We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$13
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/21
Booking.com
$13
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/21
Trip.com
$12
View deal
Agoda.com$13
Hotels.com$13
eDreams$13
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
50
81
54
25
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
50
81
54
25
20
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 230 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Gaps House looks nice enough when you first walk in, but that's about the extent of it. The rooms are nothing special, the breakfast is average, but the really bad part is the unfriendly staff - mainly the guy who works behind the desk. So rude. Also there's a terrible bug problem at this guesthouse. You have to sit outside in the yard if you want Internet but get eaten alive in the process. I don't know what the issue there is with bugs but it was only in their garden and not elsewhere in Chiang Mai. This issue actually hugely affected our stay and made it unpleasant.
I would definitely look for other accommodation.

Date of stay: December 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank lilynoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

the over grown plants and trees looked really neat so i thougth my friend and i would give it a try. the room was a bit below average, a lamp that had been broken and dusty that didnt work still sat in the room. the poeple at the front desk were very unhelpful and didnt want to be asked questions. i took at cooking class from them and when i went to pay for the room the man tried telling me i didnt pay for the cooking class and asked for the receipt, i never received a receipt. the breakfast was average and the same every day. i would not stay at theis place again

Room tip: sorry hsould not have marked swimming pool and fitness center they didnt have one
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

It was my first "touch" with Thailand. I was really pleased with the location of the Guesthouse and most of all the surroundings. The room was medium sized, clean with beautiful furniture and bed. The bathroom was very small and simple. The AC was quiet enough to sleep.

The place has no reservation so you should be there as soon as possible :)

It was like stepping in to a jungle. The garden was superb, we had some simple family of squirrels watching us at our simple Thai breakfast (toasts and eggs). The location of the place is great, you can go everywhere by foot in the city. Next to it is a school with excellent food stalkers and hawkers, just mentioning them makes me hungry :)

They had a cooking school but we had no time to take the classes. Oh, you should ask about a jungle trekking at the reception. We had the 3 day option and it was really unforgettable experience with our guide and sniffing some strange dust from a tube in the mountains ;) Swimming in the rivers and watter falls, sleeping on the wooden floor. Remember to bring something warm it can get cold on the trekking at night.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank kuba12456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

we arrived at the buffet 45 minutes after it started. most of the food was already gone, or maybe there wasn't much offered to begin with, but we scraped up what was left off the bottoms of 3 of the 5 dishes. i had left my purse in my chair while visiting the buffet line (which was roughly 2 meters away), but the second time we visited the buffet, i mistakenly left it on the table. it was at that point that the waitress (or someone else, but doubtful as there were only a few other tourists present), took 6,000 baht from my wallet. i noticed it was missing as we were leaving the restaurant & quickly ran back to the table to see if it was there, but the waitress just acted like she didn't know what i was saying. giving her the benefit of the doubt, we rode back to our hotel & tore apart our room, thinking maybe we had left the money. still not finding it, we rode back to gap's & looked around more thoroughly with flashlights & asked the waitress again. we waited for the manager to return & told her what happened & she just apologized. the buffet was hardly worth 90 baht, but if you do decide to go, DON'T LEAVE ANYTHING UNATTENDED!!!

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carter1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Beer from the bar is cheap, this place is filled with travellers and it is reasonably priced. Beds come with net around them and the whole place has a very private, garden vibe to it. They can book you different tours as well and there is free wifi and computers to use. They don't take reservations, which is not ideal, and a word of advice - don't eat the butter on the breakfast trays (it tastes like gone off milk) and don't sit outside without bug spray, you'll be eaten alive in seconds.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Player153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews