We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveler rating
138
141
39
12
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
138
141
39
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night market onsite restaurant home away from home the location is perfect guesthouse rates
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 332 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This place is cheap, well located and the staff are extermeley helpful. I generally think it's a great place to stay. The staff is not pushy, but will arrange transportation and excursions for you if you ask. They even recommended inexpensive places for laundry and food. My one gripe was that the hot water in the shower was not consistent. We had 3 rooms over 3 nights and not a single one of us had a hot shower. But, given the hot humeid temprature, a luke warm shower wasn't that big of a deal.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed in this guest house for the first time in 1995, when Chiang Mai was still a quiet town with a nice market and some shops. We were very happy with it: it was simple, bur comfortable, very clean and well managed, and in a good location.
We came back one year ago, finding Chiang Mai quite a different place – but still lovely and interesting – and Galare Guest Hose still very good. The room is not very large, but very well kept. The small restaurant on the Ping River is nice for a light meal, and the location is still great, quite near the big market and the nice area of the best shops and restaurants. From here you can walk to many interesting places, even to the old city. And the wi-fi was a breeze, also in the room.

Room tip: We prefer a room at the superior floor.
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo_Cavallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

A very good value for money establishment that we have not been able to fault to date. The wireless freeInternet connection in our room this year was a welcome improvement. We found their tours organised we well handled. Disappointed we did not get more time to catch up with tu. The staff we have found to be very friendly and will definitely be back again. We found the rooms large although a little old are very clean and security very good. We also liked the central location.

Room tip: We liked the upstairs rooms because of their airiness and at times found we did not need the air conditioning because of the good airflow.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelalot002
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The buildings are comfortable with the furnished balconies, a/c in the rooms and open air restaurant on the river. Our room was spacious compared to other guest houses we visited in Thailand. We ate at least one meal a day here, preferring to eating Thai fare, and the food was consistently very good. I must eat gluten -free and the staff understood enough english to comprehend the gluten issues and prepare safe and tasty food for me. They were very accomodating. We were together able to determine which sauces were safe (did not have wheat/gluten).
We did not book excursions through the guest house, being more of the do-it-yourselfers. Songtaew and Tuk-tuk are usually available at the end of the block, for easy transportation around the city and beyond. You're close enough to walk to the Warorot and Hmong Markets, if you can stand the heat. The Kalare night market is closer, but more junk-kind of like Canal street in NYC.
We would definitely stay here again. The only issue we had was with our housekeeper-a unhappy-looking older woman who was always sitting on the balcony when we returned in the afternoon and didn't always replace our water, washcloths or soap. The front desk always happily gave us what we needed.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ooctavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Chiang Mai is not a restful place. The Galare has a nice location on the river and is reasonably priced. It irked me that they require you to pay in cash before you stay there. Lots of mosquitoes in the riverside eating area. Food is average, no breakfast included.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank overbid2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews