went to the cooking class, I cannot judge compared to the others, but everything was done very quickly and therefore with not much expectations for future attempts. We were back already by 14:30 instead of 16 hrs.
Not to forget the personnel - other than one girl, the rest of the crowd was always unpleasant and not very eager to help.
All in all, definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#152 of 383 in Chiang Mai
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diva Guesthouse
Diva Guesthouse
#23 of 747 in Chiang Mai
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 747 in Chiang Mai
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 840 in Chiang Mai
646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#57 of 747 in Chiang Mai
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#13 of 747 in Chiang Mai
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gap's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gap's House

Property: Gap's House
Address: 3 Rajadamnern Soi 4 T. Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Gap`s House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing