We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here many times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Kaew Guesthouse
Ranked #130 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Portage, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stayed here many times”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Good price and good location. The same family owns it and has for a long while. They are friendly and helpful. Nice gardens for relaxing if you want to just hang out here. Rooms have TV though mine did not work. Food available for breakfast. On site help with tours. Rooms are clean and comfortable. In room safes. In room mini fridge. Around the corner from Night Market. Would stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingtrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    34
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
39
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here for four nights in August 2013. The place is simple, but spacious. The AC in the room was very good as was the shower. The place was cleaned daily and the free water replenished. Nice, quiet location and a 15-20 minute walk to the Old City, which wasn't a problem for us, but might be a bit far out for the lazier or less mobile tourist.

Chiang Mai itself is great and I would recommend going to The Chiang Mai cookery school, Doi Suthep and the Mon Thanon waterfall.

One down side would be that the lights in the room weren't that bright, but that aside, I would fully reccomend Baan Kaew, especially at the price. Also, at night time, the strange animal sounds woke me up, although my boyfriend happily slept through them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlous85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed here for one month, while attending Thai language class. It was like being in my second home. Very friendly place with sweet welcoming staff, always eager to help. I would highly recommend for easy walk to markets, shops and sites. Spacious room with great wifi and AC, bilingual staff on hand to assist with any travel needs. Laundry a bargain also!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaSMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We have spent eight days here and it has really felt like home. The staff have been delightful and have really looked after us well. Just a short walk the bustling night market all you can hear are the sound of birds during the day and insects at night. The room is basic but clean and everything works. The wi-fi was great and with a sleeping four year old kept us occupied during the evening! It felt like a little paradise entering the garden off the busy streets to the calm of this modest place. The breakfast is very good and all in all this is extremely good value for money. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this guesthouse!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Level 6 Contributor
607 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A very good place within walking distance of the night Market. Quiet and pleasant. Excellent service. One can even have a rental car hired and delivered there (as they have a deal with Budget). I would prefer the rooms upstairs since there is less passage there. Good breakfast can also be had on the premises.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFLR187198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here during Songkran which can be very intense on the inside of the old city. For this reason, the location outside of the square, but within 10 minutes walking is great. The guest house is also very close to the night market. Very friendly and helpful reception along with the amenities of fridge, TV and aircon were amazing. This is not a party type of guesthouse and so would not suit some. Great for solo travellers and a quiet respite. Wifi was a little sketchy in the room, but usually fine. There are so many places to stay in Chiang Mai. This is a good choice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed there for 1 night... then a second one!
Very nice staff and a quiet place just 10 minute walk from the center.
There is a nice garden with long chairs but we didn't have time to enjoy them.
There is also a good value breakfast in the morning.
Air-con, fridge, big enough bath room and spotless clean!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sedenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
People Place (1st Building)
People Place (1st Building)
#155 of 383 in Chiang Mai
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baankaew Guesthouse
Baankaew Guesthouse
#402 of 747 in Chiang Mai
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baan Ing Ping
Baan Ing Ping
#72 of 747 in Chiang Mai
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Kaew Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Kaew Guesthouse

Property: Baan Kaew Guesthouse
Address: Charoen Prathet, Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Kaew Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Baan Kaew Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Kaew Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing