We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai style guesthouse in old city Chiang Mai”
Review of Gap's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gap's House
Ranked #381 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Oslo
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Thai style guesthouse in old city Chiang Mai”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed in this guest house for 30 days and found it a lovely place to stay while explore Chiangmai. The guest house is located in a quite lane near Tha Pae Gate. 
The rooms are big with Thai Style furniture and smal bathroom.
Breakfast is included in the price, free wifi.
There are plenty of restaurants around within only 2-5 min walk. Gaps House serve exelent vegetarian dinner at seven Monday to Saturday
There are many mosquitoes if you wonder around in the yard in the evening,  so do bring mosquito repellent. 

Room Tip: Choose a room in 2nd floor, less Mosquitos
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaDexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    62
    45
    23
    16
See reviews for
6
85
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
165 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Gap's House doesn't accept advance reservations so you either get lucky and they have a room or you have to check back every day. While in Chiang Mai earlier in the year we checked repeatedly and never got a room there but we did get to view several different rooms. They looked lovely even though they are priced higher than most guest houses in the area.

Since arriving in Chiang Mai over a week ago we have checked frequently but still no room.
Both the previous time, as well as this time, whenever we stopped by for just a few minutes to check on room availability we have been swarmed by vicious and hungry mosquitoes. Having found plenty of nice guesthouses nearby, and still itching from our previous visits, I think we will just give Gap's House a pass.

Room Tip: Only way to get a room is to get lucky or check back daily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We have stayed here twice now, and like the place. The rooms are large and all have aircon and antique furniture. The grounds are beautiful but do breed mosquitoes. The owner has several dogs, so be aware of this if you aren't keen on them,

The vegetarian buffet is worth trying, but for a place that prides itself on a cooking school, the breakfast was awful. The toast is made from a particularly nasty sort of bread and the "butter" is some sort of disgusting substitute. Coffee is instant with powdered creamer. it may be free, but it really isn't worth much. Head down the road to the Silomjoy Restaurant - good cheap food and excellent coffee.

Room Tip: Room 4 is large, good table to use as a desk and big bathroom. Room 10 has smaller bathroom and no d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwisailorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Everything was perfect, charming, nice bedding, big room etc... But awfull staff, don't speak english and don't even try either! Bad trekking 400bath more expensive than in a normal travel agency for the same service! What a shame for a so nice place.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syl202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at Gap's House for 7 nights. The room was by far the biggest we've stayed in for our trip. Our room had a large queen bed, and a sitting room. The bathroom was spacious. We had cleaning service every day. The breakfast was decent. The marmalade tasted a bit funny, so I shied away from that. This is a very safe place to stay. They do not tolerate "guests" in their hotel. At night (late at night) the entrance gate is locked for security. However, there is an older man who patrols the grounds at night to make sure there isn't anything going on. It was quite funny when we had to leave Gap's House at 5 a.m. to catch our flight, the gate was locked and we thought for sure we were going to have jump it (it's 8 feet tall mind you), but the old man that served as a guard came out and opened it for us.

The only non-pleasant thing about my experience was the amount of mosquitoes. The guesthouse is set in a beautiful tropical garden, but that means there are mosquitoes when it rains. I got eaten alive there. I would suggest bringing the strongest mosquito spray you can find. The bed has a mosquito net, which helped tremendously at night.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room directly the right when you enter the gates- 650 baht/night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbellbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

I've stayed here a few times over the years. Unfortunately, there is a new staff lead by a short haired (Tom?) woman who has regrettable people skills. She is rude and my wife and I actually saw her start lecturing a guest that he was "late" for breakfast when the kitchen was still open for a couple of minutes. This new person doesn't understand the hospitality industry and that the guests should be treated as such. We avoided her after that. Hopefully Gap House will get someone to replace her soon.

Also, some of the beds need to be replaced as they are uncomfortable, and the bathrooms always seem to have about ten mosquitos in them—the Gap House needs to seal the bathrooms to the outside, including putting mosquito netting over the bathroom exhaust fans.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank CNXtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

This is run on a "first come, first served" basis.....you arrive and take your chances. We were very lucky as two rooms became vacant as we arrived....one for myself and husband, one for my adult daughter. Our room was bright and airy, my daughter's (room #14) was pleasant, but the lower ceiling made it a little claustrophobic and her bathrrom was quite peculiar with the toilet on a raised platform dangerously close to an overhead beam. The beds are comfortable and there is plenty of storage space, but the walls are paper thin and every sound (and I do mean every sound!) from the rooms above and to the side can be heard. The plumbing is also extremely noisy. All rooms have aircon and a large fan, and mosquito nets above the beds.....an absolute must. The rooms are cleaned regularly, and all linen and towels are changed on a regular basis. Two computers provide free internet, and I noticed several people with their own laptops using the WiFi connection.

A pleasant breakfast is included but if more than one cup of tea or coffee is required an extra (minimal) charge is made. There is also a veggie restuarant upstairs, which seems to be run by someone independant from Gap's, but it was open on only one night of the six we stayed. Admittedly this was through Songkran, so this may be the reason.
The setting is really pretty with lots of dusty antiques and lush green foliage.....however....this foliage harbours hordes of mosquitoes just waiting to attack! We met one or two guests who left early and went elsewhere because of this, and eventually my daughter, who stayed on in Chiang Mai after we left, signed out and went to another place.
Overall it's a pleasant, good value, conveniently placed guesthouse...just make sure you have plenty of bug repellent!

Room Tip: Keep a good bug repellent with you at all times
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jood2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#149 of 381 in Chiang Mai
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 736 in Chiang Mai
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#54 of 736 in Chiang Mai
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vieng Mantra Hotel
Vieng Mantra Hotel
#51 of 736 in Chiang Mai
391 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 736 in Chiang Mai
852 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 826 in Chiang Mai
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gap's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gap's House

Property: Gap's House
Address: 3 Rajadamnern Soi 4 T. Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #381 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Gap`s House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing