We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss in Chiang Mai”
Review of Galare Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galare Guest House
Ranked #67 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2011

cheap rate + quiet atmosphere + super clean + friendly staff = 100% recommended !!! room feel like home & enjoyable stay... the motorbikes rental are good and cheap.. nice hospitality service & definitely stay at galare again ....!!

~> great location ! only a 3 min walk to the night bazaar which is really nice and in close walking distance of muslim restaurants & mosque

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Safareen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Galare Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 295 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

This place is right along the river, so it's great to relax and also an easy walk to flower and night market and Tha Pae road, or take a tuk tuk (30-40thb) or songtaew (20thb) to other areas. There are no views of the river from the rooms, but their restaurant had a great view, plus some grass seating. The food is good, but more restaurants are near in the sois (alleys) and streets. We found a lot of restaurants to be in the Old City along the moat, as short songtaew ride away or a nice walk.
The hotel was clean, staff was friendly. there was free wi-fi and good connection, at least to our room. The only disappointment, we had to arrange a taxi before 7 am and the hotel charged us twice the amount it was for the scheduled fare rate 250thb (as shown on a sign in the taxi). Unfortunately, we were on our way to the airport, so it was difficult to discuss it with them.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bananas2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

the location is very close to the popular night market but set in a nice quiet spot on the the river. the rooms are large enough and are open and clean. the staff are very helpful and a tour organised through them was very good. although breakfast is not included in the cheap price the dinning area is execellent spot to chill out over a few drinks.We arrived early from the overnight train trip and were able to access our room.A taxi to the airport was easily organised .
They are not pushy with any of their services and is good place to chill out if you want to just relax. Heading back there next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are all very similar and have a relaxed thai feel about them.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelalot002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The location couldn't be better: close to the railway station (1,5 km), close to the night market (0,5 km), close to the old city (1,5 km), so all within walking distance.
Riverside eating, well maintained, very friendly staff.
Not the cheapest option for CM (I paid 850 Baht brakfast not included), but it's value for money.
Avoid using internet, it's overpriced at 60 Baht/hr, you'll find cheaper options downtown, from 10 Baht/hr.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank avdij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Nice guesthouse, well priced. Clean and simple rooms, bed was large enough for European sized people, which you can not find everywhere in Thailand. The staff helped us organizing a day trip (elephant riding) and booked our flights to the south without charging us.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We moved here after three days in the Royal Princess. Galare was recommended by friends so we took a look at it, chose a room on the first floor and came back the next day to stay seven nights at a nightly rate of approx $25.
Moving from the Royal Princess was easy as Galare sent a car for us and our luggage at no cost, well done!
It was certainly good value and we enjoyed our stay with the friendly staff. Food, including breakfast was good, and the restaurant overlooking the river was very pleasant (don't forget the anti-mosquito cream!)
Go back again? Definitely!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the first floor room at the back (on the part parallel to the river).
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Simple but good room, very friendly staff which ads to your stay. They can book all sorts of trips and activities at the guesthouse, of course you pay a bit mor then at sometourist offices but it is very convenient. Breakfast was good and the location along the river is perfect after a day in the city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alesko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#51 of 388 in Chiang Mai
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tawan Court
Tawan Court
#102 of 388 in Chiang Mai
101 reviews
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 388 in Chiang Mai
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#24 of 388 in Chiang Mai
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#84 of 388 in Chiang Mai
278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 388 in Chiang Mai
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galare Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galare Guest House

Address: 7 Chareonprathet Rd. Soi #2, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#26 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#40 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $19 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galare Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galare Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galare Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Galare Hotel Chiang Mai
Galare Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing