We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice and oriental.”
Review of Gap's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gap's House
Ranked #316 of 762 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really nice and oriental.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

It was my first "touch" with Thailand. I was really pleased with the location of the Guesthouse and most of all the surroundings. The room was medium sized, clean with beautiful furniture and bed. The bathroom was very small and simple. The AC was quiet enough to sleep.

The place has no reservation so you should be there as soon as possible :)

It was like stepping in to a jungle. The garden was superb, we had some simple family of squirrels watching us at our simple Thai breakfast (toasts and eggs). The location of the place is great, you can go everywhere by foot in the city. Next to it is a school with excellent food stalkers and hawkers, just mentioning them makes me hungry :)

They had a cooking school but we had no time to take the classes. Oh, you should ask about a jungle trekking at the reception. We had the 3 day option and it was really unforgettable experience with our guide and sniffing some strange dust from a tube in the mountains ;) Swimming in the rivers and watter falls, sleeping on the wooden floor. Remember to bring something warm it can get cold on the trekking at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kuba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    63
    46
    23
    16
See reviews for
7
87
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

we arrived at the buffet 45 minutes after it started. most of the food was already gone, or maybe there wasn't much offered to begin with, but we scraped up what was left off the bottoms of 3 of the 5 dishes. i had left my purse in my chair while visiting the buffet line (which was roughly 2 meters away), but the second time we visited the buffet, i mistakenly left it on the table. it was at that point that the waitress (or someone else, but doubtful as there were only a few other tourists present), took 6,000 baht from my wallet. i noticed it was missing as we were leaving the restaurant & quickly ran back to the table to see if it was there, but the waitress just acted like she didn't know what i was saying. giving her the benefit of the doubt, we rode back to our hotel & tore apart our room, thinking maybe we had left the money. still not finding it, we rode back to gap's & looked around more thoroughly with flashlights & asked the waitress again. we waited for the manager to return & told her what happened & she just apologized. the buffet was hardly worth 90 baht, but if you do decide to go, DON'T LEAVE ANYTHING UNATTENDED!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carter1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Player153
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Beer from the bar is cheap, this place is filled with travellers and it is reasonably priced. Beds come with net around them and the whole place has a very private, garden vibe to it. They can book you different tours as well and there is free wifi and computers to use. They don't take reservations, which is not ideal, and a word of advice - don't eat the butter on the breakfast trays (it tastes like gone off milk) and don't sit outside without bug spray, you'll be eaten alive in seconds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Player153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

When we arrived we looked at a room and thought it is ok - spacious and with whatever you need, bathroom ok, although for some reason the rooms look similar but some are a lot more expensive than others. First thing we noticed after an overnight bus journey was that the staff were really rude. Not just one of them - two at least in our experience of talking to them. Also, we had a double bed but there was no double sheet on top - it was two single sheets that they'd mismatched trying to cover the bed so we woke up all night with our feet not covered, so we asked the not so polite owner and he had it replaced with the same thing again! I also kept waking up with some mysterious but sore bites on me - not sure if it was maybe bedbugs.

Another main thing for me was that they obviously dont want to spend any money updating this place. The doors to the rooms had no lock - they had a tiny padlock on them! and when you shut yourself in its a little bathroom lock on the inside that is your security. Also you have to pay extra to use safety deposit box in reception after they warn you that your stuff isnt safe in the room.

All in all, when we went walking we saw many cheaper guesthouses with better rooms that had a fridge and tv etc as well, so maybe look around a bit if you have time.

Breakfast was nice though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putten, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed at Gap's House in 2004 with a friend. I remembered the laidback atmosphere where you could stay in an affordable room surrounded by a lush tropical garden. I was eager to return, but unfortunately a few things have changed.

First some negative comments:
The mosquitoes are still there and vicious, so cover up and use plenty of repellent! Also, the staff wasn't friendly of helpful at all. Big difference compared to a few years ago when it was easy to arrange train and trekking tickets. Plenty of dogs and cats walking around the place. Not a problem for me, but it could be a bother for others.

Good stuff:
For 600 baht you can get a good sized room with nice decorations and a decent shower. Bedlinnen is mostly clean, but the towels are a bit scruffy. Be sure to check for insects.
Breakfast is included and comes with eggs, toast, coffee or tea and fruit.
Every night there's an excellent vegetarian buffet available, which I strongly recommend.
The location is excellent, just a few meters away from the Rachadamnoen road. Close to a lot of nice eating places.

Conclusion: I had fond memories of this place, but unfortunately it's lacking on many levels. This could be easily forgivable if there was still a warm and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Staying the night in Room # 11 was no fun at all. First impression was very good, we liked the place with its beautiful yard area and the nice size of the room. At night though we were attacked by bedbugs! So many of them, we weren't able to get rid of them. From baby size to a few milimeters and all over the room (floor/wall/moskito net etc.). The staff had nothing more than a simple "sorry" left for us as we were letting them know while checking out first thing in the morning. Afterwards we spent hours looking through our backpacks, finding many of them hiding in shoes and clothes. Having the hole body covered with burning bites is just an other nice souvenir we got from staying the night.

We also did not like the smelling dogs hanging around everywhere, I don't think they get washed ever!! On top of that we saw that the cleaning ladys let them in to the rooms while they were working. Ikkk...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Although Gap's House has a beautiful and lush yard area, looks can be deceiving because it smells like the most intimate parts of a sweaty dog's hind quarters. I have counted at least three dogs on property as well as a few cats. It is clear that none of the dogs have ever been bathed hence the putrid smell of doggie funk at the guest house which is sure to wreak havoc on your nostrils regardless of whether you're a dog lover or not. At face value the guesthouse looks like it could be a charming place to stay until you realize that the attitudes of the staff members are just as foul as the aforementioned doggie funk. When you settle in and realize nobody is hanging out chatting and talking travel like in most guest houses you realize that between staff attitudes, vicious mosquito bites and for the preservation of your sense of smell, you are better off staying in your room at a different guest house.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingStilettos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#157 of 386 in Chiang Mai
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#56 of 762 in Chiang Mai
272 reviews
2.5 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
#11 of 762 in Chiang Mai
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 762 in Chiang Mai
477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 867 in Chiang Mai
658 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
#102 of 762 in Chiang Mai
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gap's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gap's House

Property: Gap's House
Address: 3 Rajadamnern Soi 4 T. Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 762 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gap's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gap`s House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing