We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place”
Review of Galare Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galare Guest House
Ranked #69 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is uniquely located on the bank of the Mae Ping River, very close to the famous night bazaar and fruit/flower market. It is very peaceful and relaxed, with a very nice garden. Staff were very friendly and ready to help. The rooms were clean, well-kept, beds were comfortable. A/C, WiFi, hot water, restaurant by the river. In the future, they could work a little on expanding the variety of breakfasts they offer, - even though we were quite happy with what was offered each morning. Our stay in and around ChiangMai would have never been as great as it was, had we not met an amazing English-speaking tour guide/driver, affiliated with this hotel. His name is Tom (Paitoon Panpeach). Immaculate service: very professional, positive, knowledgeable, flexible. Just explain clearly what you want and what you don't - and there will be no hard-selling.
I totally recommend this hotel and this guy - when you plan your trip to Chiang-Mai.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank interband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 297 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

Family run. Very clean. Helpful with advice Ono day trips and sightseeing. Within walking distance to day and nighttime markets, some restaurants, and some shopping. Rooms have a/c, fans, tv, Internet. Guest house sits right beside the river making it quite peaceful.

Room Tip: Ground level is always great especially if u have mobility issues or lots of luggage. Guest house do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights (would stay longer next time) and had a great time. The room was very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. We booked a few trips with the on site agent and found Dhoo to be very helpful. The guest house is ideally located close to all the city sights and markets and there is a pleasant restaurant right on the river bank.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Although bang in the middle of Chiang Mai it is located in a quiet alley on the bank of the river. The arcitecture is very nice and includes a pleasant restaurant right on the river bank. The staff are very helpful. Overall very good value for money -this goes for Chiang Mai in general as well. And you get to wake up listenisng to wild birds, a pleasant surpirse in a city!

Room Tip: Select the upstairs rooms. they're quieter, not to say thr ground floor is noisy but some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yeay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel is located a short distance from the night market. A small garden adjoins a collection of two storey buildings where the rooms are located. The hotel 'restaurant' fronts the river which at this point is little more than a wide concrete lined channel.

Our room was average, showing some signs of wear and tear. Comfortable and spacious but not exceptional. There was no safe in the room and the ceiling fan and creaky a/c struggled somewhat.

Breakfast choice was limited and as the 'restaurant' appears to be a separately run concern you have to pay as you eat :(

Not a bad place - a reasonable location and a good value if on a budget. Could do better though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kh1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three weeks and had a great time. The room was very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. The garden's were very nice and well maintained. The food was very tasty and always served with a smile. We booked a few trips with the on site agent and found them to be very helpfull. The guest house is ideally located close to all the city sights, but nice and quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christonbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here for 7 days and love this place,great location ,clean
cheap and close to night market... the price is perfect for the budget.
if you looking for a place to stay in chiangmai and need to safe some budget this guest house is the right one for you

Room Tip: rooms by ping river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElnJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#64 of 392 in Chiang Mai
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tawan Court
Tawan Court
#103 of 392 in Chiang Mai
104 reviews
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 392 in Chiang Mai
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 392 in Chiang Mai
928 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#49 of 392 in Chiang Mai
561 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#90 of 392 in Chiang Mai
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galare Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galare Guest House

Address: 7 Chareonprathet Rd. Soi #2, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#26 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#40 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $25 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galare Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galare Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galare Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Galare Hotel Chiang Mai
Galare Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing